We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming relaxed and ideally situated”
Review of Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Townhouse
Ranked #6 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

we've just been to a family wedding in Exeter and spent 2 nights at the Town House. We loved this guest house and loved the peaceful yet central location. A few minutes walk from a great gastro pub serving award winning ales and also the main shopping area, yet we enjoyed peaceful sleep and accommodation in a light, clean and comfortable room with ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was perfect , serving contnental and cooked english food in a charming dining room looking out onto a leafy green garden. Homemade jams, organic produce where possible and free range eggs from the owners' chickens! There were generous supplies of assorted teas, coffee and and hot chocolate and a welcome pack of biscuits , chocolates and toileteries. Free on street parking is conveniently situated right outside. The proprietors and staff were friendly and helpful and we were sorry to be leaving. we will definitely return here on our next visit to Exeter, which is a charming town with many old buildings of historical interest. The guest house itself dates back to the 1850's and has been sensitvely and tastefully modernised. An art house cinema is within walking distance and it is fairly close to the university campus which makes it ideal for those visiting offspring who may be attending the university.

Room Tip: the upstairs rooms have views, our room ,Bathsheba, looked out over the street and some overlook the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHUCK AND CRYSTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 273 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

The pluses are:
Excellent location-short walk from St Davids Station and to City Centre.
Comfortable bed and pleasant decor
Very good breakfast with plenty of choice.
However, the cost was way over what I have paid for comparable (and superior) establishments including similar in Exeter. For this reason I would not recommend nor stay again unless nothing else available

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cauli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed for 13 nights: three nights in the "Flora Poste" room and the others in the "Dorian Gray" room. The breakfast is really excellent: homemade jams, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, excellent eggs and bacon. The staff is friendly and helpful. For two mornings I needed to have breakfast before the defined time and had no problems. The Flora Poste offers a good wi-fi connection and is quiet but the bathroom of Dorian Gray is better (but small). The Flora Poste is a little more quiet because it overlooks the internal garden. The wi-fi signal in the Dorian isn't good. The bed is comfortable but there aren't dark curtains covering the windows so the light enters early in the morning! There isn't a wardrobe but you can find large drawers. Excellent location: close to St. Davids Station and to town center (5 miutes on foot).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in the Lorna Doone room and it was beautiful. The bright pink accented fireplace wall was so pretty and the view from the window was great. It rained a lot on the day we were there, so there was some discernable traffic noise from the street way across the park and churchyard, but it was quiet at night. This was in early May, so it was also quite chilly, but the heat was already turned off. We also spent some time in the dining room next day after checkout to plan out the rest of our journey and wait for the weather to clear up a bit. The house is beautiful on the outside, and all the wisteria and the lilac bush were wonderful.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed just one night, but was very impressed and would like to have stayed longer. It was a bright, sunny day and if I hadn't had work at the university first thing I would have taken up the owners offer to sit in the garden with a newspaper! I was given a twin room on the first floor, overlooking the back garden & it was spacious, well appointed and very quiet.
The owner had left chocolates & biscuits on the beds along with complimentary shower gel, shampoo & hand cream - neatly arranged on folded towels. The nicest touch of all was the fact each room is named after a character in popular fiction & the owner places a copy of the novel the character features in, in the bedside table drawer next to the obligatory bible. If I'd had longer I would have enjoyed re-reading some Jane Austen! There are plentiful supplies of coffee, hot chocolate & a selection of teas besides English breakfast. Fresh water & glasses were also included on the refreshments tray.
The ensuite shower room was spotless, and the power shower provided an effective 'wake me up' after a late night, with good pressure & plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was good - cooked to order, with eggs available from their free range chickens. Plenty of continental items too.

Room Tip: 1st floor, overlooking the garden is very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helana3179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Visited the Town House Exeter for one night. Located an easy walk from the town center and an easy, downhill walk to Exeter St David's train station. Stayed in the Arthur Dent single room, as I'm a Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy fan and simply had to stay in the room! Was pleased to find a copy of the Hitchhiker's compendium in the bedside drawer, next to the Gideon's Bible. Overall, the room was lovely, with the typical very small British bathroom. Sink was in the main part of the room, with shower and toilet in an ensuite bathroom. One small item that bothered me was a complete lack of hooks from which to hang towels, either next to the sink or in the ensuite. An odd exclusion. The room is located at the front of the Town House, next to the front door, which guests are advised to let close on its own, causing it to slam shut quite loudly. Fortunately, most guests closed the door quietly in the late evening and early morning hours. Some fellow guests smoked just outside the front door, which meant smoke wafted in through my barely opened window; yuck! It does require a leap of faith to keep the window open at all during the night, as it faces out to the street and a pathway from the church next door, with a wide variety of people walking by at all hours. Breakfast was fine and included typical British breakfast fare. Friendly staff, although I hardly saw anyone during my visit. A decent place to stay for a night or two, although I don't think I'd like the Town House for a longer visit.

Room Tip: Single rooms are located on the ground floor, flanking the front door.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpeedwayCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great breakfast, fairly good location (easy walking distance to the centre), clean room and real coffee in the room.

BUT: I was put on the ground floor (next to the end of the footpath leading past the graveyard) and it was a hot night. As a single female traveller I was not able to sleep with the window open (at one point in the night drunk men were outside and pushed the bins over, shouting etc) as being on my own I did not feel safe. The bed was literally right under the window and so I felt vulnerable as anyone could have got in.The owner was friendly and nice but this did not alter the fact that I did not sleep as the room became boiling hot without the window open. Had I not been on the ground floor I could have had a great stay, I think.

Room Tip: Not the ground floor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rat984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.1 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#12 of 31 in Exeter
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
920 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse

Address: 54 St. Davids Hill, Exeter EX4 4DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: $114 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1875 for the neighbouring St David's Church, the Victorian Grade II Listed Townhouse has undergone refurbishment bringing the guest house up to date with period and contemporary features. The Townhouse is set in a quiet corner of Exeter city centre yet just a few minutes stroll from the stunning Cathedral, the Royal Albert Memorial Museum, the Quayside, shopping centres, pubs, restaurants, university, bus station and train stations. Our nine stylish rooms range from singles to kingsize (all with the exception of one single room are en-suite) and have free wifi, flat screen LCD TVs, USB charger sockets, double glazed windows, Fair Trade teas, coffees and biscuits, crisp white bed linen, complementary toiletries, fluffy towels, hairdryer and an amazing breakfast (not our words, but those of guests who have stayed with us) included in the price of the room. An iron and ironing board is available. Resident J-zone street parking permits free of charge (1 car per room per night, ad ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House Exeter Bed And Breakfast
Town House Exeter Hotel Exeter
Townhouse Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing