We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mill on the Exe

Mill on the Exe
Reserve with OpenTable
Mill on the Exe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 518 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Busy pub located right on the banks of the river Exe with stunning garden and views. Pub style menu with daily specials using locally sourced food. Featured in Good Pub Guide and serving five award winning real ales, Cornish Rattler cider and 14 wines by the glass. Taste of the West Silver award 2014.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Been to The Mill on The Exe about a dozen times, mostly for food, a few times just for coffee. It has lovely views across the River Exe...and when its warm and not raining you can go and sit outside on the river bank....and you will have ducks and various other waterfowl keeping you company! The food is lovely, and not too pricey, its not the cheapest you can get, but well worth it
It has a lovely atmosphere and the service was very good. It is family friendly and has highchairs to use for young children.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    290
    149
    99
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A real find - great food, warm atmosphere, very reasonable prices, wish we'd found it years ago!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Drove passed, it looked welcoming, pulled in and wow, what a lovely restaurant ... Lunch choices varied and incredible value - our whitebait starter was light and crisp and beer battered fish actually tasted of beer (a rare find!)....all food served by attentive staff, atmosphere in bar seating area next to log fire and sofas, lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheUKChapmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great ambience in the restaurant here. More a restaurant than a pub which is a shame but pubs have to sell food to survive these days. When we were there, in the evening, the river looked quite dangerous after so much rain and we were told the water might come into the kitchen. This all added to the sense of fun. The service was very good, the atmosphere good too. My vegetarian option, mushroom and cheese in a bun, was average but the meat eaters amongst us enjoyed their meals. Would like to go back in the summer when, the waiter told us, it is great sitting outside and the noise of the flowing River Exe drowns out any traffic noise. Bet it's great so we will definitely do that. We would recommend the Mill on the Exe most definitely. It was pretty packed the night we went, so that speaks volumes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMitchell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Liked the food - good menu with standard favourites and a variation of different dishes.
Staff were OK but member of my party asked for Homous and pitta as a main course and was given 2 starters which was a bit embarassing and the pitta on the 2nd plate was cold before she started it.
Lovely spot in the good weather.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suze04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good drinking pub thats all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

No front of house service we found our table ourselves which i reserved. Both starters terrible i had fish cakes iv had better everyday value tesco ones im not being mean it was not good the only reason i ate them is the price and i wasnt paying lamb tagine was ok taste wise but was not a lamb tagine it was brown. However i have had a really good steak bagette here before. Waitress once seated was helpful a polite.Toilets clean and good and the view outside is great id go again but iv tried a few times and the food is never up to much.Good put but could be amazing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungrymonkey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Mill on the Exe, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. Please accept our apologies that the food you chose was not to your liking. Both the dishes you mention are very popular and we sell lots of them with good feedback - not sure why you didn't like them and it would be tricky to serve a red meat dish (lamb tagine) that doesn't have brown tones.
We do have a wide and interesting menu using locally sourced ingredients so we hope that our team can help you chose dishes that will be more to your liking next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill on the Exe also viewed

 

Been to Mill on the Exe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing