We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in a great Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Devon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Devon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay in a great Hotel.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in June 2013, the room was great, we had a twin at the back of the hotel. It was very clean and we slept well both nights. We had a meal for my husbands birthday which was excellent. We would stay there again without any worries.

Room Tip: Our twin room was at the back of the hotel and excellent, but it did have a few stairs so might be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesp1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent custom and great review. We at The Devon look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    315
    126
    37
    18
See reviews for
204
351
30
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having friends over for the following weekend we decided to check out the Devon Hotels as a possible venue to take them for a meal out and having heard good comments regarding this hotel.
First impressions were good, a friendly greeting from the waiting staff who were stood by the entrance greeting customers and nice clean well presented restaurant area. So far very impressive. walked through to the bar and decided to try the cream teas as advertised outside. Bar service was good and the price reasonable. Food followed very promptly and was well presented with plenty of cream and jam and a good size pot of strong tea. Unfortunately the scones werent up to the same standard. They were cold dry and seemed to be stale,they were returned to the bar where they apologised and sent out replacements. These were as bad although it seems they may have popped them into the microwave for a few seconds to take the chill off . These were also returned and a refund was requested and promptly given. It is astonishing that a Hotel that boasts a high standard of food quality can serve up probably the worst cream tea in Devon. Are we going back for the meal?.No,we will go to other restaurants in Exeter that we have tried enjoyed and trust.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwrex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
It is with regret that I read your posting on trip advisor and apologise that on your visit the local home made scones were not up to our normal standard.
More care will be taken to ensure no other guest will need to complain as you have.
Once again please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

If only all Hotels could train their staff like the ones here. Friendly, courteous and helpful. Reception super efficient and friendly. We booked a Dinner B & B, reception reserved a table and everything just worked. Rooms were very clean and so was the bathroom Couldn't even find the obligatory cobweb that's often in higher rated hotels. We even found a fan in the wardrobe which was great on a sweltering night. Good touch. Comfortable beds.
Food and service in the restaurant was good although 2 starters arrived followed 5 minutes later by the other 2. not so good. Blame the Chef not the waiting staff for that one.
Will certainly use this Hotel again next year when down there.

Room Tip: We had rooms facing the front. Fine except when the boy racers of Exeter were around. Not sure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review and I am sorry our chef was over zealous with your starters.
We would certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Devon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Pretty exterior.
Easy check-in.
Friendly staff.
Soft pink carpet in room (22).
Attractive art on the walls.
Full length mirror.
Very informative welcome pack.
PLENTY of tea, etc plus biscuits.
Fan + hairdryer + 8 coathangers + notepad & pencil + box of tissues.
The television was at (sitting) eye level, not high up on the wall.
Curved back on bath.
Only a slight nuisance - the armchair got in the way a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

An average hotel made excellent by great staff and magnificent hanging baskets. We didn't have an evening meal here, but everything else, except the room size and the bar prices, exceeded our expectations. Good location en route to/from SW.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seventiesicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. If you are in the area at the end of August, the hanging baskets will look even more amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
468 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived there on 11/7/2013 and stayed for lunch.The most striking feature was how the restaurant was well organised and staff trained in a professional manner.The food was excellent especially the soup of the day which was mushroom,a meal in itself.The only thing which made me unease was that I was asked to leave my debit card at the bar while we had our meal outside,this shows untrust,there must be another way that the management could with it.Oterwise everything was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review and those great photos of lunch and the garden. I am very pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Devon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

From the minute I arrived the staff were very helpful, very pleasant and keen to look after the client. The General Manager himself was pleasant and helpful, checking everything was good for me and asking if I needed anything else.The single bedroom was small but what single room isn't? It was clean and did what it was required to do, a place to rest my head.The meeting room was of a great size, just a tad close to a busy main road. Meals were super, all of them and restaurant staff all pleasant and helpful.Prices reasonable. No complaints only praise.
John Dewar's School of Hypnotherapy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and on your next visit, please contact myself for a complimentary upgrade to a double room for single occupancy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,192 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,514 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
826 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel

Property: The Devon Hotel
Address: Matford, Exeter EX2 8XU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With easy access to Exeter City Centre and the surrounding area, the Devon Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy a city break or stay whilst on business. Exeter is a bustling and lively city with a fascinating Roman heritage and one of the world's best examples of a twelfth century Gothic cathedral. It is conveniently situated for visiting Dartmoor and the stunning coastline of South Devon. The Devon Hotel in Exeter has an outstanding reputation for fabulous cuisine and great accommodation. Situated on the edge of the vibrant city of Exeter, when you enter the Devon Hotel, you enter a world of exquisite comfort. Set in the Georgian building which is the heart of the hotel, our flagship Carriages Brasserie and Lounge Bar beckon you to linger with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Devon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Hotel Exeter
The Devon Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing