We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillside House
Ranked #8 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in August. Room was lovely, bathroom immaculate and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
herefordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in July , the landlady and landlord are very friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. The room we had was lovely and cosy, very clean and homely. The breakfast in the mornings were delicious. We were allowed to take our dog and even she got a sausage for breakfast. The b & b is perfectly situated for lovely coastal or riverside walks.I would definately recomend staying here and me and my partner will definately be going back.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pixieleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorlshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and were made very welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was no problem to have the dog in the bedroom with us. The breakfasts were great with an extra sausage for the dog!! Landlord and Landlady very friendly and helpful with local restaurant recommendations and ideas of places to go. Would definitely recommend you stay here as reasonably priced too.

Although no car park at Hillside House - pay and display about 50 metres away which is free between 6pm and 10am.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbumthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2007

My girlfriend and I had a very pleasant weekend break in Lynmouth and spent two nights at Hillside House. It's run by a friendly couple who made us feel very welcome. The room was cosy, clean and very good value for money, and had a lovely view of the river Lyn stretching down to the sea.
The breakfast was fine and very filling, leaving us well-prepared for a long walk each day.
The house itself is full of character, with a rather unique collection of teddy bears in various costumes at every turn. But don't let you put you off if that's not your cup of tea as it's a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB_UK_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.0 mi away
East Lyn House Hotel
East Lyn House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone House
Lorna Doone House
#5 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House

Property: Hillside House
Address: 22 Watersmeet Road, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillside House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hillside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside House Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing