We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the "old corner pub" look put you off.”
Review of The Hourglass

The Hourglass
Ranked #42 of 611 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

Food, good glorious food. Duck leg confit super scrummy, rissoto equally scrummy.Not a huge choice but perhaps that's the real secret of quality.
Server was lovley/bar woman. I will be back.
Try it, love the oldness, it seems clean if a bit tired.
Hidden GEM.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank marygrimley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 290 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2019

We went Sunday for Lunch. Started off with a great Virgin Mary/ Bloody Shame ( Driving). We were a party of 6. 5 adults and one child of 12. We all ordered the Rib of beef. Evenly seared on the outside. soft and pink on the inside. Selection of Lovely veg. Handsome Yorkshire topped with a delicate Jus and punchy homemade horseradish. Oh and the homemade bread to start was so good my lad wasnt able to finiish his beef. His loss my gain. A pub not afraid to serve the meat medium rare. We salute you and shall be back.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018

Really atmospheric pub just a few minutes away from the centre of Exeter.Always busy enough to be lively but not too crowded and the atmosphere both in the day and evening is lovely. Fire on in the winter and a good selection of beers, with a lovely bar. Booking a table is best as it small so fills up quickly. There is a separate restaurant area at the rear but this is not always open. We were there at lunch time on a Sunday and it was busy. You order food at the bar and it is delivered to the table. 3 out of 4 went for the beef which is served quite rare and was perfectly cooked, with just enough veg and a Yorkshire. the other meal was a white fish stew which was rich, creamy and very filling. I think we all went for Sticky Toffee Puddings which were rather wonderful. Great place warm welcoming atmosphere and good food, reasonably priced.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank R8971CFianh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2018

It's fantastic. Lovely people. Delicious (proper) cider. Cute nooks. Just go. Get a massive pint of Burrow Hill for only £3 at 7% alcohol. Sip it. ;)

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Taylor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I visited here on a Saturday night. We received the best service ever and we couldn't have asked for more. The lady with black curly hair was so lovely and made us feel so welcome. What an amazing find! Can't wait to come back.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank katiebB6296AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hourglass also viewed

 

Been to The Hourglass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing