We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a fantastic trip to Exeter, made all the better by Linda and Clive and their lovely guesthouse.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Braeside Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a fantastic trip to Exeter, made all the better by Linda and Clive and their lovely guesthouse.”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Braeside is so central, a 5 minute stroll to the high street, immaculately clean and has a wonderful character. Linda and Clive were very welcoming and did everything to help us make the most of our trip. We would recommend the Braeside to all our friends and anyone looking for somewhere nice, friendly and clean to stay while in Exeter.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laws186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    42
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
40
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

very friendlyand warm welcome linda and clive rooms clean and comfortable breakfeast menu lots to choose from good food shopping center close by not far to walk plenty of bars club and restaurants and for kids lots of places to visit ask linda she was very hepful had a great time will return soon

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Recently spent a weekend at The Braeside and found it to be very friendly, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very substantial and set us up for the day. Breadfast was accompanied by the tranquil sound of Enya playing in the background.

Clive and Linda are good company, ready to chat and have a laugh.

The Braeside is very well situated and is within easy walking distance to the town and quay areas.

Room Tip: Comfortable and clean room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had such a wonderful time at Braeside the room was decorated beautifully and was really clean, the breakfast was lovely and fresh and the owners were really kind and welcoming I will be returning to stay there again. loved it

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I booked this b&b from booking.com, mainly for it's proximity to the train station. The Room was adequate, but that's about it for me in this b&b. Firstly the check in was rather impersonal, well, there was no person if your arrive at night even before 10 pm. You need to call a number from your handphone, never mine about those international and roaming charges, if you are from outside of EU, u have to factor this extra charges into your room rate. But that was just a minor discomfort.
What made me rate this b&b as terrible was the poor, or rather appaling level of service during breakfast. Never mind the small breakfast room which might means you have to share table with other guests, but if you are a solo traveller or Asian (I do not know which was the cause), the owner will expect that you do not speak english. You do not get the same service as you have seen her treat the guests around you. You just get whatever she expects you to eat..that's it! I find this rather unacceptable, especially when you are seated with other guests and it was obvious that you are treated completely different from the person next to you. for this double standard of service, I would recommend not to spend any $$ in thisb&b. There are many other better b&b in exeter which offers far better service at the same price.
But

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alphy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clive a, Owner at Braeside Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
check in time are stated when booking online if you check in after these time there is a key service ,we are not a hotel with 24hr porter we are a small guesthouse , customer can advise late check in if they care to make a phone call , you were spoken to over the phone with all infomation given, when you call the number the cost are charged to the guesthouse not you, breakfast times can be busy you were offerd a table if you would have waited 5 minutes, and the dining room is 27 foot by 14 foot this is not small for a 7 bedroom guesthouse , we expect guest to be polite to staff and other guest and not rude , the service to you was the same as the other guest , we are not servants and we aim to please all our guest ................... some guest can be over demanding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Above average B&B, room was very clean and the proprietors very helpful and friendly. We only stayed one night, however it was comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful and freshly served. The location was great, very central to the city centre and shops and about a 10 minute walk from the Cathedral. We'd recommend it for the price, breakfast and location, and definitely worth considering if you are visiting Exeter
.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclenut63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have been regulars at the Braeside over recent years and always stayed in room one.
There is quite a lot of noise from the road - and you are over the front door so you are aware of late-comers. However, both can be ignored when you've returned from a busy day and you are ready for a good rest. We usually spend most of our time "out."

The hotel is conveniently situated for non-drivers - the main Exeter stations are within walking distance - though you will need a bus up the hill on the return from St. Davids!
You also have a choice of routes to reach the main shopping centre.

The bed is very comfortable and the headboard can be silenced by a towel. The TV has lots of choice, and the shower is large enough for a big male, though the toilet is somewhat of a squash.

The breakfast has plenty to offer - including a vegetarian option.

It was rather cold when we were there and the heating was on earlier at our request.
If you are lucky enough to met the owner's dalmatians it can be quite a treat!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Guesthouse

Property: Braeside Guesthouse
Address: 21 New North Road, Exeter EX4 4HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Braeside Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just a stone's throw from the very heart of the city yet in a quiet, leafy location, the Braeside Guesthouse in Exeter, a period listed building, is ideally situated for a city break or business trip. All the major attractions of this bustling Devon city are within walking distance, including the cathedral, the modern Princesshay shopping centre, Exeter College and the University, as well as St David's and Exeter Central railway stations for regular local and intercity connections. With Exeter International Airport and the M5 motorway just twenty minutes away by car (junction 30), the Braeside Guesthouse in Exeter is ideally situated for travellers. The nearby quay and canal basin, famous as the set of the 1970s historic shipping drama, the Onedin Line, are home to numerous cafes and restaurants and the starting point for beautiful waterside walks. The quay provides cycle and boat hire facilities and a range of activities for the more adventurous at the popular Haven Banks outdoor education centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Braeside Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeside Guesthouse Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing