We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You made our wedding day x”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Devon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Devon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You made our wedding day x”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Thank you to all the staff at the Devon hotel especially Simon and Jenny for making our wedding day so special and a fantastic day to remember forever. Everyone said the food was amazing and the staff were so helpful, friendly and organised and they made me feel like a princess. I can highly recommend the Devon hotel for your wedding reception or any day for a cavery yum yum. From Hayley and Liam

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleybales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    316
    127
    37
    18
See reviews for
204
354
30
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I use the Devon Hotel fairly frequently for business and always look forward to my visits. The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The carvery lunch is excellent and my work colleagues and I always look forward to a fantastic lunch every time we visit. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Loopy86-00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is east to find and handy to all the road network. It lies on the edge of Exeter with its vibrant city life and tourist attractions. Haldon forest with its forest walks and cycle paths are just a stone throw away.

When driving up to the hotel it is a very impressive sight with its colourful gardens and well manicured lawns. The staff are friendly and nothing


The management have a wealth of experience and are always on hand to give friendly advice or give assistance if required .


If you are visiting Exeter this is the place to stay



.

The management have a wealth of experience and are always on hand to offer advice or give assistance if needed.

My husband and I found the food delicious and good value for money with a good selection of dishes available.

If you are visiting Exeter this is the place to come

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

There is certainly something of the old Crossroads Motel about The Devon Hotel whose rooms are unusually arranged on two floors off a single central corridor and externally resemble motel rooms. It is also conveniently located just off a busy roundabout - or crossroads if you will. Beyond that the only resemblance to the wonky TV motel are the thin walls of the rooms because The Devon Hotel is really rather good. It is split into slightly incongruous old and new buildings (well, 1860s and 1960s) which house the restaurant/bar and rooms respectively. The rooms are compact but very comfortable and well appointed with good quality bedding (including a duvet thankfully) and free wifi. My room faced the road and suffered from road noise - if possible get a rear facing room. It also suffered the common hotel problem of being far too hot - not helped by windows with safety restrictors fitted to limit opening. I spent time in the bar area where the food was very good and well priced - breakfast likewise. There is an evening carvery which is cheap and quite good. The bar and restaurant decor is very old fashioned and dark and could really do with a makeover but is clean and well preserved. I was a little put off by the signs in the bar warning me that I had to spend money at the bar every hour or I would be charged £7.50 per hour to use the table. I guess the hotel's location makes it a good place for a meeting - even so there must be better ways to harness this market than these off putting signs. The staff throughout the hotel were unfailingly polite and friendly which can make even a bad hotel a great one. Overall a well priced, good standard and characterful alternative to a Travelodge that is well located and deserves a visit if you need a quick stopover. Just get a rear facing room.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn't face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gje99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from seven day break at the Devon Hotel. We have used Brend hotels before and have always been impressed with the cleanliness and attention to detail. The food is always excellent and the staff are very friendly and very willing to make the break as good as possible. The Devon Hotel also came up to Brend's very high standard. The gardens were really beautiful. So many thanks to all staff in every department. We hope to be back.

Susan and Eddie Smith

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are glad that we are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Devon Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a one night stay at the Devon Hotel and were impressed with the external appearance with beautifully manicured lawns, The standard double room was fairly basic with a rather small en suite down some steps within the room but was all very clean.
The highlight of our stay was dinner. I chose the prawn platter to start and my wife had the waldorf salad. Then we selected from the carvery with my wife choosing turkey while I picked beef. The portion sizes were generous and there was an excellent selection of fresh vegetables including cauliflower, roast parsnips, red cabbage, mashed swede, peas, new potatoes and roast potatoes.
Finally, we enjoyed a calorific gateau dessert, all washed down with a bottle of pinot grigio. Overall, a lovely meal with prompt but not overbearing service.
Breakfast the following morning was the usual buffet full english , which was also enjoyable.

Room Tip: Anyone with mobility problems should request a ground floor room -no lift and our room had stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard Somerset
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had been on a study course all day and stayed the night at The Devon Hotel and I could not fault it really. The room was clean, comfortable and had a plentiful supply of tea and coffee and biscuits etc, much needed refreshment after a hard day's work. I was delighted to see a really clean, modern and well functioning walk in shower. The television was easy to use. The wardrobe area was sufficient as was the drawers etc. The bed was comfortable too with plenty of bedlinen too. I had an evening meal in the main bar area and was not made to feel like `Billy no mates' and my experience at breakfast was enhanced by very welcoming and professional staff who were a joy to enounter. The staff from and around the reception area were very good, good eye contact and I felt truly listened to

Room Tip: Choose a room that looks out over the fields behind the hotel, though there are electricity pylons i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatefromChard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel

Property: The Devon Hotel
Address: Matford, Exeter EX2 8XU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With easy access to Exeter City Centre and the surrounding area, the Devon Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy a city break or stay whilst on business. Exeter is a bustling and lively city with a fascinating Roman heritage and one of the world's best examples of a twelfth century Gothic cathedral. It is conveniently situated for visiting Dartmoor and the stunning coastline of South Devon. The Devon Hotel in Exeter has an outstanding reputation for fabulous cuisine and great accommodation. Situated on the edge of the vibrant city of Exeter, when you enter the Devon Hotel, you enter a world of exquisite comfort. Set in the Georgian building which is the heart of the hotel, our flagship Carriages Brasserie and Lounge Bar beckon you to linger with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Devon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Hotel Exeter
The Devon Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing