We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Week Getaway”
Review of The Devon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Devon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mid Week Getaway”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife & i arrived Tues.30th Oct.for a 3 day break,taking advantage of the autumn dbb offer.We stayed many times before & find the location ideal for a touring base.The staff throughout are very focussed on service & politeness ,an asset these days.There is a good choice menu,our meals were well presented,with portions generous.The carvery was very good ,ideal for large appetites.Our bedroom at the rear of the building was well appointed,quiet & warm which made the stay very pleasant. We will return in January.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have door access to car space,avoids carrying heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davieslyndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    325
    128
    37
    18
See reviews for
211
364
30
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This Hotel is near to the to the motorway and main routes and is easy to find. Its not a traditional hotel, the Chalet type accomodation is a little small and is only accessed from the carpark, The reception and hotel part itself seems to close at 6pm.. the restaurant is the only part left open, its like a pub seperate from the hotel, across a road. This seems a very popular wedding function and it would seem that (on the weekend we stayed at least) the hotel seems to cater more for Guests attending the Wedding fuctions than bone fide travellers.. As these functions traditionaly go on late and their cars are parked 2 feet from your bedroom window its a little noisy to say the least as merry wedding revellers leave.. In keeping with most "function" caterers we found the drinks expensive, likewise the meals were almost twice the price of the meals at the Premier Inn at the next roundabout, including the breakfasts so we jumped in the car and ate up there instead. I admit their restaurant was far "posher" at the Devon but unless I was on an expense accounts, or attending a wedding there I would sleep at the Premier Inn too next time. Far more down to earth and it doesnt cost £30 + extra for two breakfasts..

Room Tip: I didnt see one, they were all 30 yards from the road, with ensuing traffic noise.. Room Entry was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stopped at the Devon for a weeks work over four nights in Exeter as it was conveniently located near the office I was based at. This is a very easy hotel to find in the car and parking is fairly abundant.

The staff without exception and throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant were all top class. Nothing was too much trouble from an unannounced early breakfast on the last day, sorting me out with an iron and board at short notice, giving me a corkscrew after I had stupidly purchased a bottle from the off licence to consume in my room - basically everything I needed was catered for with the minimum of fuss. My room was always spotlessly clean and well looked after and the bar and restaurant are always in perfect shape. A big, big thumbs up on all of this and if decent service is your main priority then you can't go far wrong here going by my experience.

The other hotel guests tended to be guests on work business. However, over in the bar/restaurant you get a mix of the business guests and also a healthy number of pensioners and older guests with families who obviously come here for meals. All in all this makes for quite a genteel atmosphere and you certainly do not get anything in the way of loud groups. As a result, if you are looking for a more lively atmosphere the Devon probably isn't for you, but if you need peace of an evening you could do a lot worse than here.

The food here is substantial - although not the cheapest, the portions are huge and you will certainly not go hungry. It's not exactly delicate cuisine, but even if you're working physically hard all day you will find that even a main course at the Devon will do you OK for the night. The breakfasts are similarly well stocked although as a porridge and brown toast man I didn't try the full-English.

This brings me on the downers: The location of the hotel is good for driving, but it is a long, long walk from anywhere else - even the nearest pub is a good 20 minute trek on foot. If you're not really up for a walk around the dual carriageways and main roads of Southern Exeter after a hard day at work (and either don't want to or can't drive to get anywhere else), then beware. Unless you are prepared to get a cab you are effectively trapped at the Devon Hotel and this is probably the biggest downer for long-term guests and by the end of the week I was very ready for a change of scene.

My room was perfectly clean but quite old fashioned in terms of decor and fittings. The nearest thing I can equate it to is it was a bit like visiting my nan's house as a child. At first I thought I had a massive super-king bed to enjoy and stretch out on but on closer inspection it was two singles pushed together and not the most comfortable. Also the rooms are small with little floorspace and all appear to suffer from being exceptionally hot. A fan is provided as a matter of course and I had mine on permanently at night and left the windows open most of the time.

In short, the best way to describe this place is like a well-turned out pub and restaurant with a relatively pleasant but dated motel attached.

If you're passing through a need to stop for a night or two then you can't really go wrong unless you are expecting perfection. However, for longer-term stays it might be sensible to stay elsewhere near some other amenities.

Room Tip: Try getting a ground floor room, if you don't like your room too hot, or a room facing the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hushmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandinam powys
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

just come back from a three night stay at the hotel, had a lovely stay, food and service excellent, the young girl in the restaurant is very customer focused and could not do enough for us.she is a real assest to this hotel. My only criticism is that the rooms are very hot we were on the second floor, traffic is noisy but we were aware of this before we went and it did not affect our stay. It is an ideal base for exploring devon and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: think ground floor rooms would not be as hot as the rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lets set the record straight. As far as accommodation this is a Motel. It was called the Devon Motel for decades... Brend took over and renamed it Devon Hotel. Its a Motel! When we stayed, there wasn't enough room to swing your arm let alone a cat! That was the front ground floor...

Ok moving on. The bar and restaurant is quite nice. It does have a very polite attitude to the guests... we are 'Sir' and Madam'... which can be a little overbearing at times. I mean this isn't The Savoy.
They do a good carvery but I have to question why the evening carvery uses lunchtimes roast potatoes? This is quiet frequent and it spoils what could be a good carvery, rather shocking really. As I said its a bit hit or miss. The menus is quite limited to and has some quite obscure dishes. The food is adequate and generally speaking well presented.
Staff are pleasant enough but there again it depends who you get.
All in all there is more good to say than bad. It is rather expensive but its fairly comfortable if you get good waiting staff.
If you want a drink at lunchtime there is a little note on the tables advising a minimum spend in the region of about £7.50 per person. Not at all welcoming.
I visit regularly and will do again and again no doubt. But they need to get their act together on the quality of the carvery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Devon Hotel on 22 September as attending a dinner. Our room was at the front on the ground floor of the motel. Room was compact, but clean and comfortable and bathroom was very nice. Size of room didn't matter to us as we were in, changed, off to the dinner, back to sleep, up in the morning and off home after breakfast. Whilst it is on a busy road this didn't bother us either as we live next to a busy road so we're used to traffic noise. Food was good, service (at the dinner, at reception and at breakfast) was great. In fact, we were slightly late for breakfast (our fault, we hadn't checked times when we checked in!) but the staff were great and rustled us up something although they were already busy preparing for lunch (I understand they have a very good, very popular carvery lunch on a Sunday). Customer service can be sadly lacking in the UK but not at the Devon Hotel. Would have rated very good, but the customer service means we have rated excellent. Well done to the staff and management.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgnichols910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having stayed at 2 other excellent hotels in the Brend Group I was deeply disappointed with the Devon Hotel. We had a tiny room at the front of the hotel which was dowdy and depressing. The room was too hot but when you opened the window the traffic noise was deafening. Even with the windows shut it was too noisy to sleep.We understand it is near a abusy road but the brochure makes it look as if it is set well back; there should be some mention of the traffic noise.
On the positive side the restaurant was excellent and the restaurant manager, Phil, was friendly and professional.
This is apoor advert for the brend group and should be rated 2 star for room quality.

Room Tip: Insist on a room at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonbHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel

Property: The Devon Hotel
Address: Matford, Exeter EX2 8XU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With easy access to Exeter City Centre and the surrounding area, the Devon Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy a city break or stay whilst on business. Exeter is a bustling and lively city with a fascinating Roman heritage and one of the world's best examples of a twelfth century Gothic cathedral. It is conveniently situated for visiting Dartmoor and the stunning coastline of South Devon. The Devon Hotel in Exeter has an outstanding reputation for fabulous cuisine and great accommodation. Situated on the edge of the vibrant city of Exeter, when you enter the Devon Hotel, you enter a world of exquisite comfort. Set in the Georgian building which is the heart of the hotel, our flagship Carriages Brasserie and Lounge Bar beckon you to linger with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Devon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Hotel Exeter
The Devon Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing