We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly pub”
Review of The Hourglass

The Hourglass
Ranked #57 of 534 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A warm and friendly pub”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I visited Exeter last February from the USA. We spent five nights in the city and loved it and surrounding area. One of the nicest pubs we visited was the Hourglass. We happened by it just walking around late one afternoon. Luckily, we arrived about twenty minutes before they opened (5pm) and we became their fist customers that day. The ales were well kept and my wife, who is a cider fan, found a couple new ones to try. The place filled up rather quickly, obviously because it is a good pub! We did not eat any of the food on offer but wished we had- it looked very tasty.

For those from the USA that might read this, go to Devon, visit Exeter and find the Hourglass. You will be happy you did.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fr21555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    60
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ambient lighting, timeless feel.”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This pub is magical, only small but always seems to have space for 2 more! At night the lighting is really low creating a candle lit mood, other diners seem to be deep in animated conversations, bar staff make you feel its worth the wait to be sever by them, as it does get busy .menu is good , bread and olives, delicious, wine / brandy selection good, it is sort of Dickensian in the nicest possible way.Enjoyed every visit here, look forward to more

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A small and really charming pub serving perfect food. An imaginative menu, changing daily, and served to perfection. Very friendly service, and very reasonable for the first class quality.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Novella65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always delivers!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I love the Hourglass. It doesn't pretend to be haute cuisine, it's a traditional city pub serving super food and drink. We always have the rib eye steak, chips and horseradish. Nothing fancy but consistently delicious. On a child free sunday we go there, read the papers, drink a bloody Mary and enjoy the atmosphere and food, Bliss! There is no ceremony from the locals or the staff but that's it's charm. These guys have bought a little bit of London to Exeter.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food & lively vibe”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were sat in the bar area of the restaurant so the atmosphere was very lively with after work drinkers & theater goers. The service was friendly & knowledgeable. The food was the highlight of the evening though. My saffron risotto was something amazing & will be remembered for a long time. My friend's lamb was just as impressive!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hourglass also viewed

 

Been to The Hourglass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing