We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Prospect.”
Review of The Prospect Inn

The Prospect Inn
Ranked #58 of 611 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Description: Away from the bustle of the city, relax with a bite to eat, a pint of ale and watch the world go by...or grab a board game from our crate. Complimentary WiFi
Restaurant details
Description: Away from the bustle of the city, relax with a bite to eat, a pint of ale and watch the world go by...or grab a board game from our crate. Complimentary WiFi
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We love The Prospect and its local to us. The staff are lovely. No other word for it. They are warm, friendly, know their menu and are knowledgeable about their ales.
On our last visit I enjoyed fish and chips. The batter was superb with the most satisfying crack when the fork went in. The chips are just the best. I’m told the pie was good too.
Thanks guys. Keep on doing it your way and see you soon.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theprospect12, Owner at The Prospect Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Thank you for your super review, it is greatly appreciated. We are glad you enjoy our pub classics - as an independent we pride ourselves on home-made proper pub food, local ale and friendly service, so it is always good to hear that we are achieving our aims. We look forward to welcoming you to your friendly local again soon and we will indeed keep doing it our way Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 297 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2019

We, a mature couple on a day visiting Exeter, stopped here for a pint and something to eat. We were warmly greeted as we entered and when I went to order a pint the server was happy to explain the difference in the ales (Thank you). My choice was good and our 'light bite' lunch was more than acceptable. Should we visit the Quay on another occasion we will certainly head for this pub. Thank you.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theprospect12, Owner at The Prospect Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Good Morning
Thank you kindly for your review. It is good to hear you enjoyed a friendly welcome, good beer and food - we are very fortunate to have superb local brewers on our doorstep.
We look forward to welcoming you again
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

Had some beers, can’t comment on the food, but bar staff ultra friendly and helpful. Great customer service.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Higsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theprospect12, Owner at The Prospect Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2019

Good Morning
Many thanks for review, we hope to welcome you again
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

Having visited for my daughter's birthday we was so disappointed...2 of our party orders scampi...well what can I say..it was overcooked and was processed the presentation didn't do it any justice...as for the steak I must admit it was very nice and cooked to perfection...the chicken curry lacked chicken...but the worst thing was when we had paid I was asked was everything ok...I explained that we was disappointed with the scampi...on leaving I heard the girl say..."so their connaisseurs on scampi.....how very unprofessional.i would never go back to this place it is going down hill very fast..☹️☹️

Date of visit: February 2019
7  Thank hildredbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theprospect12, Owner at The Prospect Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Good Morning
We are The Prospect in Exeter - I am not sure this review is meant for us, as we do not have scampi or chicken curry on our menu and our team are friendly and polite!
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019

We had a lovely wander around the Quay area and wanted to eat. We'd already settled on a nearby place but when we popped in for a pint here at The Prospect and looked at the menu we were intrigued because it looked good so decided spontaneously to give it a try. We'd already had a great welcome from the friendly staff behind the bar. We were not disappointed. The food was truly very tasty and plenty of it. Also very good value for money. We look forward to a return visit one day.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank iLondontown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theprospect12, Owner at The Prospect Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Good Afternoon
Thank you for your review and we are glad you were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed your visit. As an independent business we take great pride in our friendly service, local beer and home-made proper pub food, not to mention our location.
We look forward to your return visit
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prospect Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Prospect Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing