We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in Exeter”
Review of Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Townhouse
Ranked #5 of 69 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ideal location in Exeter”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Myself and 5 friends recently had a very nice stay at The Town House. We had three rooms all of which were very clean and spacious. The staff were always available but unobtrusive. Breakfasts were cooked to order and plenty available. Nice to have a garden available to sit out if the weather is good. Very easy to walk into the heart of Exeter and lots of good eateries around - we went to Mill on the Exe and Bill's both of which were excellent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lynneG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    82
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
48
72
50
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Booked into this hotel only for one night but we'll definitely come back! Beautiful victorian building, 10 minutes walk from St. Davids Station and some 15 minutes to the city center (could be a bit nearer but doesn't really matter). We had a beautiful large twin room, spacious and very clean, staff was friendly, welcoming and helpful. Though we had an early start before the usual breakfast time they arranged the better part of the buffet for us. Price is reasonable and you get excellent value for the money. For both of us almost nothing left to be desired.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We needed a place near the station and also the town center, and this was good for that. The staff are very helpful, and arranged an early breakfast since we had a train to catch at 8:30 (breakfast usually starts at 8am). The rooms are small but well furnished, with wifi and TVs, clean bathroom. We had 2 rooms and our carpet was a bit stained. Each room has coffee and tea making as well as bottled water and chocolates. We also checked in early and the staff looked after our bags for us while we walked around town, which was much appreciated.

Our pet peeve was the ghastly parking. The Town House has no attached parking and they give you a free parking sticker to use in nearby residential streets. But of course these spots are all taken, almost continuously. We unloaded our car while parked illegally outside the B&B and then circled around for 15 minutes, unable to find anywhere. There were a few 2 hour parking slots but no use for us. We ended up parking in the train station's car park, for 7 pounds overnight Sat to Sunday. This is no fault of the Town House, but I do fault Expedia, which stated free parking nearby. This is true, except it's always full!

The double room we had was overlooking the lovely garden with blackbirds singing.

Room Tip: The back rooms (we had Lorna Doon) have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdkLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked into this hotel for one night whilst I was in Exeter for a funeral, check in was at 2 however I needed to be at the funeral for this time so I emailed and asked if I could get an earlier check in and pay for it. I received a reply straight away saying this was no problem and at no charge. On arrival we found the hotel to be so much better than in the photos, it is slightly set back from the main road with lovely gardens.

We were greeted by a really helpful lady who led us to our lovely room, each room is themed to a famous writer, with extracts from books and pictures around the walls. A copy of a book is also in the room. There was a fantastic selection of different teas and coffee and even fresh coffee and caffitiere in the room, plus tv, chair, nice furnishings and cushions, the bathroom was lovely and a massive shower head.

The view over the church yard next door made you feel you were out in the country rather than a few minutes walk from the town centre.

We went for breakfast and the same lady was serving us and was lovely. There were freshly baked croissants, fresh fruit etc, along with home made jams, lemon curd, preserves etc. we also had a full English breakfast which was made up of local high quality items, even their own eggs! The sausage was lovely as was the thick bacon....perfect.

The dining room was so homely as was the whole hotel, I really did not want to leave. There was plenty of local information along with books for you to borrow.

The beds were so comfortable.

Very reasonably priced, with such attention to detail and absolutely top level service from the lady who served us ( I'm so sorry I didn't get her name)



I want to be back there now!

It really was a hidden gem

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelmsforduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Town House Exeter with a number of friends, and the Staff were so helpful during our stay. As several other people have said, real coffee in the room was a lovely surprise. Our room overlooked the road, but traffic noise was not an issue. Room was spacious, light and airy.
We were also able to sit out in the garden before going out in the evening.
Breakfast the next day was a relaxed affair, with plenty of choice. Check out time was 11am, but we were not made to rush to get out in the morning, which was very much appreciated. Would definitely stay again if returning to Exeter.
Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A beautiful house next to a quiet churchyard, with a pleasant garden to sit in and relax.
The Staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay a real pleasure.
The room had real coffee; a first in my experience and a definite improvement on the usual coffee dust in packets.
We always look forward to a hotel breakfast and the Town House offering was excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house overlook a quiet churchyard with mature trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnfromBletchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
898 reviews
499 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Friendly staff at check in and were given the keypad access number to the main door. Reception closes at 10pm so if you're a late check in make sure you have the code. Room was bright and cheery and overlooked the road, bathroom was small with little storage space. Shower was fine but again no shelving. Good selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate and sprinkles! Location was within easy walking distance to the centre cutting through the church grounds next door to avoid a hilly walk. Parking was a little tricky as the area is pretty busy but we did luck out for the most part in getting a space in the resident parking zone. Breakfast was cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice etc as well as a cooked plate of your choice. Again staff were very friendly at breakfast. Only complaint was the first night we had some rather noisy neighbors' who from 5am till breakfast were moving back and forward between rooms and were having rather loud conversations in the rooms as well but luckily they left that day. Would recommend this as a good option for Exeter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#16 of 31 in Exeter
602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#22 of 31 in Exeter
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse

Property: Townhouse
Address: 54 St. Davids Hill, Exeter EX4 4DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built around 1870 for the neighbouring St David's Church, the Victorian Grade II Listed Townhouse has undergone refurbishment bringing the guest house up to date with period and contemporary features. The Townhouse is set in a quiet corner of Exeter city centre yet just a few minutes stroll from the stunning Cathedral, the Royal Albert Memorial Museum, the Quayside, shopping centres, pubs, restaurants, university and train station. Our nine stylish rooms range from singles to kingsize (all with the exception of one single room are en-suite) and have free wifi, flat screen LCD TVs, USB charger sockets, double glazed windows, Fair Trade teas, coffees and biscuits, crisp white bed linen, complementary toiletries, fluffy towels, hairdryer and an amazing breakfast (not our words, but those of guests who have stayed with us) included in the price of the room. An iron and ironing board is available. Resident J-zone street parking permits free of charge (1 car per room per night, additional parking permits are available at £3 per permit) or guaranteed off street parking at £5 (only two guaranteed parking spaces). If you book direct with us, there is early check ins available (from 12 noon, can be earlier if agreed). If your room is not ready, luggage can be left with us before check in. We can also look after your luggage up to 1pm after check out (£3 per item thereafter). We will also give you a box of chocolates to enjoy in your room. If you book using a 3rd party (i.e. not direct with us, but though a booking agency), check in is strictly from 3pm and we cannot look after your luggage if you arrive in Exeter before 3pm. We can look after your luggage after check out, but this will cost £3 per item. We want your stay at the Townhouse to be as comfortable and memorable as possible and we are on hand to make sure your needs are met. In saying that, we would advise that the Townhouse is a guest house and not a 24 hour service hotel and you will be a guest staying in our house. We have been awarded the 2016 Certificate of Excellence by Tripadvisor and the Food Standards Agency has awarded us 5 stars - the highest possible food hygiene rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Exeter Hotel Exeter
Town House Exeter Bed And Breakfast
Townhouse Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing