We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good - thank you”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nobody Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nobody Inn
Ranked #6 of 74 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good - thank you”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We took Dad for dinner on Saturday for his 80th along with Mum and their 85 year old friend. Food was delicious, service excellent - thoroughly enjoyed it. Dad is coeliac so we made them aware when booking and they produced a special menu for him advising him what he could choose safely. Wine list was rather extensive and we enjoyed a cloudy bay pinot noir which was lovely. Mr OH is picky, but was very impressed.

Lovely venue, very olde worlde - super night. We will visit again next time we're down to see mum and dad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    52
    25
    13
    2
See reviews for
48
190
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We needed a place to stay for just one night on our way to farthest Devon, and having lunched here several times before, decided to try the bed and breakfast. What a great decision - everything was fabulous - comfortable, clean, and flawless service at all times. As it was a Sunday evening, only bar meals were available, but these were the best meals of our entire Devon holiday. It's not a slick city-centre chain, or a stuffy pretentious establishment, and all the better for that. We would happily return at any time of the year, and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maisielane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We did an overnight stop enroute. Sat in the bar and had a a beer while studying the huge wine list. We spent the evening eating cheese and drinking wine. Cheese and port platter highly recommended. Staff very friendly and efficient.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bobbles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

You get a great welcome and very attentive service from an exceptionally good team of people here. And if "olde worlde" is your taste, you'll love the place. The rooms are a good size and we had a very comfortable bed with good linen. The drinks are good and the food was excellent....on Tuesday.

We stayed 3 nights in May, arriving on a Sunday. We were disappointed with the food on both Sunday and Monday when it was a "bar meal" menu only. We had booked a "special offer" deal that was very good value but, even at that price, we were not expecting an evening menu with cold beef, cold ham, a ploughmans lunch, a couple of pies and a tough steak with frozen chips and peas. Given the hype on the website about the quality of food, the ingredients and the chef, we were very disappointed. We would happily have paid more there and then to have better, but no restaurant menu was available on Sunday or Monday.

A shame really, because dinner on Tuesday was excellent - clearly the Chef was back on duty. And you can forgive this place quite a lot when you have had excellent service, great value and elephant towels. We would choose to stay there again, but not for a meal on a Sunday or Monday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeperdevon, Owner at The Nobody Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Inn.
I am delighted that the service you received pleased you and extremely disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectation for dinner on the Sunday and Monday evenings. We do not open the restaurant on those evening nor do we offer a restaurant menu but choose instead the offer an extensive bar menu. I agree, when you read cold this, cold that etc., etc., as in your review, it does not inspire confidence. However we had 6 imaginative and delicious starters, 8 main courses from our bar menu which would have indeed included cold Dartmoor free range rare beef and our own cumin and honey coated ham both firm favourites with our customers. Our menu also included on those evenings, our ploughman's with many different elements including scotch quails egg, which appears by popular demand as a traditional supper. Our award winning steak and ale pie with horseradish mash featured as did homity pie , fish pie and NoBody ale battered haddock.
On the Monday evening the above would have been supplemented with an additional steak menu, offering 6 different steaks from local suppliers. Our food is freshly prepared on the premises, and , we hope always meets our customers expectations. I am truly sorry that we failed on these occasions. I am delighted that Tuesdays meal was agreeable. i remember you well and we look forward very much to welcoming you back to The NoBody Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just returned from a weekend's stay at the nobody inn following a friend's wedding in the local area. A group of us had booked three rooms and despite arriving reasonably early on the Friday morning we were given a warm welcome. The rooms were all lovely, each with their own character and the sherry in the room was a great touch. We dined in the restaurant on the Friday evening and thoroughly enjoyed fantastic food and wines in a relaxed atmosphere. Throughout our stay, nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff who were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afw0028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the nobody inn, and it was really a wonderful stay. The food is really good and caters for all palates and pockets. I strongly recommend eating here at least once on your stay - I would happily have ate here every night. The rooms were clean, comfortable and accommodating and felt very welcoming on arrival. The beauty of this b&b though lies in its staff, who were so polite, gave excellent service and went out of their way to help us. My recommendation is bring a paper map. There is no phone signal at all. But if this is my only complaint, then it must be brilliant! Go here, and have an amazing time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had friends over from Canada, and thought, what better true old English pub to take them to to stay for a night and catch up with their lives after 25 years. They were well impressed, comfortable rooms and a great breakfast, and the dinner was excellent, as was the local beer. Many thanks to the great staff and to the owner, and look forward to a re visit very soon.

Room Tip: just book any of the rooms, all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
459 reviews
6.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,514 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,163 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nobody Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nobody Inn

Property: The Nobody Inn
Address: Doddiscombsleigh, Exeter EX6 7PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nobody Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nobody Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nobody Hotel Exeter
The Nobody Inn Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing