We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Lyn House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Lyn House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hospitality and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

Lovely stay. Breakfast and dinner both excellent and cooked to perfection. Lovely room but at top of stairs (but bags carried up for us!).
Splendid location on river. Patio must be great on warm summer evenings (not bad on warmish May afternoon).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank altant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    34
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
232
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

The Location is a in a very attractive part of Lymouth right next to the river and you can easily hear the lovely sounds of the water from your rooms. Handy for the shops and walks to. The owners were fantastic hosts and could not do enough for you ! The food for both breakfast and evening meal were good and the rooms were fresh, clean and of a reasonable size. There is a bar and a sitting area and you have games, DVD,s and books at your disposal if you so wish. An excellent choice and fully reccommended !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Paul & Sarah absolute great hosts made us al really welcome , made my birthday weekend great !

A great biker place to stay

Fred and friends

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triumphboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

We spent just one night at East Lyn but as soon as owners Paul & Barbara found out it was our wedding anniversary we were upgraded to a four poster room and found the table for our evening meal covered in hearts. I would say that if you like your B&Bs to be friendly, informal and relaxed (rather than hushed and deferential) then this is the place for you. Clearly nothing is too much trouble - other guests were being assisted with packed lunches and bike washing facilities for example and we were able to leave our car in their car park on the day of departure to have a wander around town.
The evening meals are great value and there is a small well stocked bar and Paul's cooked breakfast was first rate. This is a beautiful part of the country and at this price East Lyn is terrific value for money.

Room Tip: Book direct not through a booking agency site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieGSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We had a lovely stay and would reccomend this to any one, however I would reccomend that if you can book direct as if you book on line you will not get a room with aview. Apart from this the food and hosts are fantastic, we will use them again, next time we go to lynmouth, we have used other hotels or B&Bs in Lynmouth and not had the service we had here

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennyAndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, our hosts, Paul and Barbara were the most perfect you could imagine. It was almost like staying with friends and when we had to leave we wished we could have stayed longer.

The room was excellent, clean, fresh and recently decorated. The shower was first rate and our bed was extremely comfortable with a very good memory foam mattress.

Breakfast was again excellent and your every whim is catered for by your hosts who will gladly do whatever they can to make your stay a pleasant as possible.

We were given great advice on local pubs and places to eat as well as ideas on sights and walks to take in.

The hotel has a cosy bar to enjoy a drink and also as a bonus, serves evening meals which we didn't sample but the smell coming from the kitchen as we were leaving for an evening out was fantastic! East Lyn House is perfectly situated to explore the area and with a fabulous terrace overlooking the river and parking available you couldn't want for more.

Don't delay, book now and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brist0l_b0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

East Lyn House is the perfect Lynmouth getaway. Paul & Barbara are wonderful hosts; their house is clean, comfortable and in a great location. The patio overlooking the river gets the sun from dawn until dusk, making it a great spot for both breakfast (Paul knocks up a fantastic full English) and a pre dinner drink. Ask for room 2 and get views of both the river and the sea. The sound of the running water will help you drift off, if a few of the local ales from the nearby pubs do not.

We will be back, and will bring friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesNich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lyn Valley Hotel
The Lyn Valley Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone House
Lorna Doone House
#5 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lyn House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lyn House Hotel

Property: East Lyn House Hotel
Address: 17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lyn House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lyn House is a lovely fully licensed Guest House, one minute from the sea, and located on the beautiful East Lyn river. Owned by Paul and Sally and run in a relaxed and informal style, guests are assured of a warm welcome in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your East Lyn House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Lyn House Hotel Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing