We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of Anchor Inn

Anchor Inn
Ranked #63 of 625 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice roast dinner with pudding. Good atmosphere in a lovely old building. Plenty to eat. Staff attentive and helpfull.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came here on a Thursday night with my cousin and her husband. The choice of food was very good and decided we must have some seafood whilst there. Three of us had Mussels and the other dish was Scallops. I had the Russian Mussels which were so delicious. The service at the bar and our table were excellent, the staff are very friendly. We settled on a shared dessert as the portions of Mussels we had eaten were large. The Inn inside is so full of character and cosy too, evoking memories of ancient mariners. The views from the Inn are also very scenic. If we are ever in the area we will visit again.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BlueEyesGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my Fiancee visited in the summer and were highly recommended to come and eat here. Even though it is expensive we were so excited to try the food and have a fantastic evening, only to leave in bitter disappointment.

I had the scallops and was appalled at the lack of scallop! It was like a 10 pence piece cut in half and was overcooked. I then had the pork which was basically tough as old boots residing in a vinegary water. We didn't even eat and was offered a dessert 'on the house'. We declined saying that we would not put ourselves through eating anything from there again.

Highly recommend NOT coming here!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in on the off chance of a table whilst visiting & we were not disappointed. Although it was extremely busy the helpful & friendly staff managed to accommodate our family of 4. The service was great & the food came quickly & was delicious, we would definately recommend, especially if you love seafood but all tastes catered for.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank sarahlU7515FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location was spot on, service 100% and the food fantastic and whopping portions! Ate here twice. Loved it.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank JO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Inn also viewed

 

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing