We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch with my wife and daughter”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Strada - CLOSED

Strada
Price range: $19 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located in Exeter's new Princesshay development, this stunning Strada restaurant is situated over two floors with a sunny upstairs terrace overlooking Exeter Cathedral. Princesshay is fast becoming the best destination for shopping and eating out in the South West of England, and Strada Exeter offers an ideal break from the bustling streets with plenty of outdoor seating on Princesshay Square. Strada Exeter is a part of the well-known group of contemporary Italian restaurants located on the high street serving good quality, simple, freshly prepared dishes using the finest seasonal produce available. The menus offer hand stretched pizzas, fresh pastas and risotto, as well as grilled meat and fish dishes.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lunch with my wife and daughter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I arranged to meet my wife and daughter at the restaurant at 1pm and was slightly early. I was welcomed by a young lady who took me to an upstairs table to wait, and told me she would show my wife and daughter to my table when they arrived, which she did. All very polite and helpful.Our table had a view out towards Princesshay shopping precinct and also to the Cathedral.
We had starter, main course and dessert, followed by tea and coffee. All courses were very well presented and cooked, and thoroughly enjoyed.
The service we received was very good - polite, pleasant and attentive. We will definitely eat at Strada again

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    47
    24
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreadful food on Fathers Day - a spoilt day!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fathers Day has just been spoilt by the most awful dining experience at Strada Exeter. We did not receive all the items of food ordered, the bruschetta was wet and just terrible and the chicken dish was bland and utterly boring - the experience did not resemble anything Italian at all.

Previously we have dined here and it has been a wonderful experience - tonight has ruined the day for our family.

Review by Directors of Martins Cleaning Services Ltd - thankfully we were not entertaining clients which has sometimes been the case.

Will we be returning - most unlikely!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I were in Exeter shopping and we wanted something to eat! There is a block of restaurants so we chose Strada. We were greeted by a waiter who recommended the balcony as the Piazza was busy. As it was a sunny day we accepted. There was a fine view of the Cathedral although the windbreak was a bit too high As soon as we were seated the waitress came with the menu and as we had already made up our minds we ordered straight away. The restaurant was busy but we did not have to wait too long for our starter. Which was hot as was our main course.
The meal was excellent as was the service. I definitely recommend the restaurant and we will definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bern_A190802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Long wait time but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food is good, I tried Ravioli (veg) and my friends tried different things and all of us liked everything we ate. I must say though we had to wait for more than 40 minutes before we got a place to sit. My recommendation: Reserve a seat specially if you plan to go there on weekends

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nipun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always a favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I have visited strada in Cardiff several times so I was pleased to find one in Exeter. The staff were excellent so friendly and accommodating. We ordered pizza but it seemed to be lacking in something but it wouldnt put me off visiting again as other meals i have had were delicious. The children thoroughly enjoyed their meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ck1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strada also viewed

Brampford Speke, Exeter
Clyst St Mary, Exeter
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing