We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can not fault this B&B or it's owner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodbine Guest Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woodbine Guest Accommodation
Ranked #9 of 74 Exeter B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I can not fault this B&B or it's owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The owner is an exceptional lady and runs her establishment very well. The guesthouse is spotlessly clean, far better than some 4 star hotels I have stayed in.

We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for her.

Breakfast was excellent, enough choice for everyone, severed at the time requested and always hot.

I could go on about my stay but I would just say make this your first phone call if you are looking to stay in Exeter, In my opinion you will be hard pushed to find somewhere as good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    30
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
48
32
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a very well run guesthouse in a great location, city centre and yet quiet with a park behind it. The owner is welcoming and helpful, the house is warm and spotless and there is everything you could need. I have stayed here many times and always enjoyed my stay. I also think it's very good value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have a view over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a pleasant, spotlessly clean, well furnished and very quiet B&B in a good location. Good breakfast (nothing imaginative or different here, but a relative of mine who used to run a B&B and who offered lots of yummy, healthy alternatives to the standard English breakfast told me most guests seemed to prefer the same old same old, so that's probably why most proprietors don't bother to innovate. What a boringly conservative nation we are!!)
The room was small but the use of space was ingenious, especially the triangular cistern and the creation of a 'closet' space behind the bed.
Something that pleased me: no perfumy detergent smells on the bedlinen, thank goodness.
Something that annoyed me: no wifi log on details in the guest handbook (by the time I realized they weren't there, it was late and downstairs was in darkness so I didn't like to disturb the owner). Why not simply put the details in the book?
There was a strong smell of curry from the restaurant nearby when we arrived but since we like curry that didn't bother us.
This B&B, whilst not remarkable in any way, seems to me superior to its competitors down the hill even though it is no more expensive. So if you need somewhere within ten minutes of St David's station and five minutes from town, this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Yet another enjoyable stay at the Woodbine Guest House. Like a Home from Home. Very clean and tidy. All the things you need for a short stay. The owner is very friendly and helpful and even gave me an alarm call. Breakfast, as always very delicious and freshly cooked at the time you state. Will always try here first but would not be surprised if they are fully booked - my fault for not booking sooner. Handy for all amenities and City Centre.

Room Tip: All rooms I've stayed in are as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have just enjoyed a pleasant and relaxing stay at the woodbine. Having stayed here 2 years ago for a different training course at the university I was really happy to be greeted by Kiran (the owner) with a warm and personal welcome.
The dining room has been changed and refurbished since I was last here and it has been beautifully done. Nothing is too much to ask for and the breakfast is served really promptly and to your specific requirements. The times are as stated on the website and within the same timeframe as other B&Bs which I've stayed at. It's nice to know that your breakfast is cooked fresh to order rather than it having sat around on a hot plate.
The rooms are immaculate. Every time I've stayed here the bathroom has been spotlessly clean and and the bedrooms are all decorated tastefully in an individual colour scheme as well as being well equipped with tea / coffee, tv, hairdryer and all the other essentials.
Thank you Kiran for another excellent stay. I'll be booking again for my other weeks in Exeter and recommending the guesthouse to any colleagues staying in Exeter for other training.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having stayed in Exeter several times over the past year while attending NoHands Massage training courses, I stayed each time at Woodbine Guesthouse. My colleague and I returned each time due to the care of the owner, the cleanliness, the excellent breakfast. No request was too much trouble. The rooms are very nicely done, very clean and there is attention to detail. If I return to Exeter to stay at any time I will check with Karin, the owner, to see if there is a room free. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Clematis is a fabulous room at woodbine guesthouse. It is at the top, overlooking the park. It was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great welcome; warm and friendly. Everything that one looks for in a small B&B is there plus more beside. Karin pours her heart into her business and it certainly shows. I have had the pleasure of staying at Woodbine three times this year and everything about this lovely guesthouse made my stay in Exeter a very enjoyable and relaxing one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#25 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbine Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbine Guest Accommodation

Property: Woodbine Guest Accommodation
Address: 1 Woodbine Terrace, Exeter EX4 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodbine Guest Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodbine Guest Accommodation is in a lovely central location less than 5 minutes walk from Exeter central train station and 10 minutes easy walk to the Cathedral Green and main shopping area. The Woodbine has recently changed ownership with contemporary decor and offers a relaxed environment with Breakfast Hampers delivered to your room each morning - what better way to start your day ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Woodbine Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbine Guest Accommodation Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing