We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Relaxing Break”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We found the Village Inn an excellent choice for our three night break. Beverley was a great hostess and her asssitant, Walter, was extremely helpful and obliging. The room was bigger than we had expected. Breakfasts were good and the evening meals represented good value for money. The location was perfect and, although in the middle of the Town was very quiet.
We would definitely go again and would recommend it to anybody wanting a good value break in a warm and homely environment.

The Village Inn was extremely dog friendly and Beverley even cooked some extra bacon and sausage for our fussy dog Polly and fed her on Puppy biscuits when she was off her ususal food.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for The Village Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 132 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2010

we have just spent a few days at the inn and it was lovley.Bev the landlady was very kind and helpfull and her breakfast was second to none
We will stay again as soon as possible

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandragane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

just back from a lovely stay in the village inn.the staff and landlady very friendly and v relaxed.
we ate there on the first night and had a fantastic rib eye steak yummy.
the pub has a great village feel and the room was clean and quiet too.
I would certainly visit again and next time for longer.
dont miss out visit soon!
craig and annette

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunnidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in March, freezing cold outside, but a very warm welcome, room was basic, but very comfortable, breakfast was all you can eat, excellent, as was the pub food and beer.
Walks in the direct area are superb, lots of birds and lovely scenery, so a camera is a must.
Also take the footpath up to Lynton, thats a real workout, but well worth it for the views.
Lynmouth is a friendly and peaceful location, and the Village inn is a must visit, if not for an overnight, then a must for a meal and a pint.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webothluvthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

myself and my husband decided to go away for our wedding anniversary, we decided on lynmouth due to its picturesque surroundings and found an enchanting hotel/pub called the village inn. we were met by the landlady on our arrival, she was absolutely fantastic making us feel so welcomed and relaxed, nothing was too much trouble for her.the staff were so friendly it was lovely. our room was beautiful and so clean and the food was so delicious, compliments to the chef!!! we cant waot to return to this adorable hotel and see all the friendly faces that made our trip so special. thank you village inn !!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffinsoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

The Village Inn is exactly what it says. The pub has a good 'local' atmosphere and the menu is comprehensive and competitively priced.

The room was larger than we expected for the price, and had a delightful view of the Exmoor coastline. Room servicing was carried out around our timetable, with the new owner only too happy to help. We mentioned that it was our wedding anniversary and found a lovely vase of flowers in the room, which was a very nice touch.

The location of the inn cannot be rivalled, with beautiful scenery and walks in every direction – we just left the car in Lynmouth and found somewhere new to explore every day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebird61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed at the Village Inn where I was received with a warm and friendly welcome.Clean and cosy rooms and great pub grub.I recommend the Thai fishcakes! Very friendly landlady and staff-all added to the charm of Lynmouth where we had a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebroxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#8 of 15 in Lynmouth
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: 19 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: $85 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy traditional Inn offering real ale, good wholesome home cooked food, warm and friendly hosts and staff. Six en-suite rooms decorated to a high standard with all the usual extras. We offer good value for money food, drink and accommodation all year round. There is also a log fire in the winter and a beer garden for our smokers. Dogs are very welcome to stay in our allocated dog rooms and are also welcome in the bar and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing