We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nobody Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nobody Inn
Ranked #6 of 74 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and good service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked as a party of 5 for a post Christmas family meal. The service and information about the menu was excellent, we all decided to treat ouselves and have the venison - literally the best we have ever had and that was five people! The boys tried the whiskeys which they said were tremendous and the cheese choice is to die for. The service was excellent and they were more than happy to supply more biscuits as the quantity of cheese was too much for the boys to fit onto the first supply!!
All in all a fabulous place to eat and our friends have all booked to stay there soon for the weekend when they come down for a cycling holiday.

Room Tip: Did not stay so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    52
    25
    13
    2
See reviews for
48
190
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just got back from an overnight stay at the Nobody Inn and this place was just superb. From arriving we had a warm welcome - who doesn't love a cheeky g&t next to a roaring fire in January?! right through to check out, it was a brilliant experience.

Six of us ate in the restaurant celebrating a friend's birthday - the food was fantastic and great value. The pigs cheek starter is definitely to be recommended.

Rooms were lovely - well appointed, comfortable, full of personality and the complimentary sherry was very much appreciated.

As others have said, the whiskey choice is staggering and the owner's recommendations on wine (loads available by the glass) were spot on. After a hearty breakfast we set off home - and are already planning our next jaunt to the Nobody Inn - spot on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomBowring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent one night here whilst attending a wedding nearby.

We stayed in the rose room which is very pretty with a four poster bed.

The pub has an incredible selection of whiskies, and Tim was more than happy to advise us on an appropriate night cap despite our very late return.

Breakfast was excellent.

We would not hesitate to recommend this place and would stay again without hesitation!

Room Tip: The rose room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobboElviria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

As we were staying in the area we had been recommended The Nobody Inn for a evening meal - and OMG did it deliver! The Staff were friendly and the guy behind the bar certainly knew his job!! The food was perfect and so was the House Rose wine!! would recommend this place over and over again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Beautiful old pub, great place for Sunday lunch after a long walk in the haldon forest nearby. The most fantastic roast, venison followed by an exquisite ginger pudding. Charming atmosphere, wood fires, dog friendly bar area, real character faultless

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our second visit to The Nobody Inn, and well worth the detour.

As before, a very welcoming cosy atmosphere, with an open fire in the bar. A selection of real ales, and the choice of whisky is mindboggling.
The food is top quality, and local produce.
Service is fast and friendly, and the meals were flavour filled, and slightly different to the norm.
Steaks have to be tried to be believed, but this time I had turkey and ham pie with sweet potato chips. I was not disappointed.
Prices are very reasonable, and in comparison to other pubs, what you get for your money is an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TysonRolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I went there last week as the Manor Inn (next village) is closed on Mondays. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed their excellent beer before ordering. There was not a wide choice for vegetarians on the menu but we were offered any starter as a main dish which is what we did. The tart was tasty and the vegetables well cooked - not over cooked, and the deserts were amazing. I had the cheese board in which you get to choose 6 cheeses from a comprehensive list, all marked with their source, and more important to us, whether they are vegetarian or not! A good glass of wine with the meal made our wedding anniversary meal rather special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sareda35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
459 reviews
6.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,514 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,163 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nobody Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nobody Inn

Property: The Nobody Inn
Address: Doddiscombsleigh, Exeter EX6 7PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nobody Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nobody Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nobody Hotel Exeter
The Nobody Inn Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing