We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM, 6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
As wonderful as I remember

My first visit for forty years and it's still as magical. Plus a lovely cheese sandwich. Just... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
pilgrim51
,
devon uk
via mobile
Great Pub

Does a good range of ales and always kept in great condition. I walk, cycle or get a lift here... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
pete j
Read all 82 reviews
  
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
72
9
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
9
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real ale overlooking the river the pub pastries cask beers smoked chicken lovely riverside malt house quick drink great range lovely food lovely staff ploughmans hatch pubs
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My first visit for forty years and it's still as magical.
Plus a lovely cheese sandwich.
Just perfect

Thank pilgrim51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Does a good range of ales and always kept in great condition. I walk, cycle or get a lift here just because the beer is kept so well.

Thank pete j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

This place is a trip back in time. It has been in the same family for 150 years and don't think much has changed! They do it their way here, a changing menu of real ales, a short menu of traditional British fare like fab looking Ploughman's and meat pies. It has authenticity writ large all over it. Sat on the bend of a river with tables scattered outside on the banks it also boasts a huge barn like room that is completely charming and which plays hosts to live music gigs. This is a real British pub in the old tradition and is a must for anyone visiting who wants to get a bit of the true flavour of Britain's pub of times gone by.

Thank go4geisha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

What a gem! As you enter yiu are immediately transported back to a different era. There is no electric/electronic white noise just the sound of quiet conversation and people enjoying a quiet real pint in a friendly unhurried atmosphere. We called in early evening and, although they werent serving food they managed to provide excellent pork pies with fresh garnish and pickled eggs. If you want to step back into history it is a must visit. No credit cards are accepted, which i normally castigate, but not here!

Thank F6815DSsimonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

What a place, real ale, real cider and historical atmosphere. Great place to visit but can't explain why. You'll just have to visit this real English pub.

Thank Slugg1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018

Came here with a work colleague who enthused about it - I can see why. Great range of cask ales also a cask cider - varying strengths and a bit of information on them, the beer/cider is straight from the cask too. Great to see no electrical devices. The place probably hasn't changed much in over a 100 years. There's a malt house adjoining which is used for functions - equally quirky. I'd certainly come back again next time I am in the area.

Thank Yorkshirebird27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

Wasn't expecting it to be real ales and nothing else, but appauld what they are doing felt a bit out of place as a Guinness and lager man

Thank cornishpastyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Our local pub...although we live several hundred mile short away. Think that says it all. Every night is a beer festival. Conversations flows in the snug where new friendships are forged over an excellent pint. Looking forward to returning soon

Thank H1ghSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018

Cracking old fashioned pub with good range of cask beers. Shame that they don’t do tea for non-drinkers and designated drivers.

Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018

Forget Gastro Pub, forget trendy. This is a pub representing all pubs of the past with charm by the bucket load. No big menu for food and not so much as a nod to modernity. Real beers and simple snacks with outside views over the water. Her Majesty the Queen visited here some years ago and not a single item has changed since. A treasure and a must visit. Run by the same family for 120 years. Stopping now before start gushing.

1  Thank HamishMacT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews