We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Four of us recently stayed at the inn as we have many times before, as always brilliant time, good food and drink, good staff and good entertainment what more can you ask, can't wait to return

Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 134 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very friendly on arrival and good service even though pub heaving with folk from the Llama music festival. We had room on 2nd floor and despite the stairs and clutter, it was clean and functional. We had lovely view over seafront and festival, why pay for a ticket when you can get it for free here. They had fantastic bbq going just outside the door with the best burger we have had for ages. We had beer and live music and a good time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frenchleave2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

On arrival into the bar, we were greeted by Mark, who was very friendly and Mikey showed us to our room. All staff were very friendly.

We had a great time in this pub. Room 4 was pleasant, had a view of the street and could see the sea. This room was competitively priced and was fine for one night. The bed was comfy and room clean.

A live band was playing until midnight, which we were advised about. The band were great and attracted lots of customer's.

We had a few late night drink's and a great time. Didn't make breakfast but had a good lay in! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine1Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Room/hotel shabby, clutter in all the halls, room wasn't cleaned all day while we were away for the day. Sloppy quick job when we asked for it to be cleaned. 9 AM breakfast time and no one was up, the door was locked so we couldn't get in the pub dining area, finally a very sleepy employee came rushing down stairs to fix us a rushed meal. Pub was busy in the evening and we enjoyed music in the evening but it didn't make up for the lack of cleanliness of our room or hotel. Lynmouth is beautiful and we loved the gorgeous walks and shops.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chipnginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had Easter wk/end at this fabulous pub..great people,great live music.lovely clean room..fantastic food..keep doing what you do guys..we will be back ..Kathy and Woody,Exeter

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great atmosphere, with great people. Food was gurt lush! this was my second visit, firstly with my parents, this time with my partner. Superb value will most definately be back. Reduced to tears when i had to leave. Many many thanks, see you soon.

Room Tip: ive stayed in two rooms, and they have both been perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is the 2nd year that we have stayed at the Village Inn for our wedding anniversary. Bev, Mark, (and Rolo the dog) were very welcoming and friendly. I cannot remember the names of all the other staff, but they were all hard working and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 4 this year and it was clean, spacious and had a very comfortable bed and a lovely view of the sea. The breakfast was delicious and cooked to order. We also stayed for dinner for 2 evening meals and personally I recommend the delicious steak and chips. Good home cooked traditional pub food. We love Lynmouth and find all the shop keepers friendly, the views beautiful and the relaxing pace of life is a perfect retreat. Every one walking through the door of the village inn was made to feel welcome, however, the atmosphere and layout of the Inn means that you can either sit and have a quiet drink and keep yourself to yourself, or you can join in the chat and laughter. The only downside to the 3 day stay was the hangover my husband had after a fun night of drink, darts and laughter in the Village Inn bar. (We will be back again next year!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lyn Valley Hotel
The Lyn Valley Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lynmouth
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: 19 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: $86 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy traditional Inn offering real ale, good wholesome home cooked food, warm and friendly hosts and staff. Six en-suite rooms decorated to a high standard with all the usual extras. We offer good value for money food, drink and accommodation all year round. There is also a log fire in the winter and a beer garden for our smokers. Dogs are very welcome to stay in our allocated dog rooms and are also welcome in the bar and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing