We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to stay”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Lynmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great atmosphere, with great people. Food was gurt lush! this was my second visit, firstly with my parents, this time with my partner. Superb value will most definately be back. Reduced to tears when i had to leave. Many many thanks, see you soon.

Room Tip: ive stayed in two rooms, and they have both been perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is the 2nd year that we have stayed at the Village Inn for our wedding anniversary. Bev, Mark, (and Rolo the dog) were very welcoming and friendly. I cannot remember the names of all the other staff, but they were all hard working and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 4 this year and it was clean, spacious and had a very comfortable bed and a lovely view of the sea. The breakfast was delicious and cooked to order. We also stayed for dinner for 2 evening meals and personally I recommend the delicious steak and chips. Good home cooked traditional pub food. We love Lynmouth and find all the shop keepers friendly, the views beautiful and the relaxing pace of life is a perfect retreat. Every one walking through the door of the village inn was made to feel welcome, however, the atmosphere and layout of the Inn means that you can either sit and have a quiet drink and keep yourself to yourself, or you can join in the chat and laughter. The only downside to the 3 day stay was the hangover my husband had after a fun night of drink, darts and laughter in the Village Inn bar. (We will be back again next year!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Just stayed at the village inn in Lynmouth. We only stayed one night and Bev, Mark and Tom made us feel very welcome. There were 6 of us on a walking trip and had 3 double rooms. All 6 of us were very happy and would come back again. Obviously this time of year it's a bit quiet but we all had a good time with the locals. The bar is very cozy and the rooms were perfect for what we wanted. I don't have a dog but seem to think that this place welcomes them!
We didn't have dinner but we had a good english breakfast which was one of the best I have ever had! It's a typical warm and friendly place and if you find fault you obviously have too much time on your hands!
Give it a try. We will be back!
Oh and hope the little puppy (Rolo) is well.
Glenn,Sally,Bell,John Gary and Carol from Bristol.

Room Tip: Some with sea view but if all you want is to put your head down after a long walk they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gadge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed at 20 B&Bs en route from Lands End to John O'Groats. As 70 year olds we value comfort, quiet, service. Village Inn met all of those at price which was slightly below average for our tour. Particular room we had was smaller than average with no view - not a problem for us, but worth checking on different rooms when booking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berriesDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and i recently stayed here with our dog. What a great welcome. Our dog was being fussed and offered treats by mark even before we entered the pub.
We sayed in room 4. A large room on the top floor with a sea view. It was very clean an had a comfy bed which we both slept very well in.
As we were the only ones staying on 3 of our 5 night stay. Bev and mark offered us a later breakfast or even a light lunch - rather than having to be up early after all of our walking from the day before. Fantastic.
After visiting other pubs/ restaurants in the area. We felt that the village inn was the only true dog friendly place. Where the owners actually love the dogs rather than putting up with them for the added custom.
Due to illness we had to leave a day early and mark even gave us the nights money back! We did not expect this at all. What great service!

We will be back in the new year for sure.
Thank you for your hospitality once again.
Dan, sarah and doug

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcy773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent 2 very pleasant nights at the Village Inn. Bev and Mark made us so welcome, made the arrangements for us to be picked up and brought back from the wedding, Mark also put our breakfast table in front of the telly so we could watch the Rugby World cup whilst we ate, his funny banter was refreshing.The rooms are very comfortable and we had a room overlooking the sea. The rest of the staff were all very friendly and did everything possible to make our stay really great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Made a last minute decision to visit Lynmouth and found an available family room at The Village Inn. Ideally located in theheart of Lynmouth.
Staff were all very friendly and put in extra effort to accommodate us all during a very busy weekend. Nice ensuite room with a sea view, and comfy bed. Breakfast was great, and they even gave us some raw bacon to go crabbing with!
There happended to be a live band playing on the Saturday and Sunday evenings, which we all enjoyed.
In error, we left a few items in our room as we vacated. The staff packeged these up, drove to Barnstaple and posted them to us - free of charge, how nice?!
Overall, we had a great weekend thank you. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynmouth
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Captain's House
The Captain's House
#12 of 15 in Lynmouth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: 19 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Lynmouth
Price Range: $86 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy traditional Inn offering real ale, good wholesome home cooked food, warm and friendly hosts and staff. Six en-suite rooms decorated to a high standard with all the usual extras. We offer good value for money food, drink and accommodation all year round. There is also a log fire in the winter and a beer garden for our smokers. Dogs are very welcome to stay in our allocated dog rooms and are also welcome in the bar and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Lynmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing