We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Braeside Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$116
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$95
$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$72
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$105
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Exeter M5(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
63
44
12
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
44
12
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcooked breakfast was delicioushosts were lovelywe arrived late afternoonparking permitstayed for nightsfriendly place to stayuniversity visitcity centrefresh fruit saladlovely breakfasttwin roomthe room was nicelocation is greattwo night stayminute walktrain station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 131 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I booked this b&b from booking.com, mainly for it's proximity to the train station. The Room was adequate, but that's about it for me in this b&b. Firstly the check in was rather impersonal, well, there was no person if your arrive at night even before 10 pm. You need to call a number from your handphone, never mine about those international and roaming charges, if you are from outside of EU, u have to factor this extra charges into your room rate. But that was just a minor discomfort.
What made me rate this b&b as terrible was the poor, or rather appaling level of service during breakfast. Never mind the small breakfast room which might means you have to share table with other guests, but if you are a solo traveller or Asian (I do not know which was the cause), the owner will expect that you do not speak english. You do not get the same service as you have seen her treat the guests around you. You just get whatever she expects you to eat..that's it! I find this rather unacceptable, especially when you are seated with other guests and it was obvious that you are treated completely different from the person next to you. for this double standard of service, I would recommend not to spend any $$ in thisb&b. There are many other better b&b in exeter which offers far better service at the same price.
But

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alphy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clive a, Owner at Braeside Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

check in time are stated when booking online if you check in after these time there is a key service ,we are not a hotel with 24hr porter we are a small guesthouse , customer can advise late check in if they care to make a phone call , you were spoken to over the phone with all infomation given, when you call the number the cost are charged to the guesthouse not you, breakfast times can be busy you were offerd a table if you would have waited 5 minutes, and the dining room is 27 foot by 14 foot this is not small for a 7 bedroom guesthouse , we expect guest to be polite to staff and other guest and not rude , the service to you was the same as the other guest , we are not servants and we aim to please all our guest ................... some guest can be over demanding

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Above average B&B, room was very clean and the proprietors very helpful and friendly. We only stayed one night, however it was comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful and freshly served. The location was great, very central to the city centre and shops and about a 10 minute walk from the Cathedral. We'd recommend it for the price, breakfast and location, and definitely worth considering if you are visiting Exeter
.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclenut63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have been regulars at the Braeside over recent years and always stayed in room one.
There is quite a lot of noise from the road - and you are over the front door so you are aware of late-comers. However, both can be ignored when you've returned from a busy day and you are ready for a good rest. We usually spend most of our time "out."

The hotel is conveniently situated for non-drivers - the main Exeter stations are within walking distance - though you will need a bus up the hill on the return from St. Davids!
You also have a choice of routes to reach the main shopping centre.

The bed is very comfortable and the headboard can be silenced by a towel. The TV has lots of choice, and the shower is large enough for a big male, though the toilet is somewhat of a squash.

The breakfast has plenty to offer - including a vegetarian option.

It was rather cold when we were there and the heating was on earlier at our request.
If you are lucky enough to met the owner's dalmatians it can be quite a treat!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The rooms were very nice, we loved the decor. Breakfast included a lot more than we had expected and it was also very nice. The only downside was that our room was facing a fairly loud street, although we did leave our window open at night.

Room Tip: They do not all have an en suite, we made sure to have one
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harliiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at The Braeside due to a family emergency. We were told the price for a double room would be £59 and with en-suite £69. We opted for the en-suite for more privacy. We arrived for quite a late check in (around 9.40pm) and the gentleman who let us in was very nice, very polite. He carried my suitcase to the room on the first floor (room number 1) and explained about the keys, the breakfast, the parking and asked if I'd like a map. Please be aware that the parking for this hotel (and I'll add it's the same for almost all of the hotels on this road) is a nightmare and ridiculously limited. About six spaces on the entire road and if you don't manage to nab one of them, then you'll be driving up and down the roads looking for a space (permits are included in the b&b price so that's no extra) or paying for the all day car park at £5 a pop. We had room number one. Couldn't fault it on it's cleanliness, it was spotless. Bed was very comfortable, super bouncy but a tad narrow for a double and the flipping headboard wouldn't stop banging on the wall (and not for the right reasons, either!!!) but it couldn't be moved, ah well. Tea and coffee facilities in the room as well as a little flat screen tv to watch from the bed. I was very disappointed at having paid an extra £10 for en-suite only to find that the toilet was so crammed in between the wall and the shower, that the door of the shower had to be opened to enable us to sit on the toilet (one foot on the floor, one in the plughole, lolol) Not worthy of the extra money at all. Lovely big window which can be opened but also note that the road below is REALLY busy with traffic including buses and people, day and night. Didn't bother me but I know it would some people.
Breakfast was fine, a standard fry up with the option to also have some cereal, fresh orange, tea or coffee. Various condiments available such as jams, marmalade, marmite, ketchup etc etc. There's also a vegetarian option available for the non meat eaters.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SamLouise67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews