We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silversprings St Davids
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Hawkley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked the apartment at Silversprings based on tripadvisor reviews and its apparent good location. Everything about it exceeded my expectations, we had planned to travel by train visiting Exeter to watch our team get beaten at Rugby and explore the city. We ended up travelling by car because of planned engineering and this was no problem, there is parking behind the apartments so we just left the car there for two days. For reference the apartment is 5 minutes walk from St Davids station, Exeter so plan A would also have worked well.
Juliet met us at the apartment and couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, a lovely start to a super weekend. Our ground floor apartment is beautifully decorated and fully equipped with everything you need for full self catering. Juliet kindly furnished us with milk and a packet of biscuits - there was also plenty of tea and (proper) coffee to keep us happy.
The bedroom has a separate dressing area with plenty of wardrobe space and the bathroom is modern and spotless. Theres plenty of natural light coming in throughout the apartment.
Bed was very comfortable - I agree with a previous reviewer about the interesting design though - we got used to the ornate legs after about 12 hours so only walked into them six or seven times! The bruising wasn't too bad!
The location couldn't be better - ten minutes walk into the centre of Exeter with its lovely cathedral and super waterfront area. I highly recommend Silversprings for anyone wanting independent central accommodation sensibly priced in the centre of the city. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Offshegoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    45
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
54
103
35
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having enjoyed my stay at the hotel some time ago, I booked again but this time the apartment as the hotel is being refurbished. Upon arrival I was warmly greeted by Julie. The apartment itself is in a great location, easily reached from both St Davids and Central rail stations and close to shops, restaurants and the bus station. The rooms were all beautifully decorated and well furnished.
The apartment was well looked after, clean, comfortable and cosy. I couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyOday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Self catering apartments is definitely the way to go. We only stayed one night but thought given the space, how quaintly decorated it was, and for the location it was great value for Exeter. Mark was very helpful and accommodating when we arrived. Was a lovely stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had an excellent two night stay at Silversprings. The small apartment was in an ideal location for the city centre and the university. It was very well-equipped with everything you would want for a short and a long stay, whether for business and/or leisure. I will definitely be back again and would strongly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willsharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This apartment is really quite lovely. The furnishings are classy and modern; especially the bed which is humongous and very comfy! Despite picking up a cold in Exeter, the apartment made us feel very comfortable and at home. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Exeter.

Room Tip: Richmond Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmAPWBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

But inside it's a different story. This apartment, despite being a 5 minute walk from the centre of Exeter, is very well appointed (and quiet). It's smart, well-equipped, comfy, and a proper home-from-home. Certainly if I had to stay long term in Exeter this is where I'd want to be. The only complaint I have is about the bed - I banged my leg on the bedstead the first day (I was very careful after that!) but to be honest, that's the only thing. I have no other complaints - everything was lovely, especially to find milk, orange juice and biscuits waiting for us on arrival. And to also have Sky with movies and sport was a Brucie bonus!
And if you want somewhere to eat - go to The Farmer's Union over the road - you won't do better in Exeter for friendly service and good food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BabeNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night just before Xmas to avoid the parties in the hotels, having visited Exeter last year and stayed in a central hotel and being disturbed by wedding parties etc. We were very pleased with the high standard and good value that Silversprings offered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#12 of 31 in Exeter
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park View
Park View
#26 of 31 in Exeter
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversprings St Davids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversprings St Davids

Property: Silversprings St Davids
Address: 12 Richmond Road, Exeter EX4 4JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
#3 Family Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silversprings St Davids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silversprings St Davids Exeter, Devon
Silversprings St Davids Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing