We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dependable”
Review of Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Townhouse
Ranked #3 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

fairly close to central station (also close to St Davids station but it's a walk up the hill from the station to Town House - so it's OK in the other direction) and town centre; does the important things right - hot shower, TV, good breakfast, warm central heating - it was a wet chilly weekend.
what you expect from a good B&B
Next to cemetary but not a problem for most.

My pet quibble is I'd prefer places with no carpets but then you know most B&B have them

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOASIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 285 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Lovely old building, centrally located. Room large enough for extra bed for 10 year old. Very clean room with tea/coffee facilities. Free toiletries, biscuit and chocolate a nice touch. Breakfast well cooked and ample choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtcfan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Quite convenient for visiting the main sights. Nice room although double bed (Lorna Doone room) only really accessible from one side. Permit given for roadside parking but far more cars than available spaces in immediate vicinity. We were lucky!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LANGFIELD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights in October in a twin room - mainly due to the location. The hotel is located a short walk to St. Davids train station and a short walk into the downtown area of Exeter, making it perfect if you're coming/going by train.

The staff were very prompt and friendly - both at checkin/checkout and breakfast. The full English breakfast was very delicious and filling - they'll make what you'd like, and serve it very promptly.

The room we stayed in was on the second floor - and appeared in fairly good shape at first...it did have some unfortunate flaws though. The windows were clearly very old and in need of replacement - an additional pane had been added to one of them improve the insulation, but the other leaked a ton... was very cold at night in the bed beside the window. Strangely, the heaters seem to cut in and out making it difficult to control the room temperature. One bed was fairly comfortable, the other squeeked every time you moved in it. The room appeared fairly clean, but the sheets on one of the beds did have some small stains (looked like blood) on them - the sheets had patterns on them that may have concealed these (one reason why I always like white sheets in a hotel). Coffee/tea was inroom, but rather than individual wrapped tea bags and coffee sachets, there were vats that you'd have no idea how long they'd been open - so bring your own instant coffee/tea bags if you want that. The bathroom was small and clean - with a shower that worked well...though with a small sink and no place to put toiletries (putting that stuff on a floor gets a bit annoying).

Overall, while it served the purpose as a good place to stay with friendly people and a delicious breakfast, I would look around at what else is available in the same price range in the area (unless I saw a recently updated/renovated sign).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights last week. My room was very cosy. Small, but comfortable. Bed was comfortable. Tea and coffee supplies very good, and chocolate plus biscuit on first day. The bathroom was outside the room, but for my use only. Plentiful hot water.
The breakfast was good, and the staff very friendly.
A good touch was a book in the bedside cabinet that was the title character of the name of my room. (Jean Brodie) All the rooms are named after fictional characters.

Room Tip: The one I stayed in (single room) was very quiet. (It looked over a church yard) It was on 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vivien70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

we've just been to a family wedding in Exeter and spent 2 nights at the Town House. We loved this guest house and loved the peaceful yet central location. A few minutes walk from a great gastro pub serving award winning ales and also the main shopping area, yet we enjoyed peaceful sleep and accommodation in a light, clean and comfortable room with ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was perfect , serving contnental and cooked english food in a charming dining room looking out onto a leafy green garden. Homemade jams, organic produce where possible and free range eggs from the owners' chickens! There were generous supplies of assorted teas, coffee and and hot chocolate and a welcome pack of biscuits , chocolates and toileteries. Free on street parking is conveniently situated right outside. The proprietors and staff were friendly and helpful and we were sorry to be leaving. we will definitely return here on our next visit to Exeter, which is a charming town with many old buildings of historical interest. The guest house itself dates back to the 1850's and has been sensitvely and tastefully modernised. An art house cinema is within walking distance and it is fairly close to the university campus which makes it ideal for those visiting offspring who may be attending the university.

Room Tip: the upstairs rooms have views, our room ,Bathsheba, looked out over the street and some overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHUCK AND CRYSTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The pluses are:
Excellent location-short walk from St Davids Station and to City Centre.
Comfortable bed and pleasant decor
Very good breakfast with plenty of choice.
However, the cost was way over what I have paid for comparable (and superior) establishments including similar in Exeter. For this reason I would not recommend nor stay again unless nothing else available

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cauli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#8 of 31 in Exeter
1,922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#9 of 31 in Exeter
978 reviews
0.3 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse

Address: 54 St. Davids Hill, Exeter EX4 4DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: $106 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1875 for the neighbouring St David's Church, the Victorian Grade II Listed Townhouse has undergone refurbishment bringing the guest house up to date with period and contemporary features. The Townhouse is set in a quiet corner of Exeter city centre yet just a few minutes stroll from the stunning Cathedral, the Royal Albert Memorial Museum, the Quayside, shopping centres, pubs, restaurants, university, bus station and train stations. Our nine stylish rooms range from singles to kingsize (all with the exception of one single room are en-suite) and have free wifi, flat screen LCD TVs, USB charger sockets, double glazed windows, Fair Trade teas, coffees and biscuits, crisp white bed linen, complementary toiletries, hairdryer and an amazing breakfast (not our words, but those of guests who have stayed with us) included in the price of the room. An iron and ironing board is available. Resident street parking permits free of charge (1 permit per room per night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Exeter Hotel Exeter
Town House Exeter Bed And Breakfast
Townhouse Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing