We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful pet friendly cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Our cottage on lovely sunny day taken from next doors garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our cottage on lovely sunny day taken from next doors garden
The bright second bedroom The church gates
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Our cottage on lovely sunny day taken from next doors garden
The bright second bedroom
The church gates
The small second lounge
The lounge with two 2 seater sofas
Well equipped kitchen with seating for 4 people
The children's play area directly opposite the cottage
View of church from the road
The main bedroom with views across to the village green
The lounge showing fireplace
Take the ferry across the river at topsham and walk along tow path to great pub
Exmouth Beach
The Courtyard Garden
A lovely walk through the cornfields in the village
View of the church opposite the cottage
Budleigh Salterton Beach
A view from Lympstone harbour just 10 minutes drive from the cottage
Otterton Mill a great riverside walk takes you here. Still a working mill
A beautiful day on Exmouth Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
siobhanco...
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightful pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Based in the centre of Woodbury village and surrounded by delightful country side, it is an ideal base for exploring Devon. Woodbury Common is great for beautiful country dog walks and is very close by. The cottage is cosy and well equipped. Plenty of beaches nearby.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful English cottage with character in pretty Devon village”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a quaint and cosy cottage as you would imagine a true cottage to be. Beautifully presented and furnished with everything you need for your holiday. Being the age it is the cottage had plenty of character with upstairs having slightly sloping floors, and lower ceilings in places, but not a problem it's how a cottage this old should be. The village it self was ideal for exploring the local area Exmouth, Sidmouth, Budleigh to name a few and in the evening there were 2 local pubs to relax in both serving excellent food. Would have no problem staying here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2018
Thank you Karen for leaving such a great review .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripMembe...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location to stay when visiting Devon”
Reviewed August 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second stay at the Thatched Cottage. The first was when settling our youngest daughter at university and this trip was to celebrate her Graduation. The location is great for getting into Exeter, but away from the hustle and bustle. It's also great for getting into Exmouth if you fancy a stroll along the beach. As the M5 is only a 5 minute drive it's easy to get to Dartmoor and beyond. As for the cottage itself it's cosy and quirky, which we love. It has everything you need if you want to eat in and coped extremely well when 2 friends joined us for dinner (6)!!
Would I recommend this as a place definitely.
Would I stay here again absolutely!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2018
Wow! What a glowing review. Thank you for taking the time to write this
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona B
1 review
“Comfortable and homely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I wanted to escape the hustle and bustle of my normal surroundings for a few days and I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. It was lovely to be out of the way a little bit but still in reach of some excellent amenities and great places to visit. The cottage was clean and homely and I was able to relax immediately. This is a wonderful bolthole from which to explore this beautiful area. I feel sure I will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
Thanks you Fiona for your review. It was great to have you to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Little Thatch at Topsham”
Reviewed June 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Charming little thatched cottage, which we could have moved into in an instant
Everything we dreamed of
Would most certainly rebook if in Devon again
Owner extremely helpful & friendly
Thanks Jane for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim L
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend cottage”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

If I were to have a weekend cottage in the countryside then it would be this.
The decor is fabulous, the location is perfect and the host - Jane - is helpful and communicative.
Situated a few miles from Exeter, this cottage is a great base for visitors to Devon and its location in the village itself, gives access to shop and pub and the perfect village green for exercising the dog!
There is no feeling of cheap furnishings or sub standard contents at Little Thatch -
my family and I felt that we were staying at the country retreat of a friend or relative and were all grateful for the experience.
I would love to visit again and we are trying to make plans to ensure that we are at Little Thatch again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
Thank you Tim for your kind words. It is so lovely to hear that you love the cottage and the surrounding are just as much as we do. I look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslmont
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great cottage, dog friendly and well situated to explore Devon”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Woodbury is easy to get to and is a nice quiet village, near to Exeter, Dartmoor and the coast. Good village shop and post office, and two pubs, plus two small antique shops.

The cottage is opposite the village green, and parking is a little bit of a lottery but then that seems to be the case for the whole of Devon!. It is well fitted out, we did not find anything we want to be unavailable. We loved the quirky flooring and doors - but remember to duck when going through them as they are low.

And, finally, the owners are very happy for you to have your dogs with you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing