We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Dinosaur Cafe

Dinosaur Cafe
Ranked #9 of 535 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Proper home cooked Turkish food, lovely owner and staff. Long live independents if they can all be like this.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    73
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value fresh food”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My partner and I stopped in here because we got back from work too late to cook. As soon as you arrive you feel like an old friend of the hosts. This place is much more of a cafe than a restaurant so don't go here if you are seeking flash surroundings.
We ordered houmous and pitta to start with a mixed salad and some lamb dishes for mains. Everything looked as though it was prepared from scratch and tasted very fresh too. Two courses and two drinks cost around £20 which in my opinion is fantastic value given the amount of care that has gone in to preparing the food.
I'm sure the greasy spoon menu is there to satisfy the local students but it would be shame to order a full english when there are so many wonderful mediterranean dishes on offer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank napierterrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“No quibbles with this place, slightly off beaten track...”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lovely lunch with my husband here today. Both had a hot drink and then I had sigari borek (yummy fill rolled as a cigar filled with feta and parsley, £2 for two and freshly made, yum) and a very garlicky hummus with two pittas. Husband had falafel sandwich with three salads.

Welcoming staff and not at all fussy. Somewhere to go out when you don't feel like going 'out'.

Park the other side of central station if poss. Closed on Sundays. Boo. Shuts at 9pm the rest of the time, and they enclose a lovely statement on their menu that they do not like to ever tell people to leave but to respect them for that!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank grazingkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family friendly. Great. Excellent. Best place to eat in Exeter. It's like being invited to a very nice home for dinner. Highly r”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Love, love, love. Such a warm friendly place. Family rub and very family friendly. It is what it says on the tin...a fab cafe with no frills good food.

I have nothing bad to say. Staff are lovely and friendly. And we go often.

Only problem is its not open on Sundays!

Dinosaur Cafe is the best!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CatnCnX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great little Turkish cafe in Exeter”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A modest family run Turkish Cafe in Exeter with great food. The Turkish Salad (Mezze style plate) is absolutely delicious and home-made. A down to earth cafe and great to have some real international cuisine in Exeter avoiding all the national chains.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dinosaur Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing