We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your search for a Lynmouth B&B is over.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of East Lyn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Lyn House
Ranked #2 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Your search for a Lynmouth B&B is over.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

East Lyn House is the perfect Lynmouth getaway. Paul & Barbara are wonderful hosts; their house is clean, comfortable and in a great location. The patio overlooking the river gets the sun from dawn until dusk, making it a great spot for both breakfast (Paul knocks up a fantastic full English) and a pre dinner drink. Ask for room 2 and get views of both the river and the sea. The sound of the running water will help you drift off, if a few of the local ales from the nearby pubs do not.

We will be back, and will bring friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesNich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    35
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
236
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

The Hotel is set in a beautiful location overlooking the river, which you can enjoy by sitting out on the terrace area - stunning scenery. The hotel has it's own car park, plus there are 2 pay and display car parks in the village. If you are walking the South West Coastal Path - its very central and only 100 metres or so off the Path.Evening meals are available at a competitive rate. Furnishings are comfortable and current, the owners have worked very hard to create a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere. The rooms were first rate , we had a very comfortable night's sleep, very quiet. Our hosts were very hospitable and we enjoyed several night caps in the lounge/ bar area downstairs. It's a great place, both the hotel and Lynmouth, to stay for a quiet, peaceful weekend, with several good pubs and a small selection of shops, plus the cliff railway to Lynton.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nette53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

Paul & Barbara could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was light & airy with great views of the river.
Would thoroughly recommend the food, great breakfast and delicious dinner. Looking forward to our next stay, the sooner the better. We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetyHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

I'm usually sceptical of review sites but in this case all the great reviews for this place are fully justified. When we arrived Paul welcomed us in and immediately offered us tea or coffee or something from the bar, which was stocked with some good beers and no doubt wines and spirits.

Once we had finished watching England being taken apart by a much better Ireland team in the last day of the 6 nations, Paul ran though most of the facilities that the town had to offer, as well as pointing out that they would be happy to serve us an evening meal in-house should we wish to stay in. We chose to eat at the nearest Inn, which was adequate but could have been better. Breakfast the following morning was done to perfection, leading us to think we might well have dined on much better fare by staying in!
We met Barbara too, who was equally open and welcoming.

Our room was on the top floor, with good views up the river from one aspect and across/down river from the other. It was a pleasant room with a good comfortable bed. By the time we hit the bed we were mildly anaesthetised from trying out the towns bars, although I imagine we wouldn't have slept any less well had we been drinking only tea.

The shower temperature was variable in the morning, probably due to other guests drawing off hot or cold water. It gave added excitement and was only a very minor hiccup in otherwise great facilities.

I've touched upon the breakfast earlier - the variety on offer was good and any combination of the usual staples seemed to be accommodated with no trouble. It was cooked extremely well and when Paul put in a brief appearance in his Chef's attire he looked quite the professional. Barbara performed a great hostess role in the dining room. The terrace overlooking the river looks as if it would provide a superb spot for breakfast or dinner, which we understand could be taken there when the weather was appropriate.

On checking out, Barbara and Paul were full of tips for what to spend the day doing. We took up one of their suggestions - a stroll up the river to Watersmeet, where as the name suggests, two rivers join before heading down the vally to Lynmouth. A very pleasant, highly scenic walk of about 1.5 miles each way, with a National Trust tea shop serving cream teas, etc. in an idyllic spot by the river at Watersmeet.

All in all, this hotel is a great little establishment with warm and friendly service, ideally located close to the centre of Lynmouth and gets our seal of approval. We were only sorry that we were only there for one night.

PS also well worthwhile is the cliff railway from Lynmouth to Lynton followed by a walk to the Valley of Rocks via Hollerday Hill (start from by the Town Hall in Lynton). The view west along the coast, over the Valley of Rocks from the top of the hill is quite something.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Great location, friendly hosts and excellent facilities. this is one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed in at the price. no request was too much trouble and Paul and Barbara were relaxed yet very much on the ball. If you are visiting Lynmouth and Exmoor you couldnt do much better than making East Lyn your base. Our 2 whippets enjoyed themselves as well!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty99Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend which had been bought for us as a present. We read the reviews on Trip advisor before we went and totally agree with everything on here. Paul and Barbara welcome you into their home and you are made to feel instantly at ease. We felt like we were staying with friends and nothing was too much trouble. The B&B is decorated tastefully and the bed was very comfortable. My husband informs me the ale was good, i can only vouch for the very nice glass of red wine i had. Lovely views of the river and sea. A perfect location to explore Exmoor. We will definitely recommend this place to friends and will plan to go back later this year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Paul and Barbara should win awards, this place is a gem and they simply re-write every customer service manual ever written. From the moment Barbara opened the door we were treated more as friends than customers, within minutes we were sat on a comfortable settee drinking coffee and chatting with Barbara; Paul had also greeted us warmly but was in the throes of doing some work outside. During our chat Barbara discovered that we had got engaged on the way to Lynmouth, and this news caused great and clearly genuine excitement and pleasure to our hosts. They went out of their way to ensure that what was already a special occasion was even more so.

We were even given a choice of rooms, but were more than happy with the one that had originally been planned. The room was comfortable and airy with a lovely view of both the harbour and the river.

When we went for our evening meal we were greeted with champagne and the table was suitably and very pleasantly decorated, and nothing was too much trouble. After our meal we sat in the cosy bar and chatted extensively with our hosts.

Breakfast was superb, cooked as required by Paul and fairly set one up for the day ahead.

We only stayed two nights but both evening meals and both breakfasts were fabulous.

I could go on but suffice to say I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, we shall certainly visit again. Paul and Barbara should be celebrated, such seemingly effortless high standards are in fact undoubtedly the result of an enormous amount of hard work and total dedication and they thoroughly deserve every success.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCroker1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lyn Valley Hotel
The Lyn Valley Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Lyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Lyn House

Property: East Lyn House
Address: 17 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — East Lyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lyn House is a lovely fully licensed Guest House, one minute from the sea, and located on the beautiful East Lyn river. Owned by Richard and Helena and run in a relaxed and informal style, guests are assured of a warm welcome in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Lyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Lyn House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing