We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chi Oriental Restaurant
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$105
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$70
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$192
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gipsy Hill Hotel(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$98
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$102
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Exeter M5(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
64
21
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
21
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspowderham castleb bbed and breakfastlovely atmospherefull englishfantastic staystayed for nightsnight's sleepgood sizekentonsuiaccommodationtoothbrush
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 94 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed from fri to sunday as it was my wife's birthday
The owners and staff were first class, we couldnt wish for a better place to stay and eat. The food was first class along with the service. The room was spotlessly clean, neat and had everything we needed and more. We shall be back! also recommending to all our friends family. Thankyou Mr & Mrs Choy, family and staff for making our stay an enjoyable experience, we shall definately be back! x

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mutchalibali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed for two nights in the small double and a single room. Very clean and pleasant rooms. The business is mainly an AA four star graded chinese restaurant with B&B and you need to be prepared to specify what you want for breakfast the night before - and the time you want it between 8.30 - 9/30am. There is a 15% discount on eating at the restaurant (closed on Mondays) and I would highly recommend doing this - stylish surroundings, delicious food and the service fantastic. I don't know what the problem was with the review which mentioned a problem with male staff. All staff I met were helpful and very polite.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manofdistinction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Would highly recommend Chi. The food is amazing and out of this world, we ate here twice in 3 days!! Accommodation - Very clean, comfortable, homely rooms with lovely little touches. Friendly and welcoming staff. Beautiful gardens. Lovely village location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceanrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Really gorgeous food, great accomodation and gardens, very friendly female staff. Just let down by one extremely unfriendly member of staff. Such a shame.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spanner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiRestaurant, Owner at Chi Oriental Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

We were extremely disappointed to receive this brief feedback.

Our staff are always polite and friendly and are happy to oblige at all times.

On the date these comments were posted, an attempt was made to contact this person asking if they could provide details and reasons for their accusations.


To date, we have not received a reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Last weekend we enjoyed a wonderful lunch in a superb setting at this excellent Chinese restaurant on the outskirts of Exeter. It was a beautiful day and we were able to enjoy pre-lunch drinks in the delightful garden with a fountain playing in the background. Our table in the restaurant was beautifully laid out and the food was quite the best we have ever had. Certainly, it is the best restaurant of its kind in the Exeter area. We enjoyed three courses which we had agreed with the owner beforehand and our excellent afternoon was more than complemented by superb service from the staff team at the restaurant. I cannot commend this restaurant too highly. This is our first visit but it most certainly won't be our last.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SlimJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews