We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very lovely stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queens Court
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very lovely stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I booked our stay with a Travelzoo voucher.
I phoned to make the booking with the Queens court and spoke to Laura, she was fantastically helpful and went out of her way to ensure we could come and stay the night we wanted (as it was our first wedding anniversary).
When we arrived, we were greeted by manager Paul. He was very welcoming and although he was busy with other customers, came and booked us in as soon as he was free.
We paid £10 extra to upgrade our room and we were very happy with it. Large, clean and not too noisy! The bathroom was huge too.
We then went down to have a drink before dinner. Again, served by Paul. We were able to sit outside and enjoy a nice drink before we were seated to our table.
Included with the voucher, was a 6 course taster menu. We were served by Brad and Alfie, who were very attentive and friendly. They were quick to clear our empty plates and offered us a break between courses if we had wished. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, the food was delicious and looked great!
As an extra surprise, they finally brought a plate out with 'Happy Anniversary' written in chocolate with some chocolate dipped strawberries and truffles! What a lovely touch!
We had a wander to one of the nearest pubs after our meal, directed by Paul. He advised us on which bar would be the best and it was very nice.
It was one of the hottest days of the year, so the room was obviously very hot but the windows opened nice and wide so a cool breeze flowed through!
Breakfast was also very nice, the waitress was again, very friendly and helpful.
All in all, we had a fabulous stay and all the lovely staff made our 1st wedding anniversary one to remember!
Thanks all so much ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    260
    92
    22
    13
See reviews for
94
337
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here overnight on a web deal. The hotel is clean with good décor throughout. The staff are very helpful and friendly and we felt relaxed and welcome. We had an evening meal and breakfast which was also part of the restaurant called the Olive Tree. All of it was fantastic good wholesome food. Great location for walks and shopping.

We both could not fault any of our stay or food and we will be returning in August ;)

Thank you from Stone/Jones

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

After reading some of the reviews before we arrived we were a little apprehensive about the room. Actually, a very pleasant surprise. The room was obviously recently refurbished. It was very comfortable and I think every need catered for.

The 6 course 'taster menu' just excellent. Every course most enjoyable.

The decor in the restaurant enchanting. Absolutely fabulous.

Scrambled eggs for breakfast the best I have ever had (couldn't say the same for the bacon which was actually inedible) but if that the only complaint then not really worth mentioning.

When paying our bill the next morning a £10.00 surcharge was added as an upgrade to our room. Bit of a surprise as we were not told about it on checking in but our stay so enjoyable it would have spoiled the whole experience to complain.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We used a travelzoo voucher to stay here. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. The rooms were comfotable and ours had nice views. The hotel is in a great location for walks and shopping in the town centre. In the evening we had a meal in the hotel restaurant which was fenomenal and the next morning we had a full cooked breakfast which was also lovely! Would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Participated in a travelzoo deal with a 6 course tasting menu.
Will give you the brief details.
Positives
1) super location close to the city centre
2) easy parking right outside the hotel
3) nicely decorated restaurant with amazing quality food.
Negatives
1) tired rooms
2) no cot in room for us on arrival (despite confirmation) and then was going to be charged £15 for it (when we got it we didn't get any bedding! )
3) portions for tasting menu main course were poor. We understood it was a tasting menu, but other diners were paying £35 a person and were treated to a much bigger plate
4) no bread with soup (other diners got bread!)
5) felt very rushed, there was only 2-3 minutes between each course and even when we were asked if we wanted a little time before our main it was only 5-6 minutes!
6) breakfast was good quality but tomatoes on toast consisted of half a tomato and four triangles of neatly cut dry toast.

Would visit the restaurant independently but probably would pay a little more for a better quality hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AdamandCarol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Visited for the taster menu and an overnight stay as part of a travelzoo offer. Stayed with friends.

Taster menu was ok. While we saw a menu on arrival the waitress could have told us what each course was. She seemed in a bit of a hurry and we guessed that she wanted to go out for the evening - but the chef was seen leaving at the same time the last course was delivered to our table, so it must have been him in a rush. The size / shape of plates seemed to confuse waitress as the second course couldn't be put on the table because the plate she had left after the first course were in the way, she nearly knocked over a glass - twice. Food OK.

Afterwards we went to the hotel bar down the road for a snack and a drink.

Bedroom didn't quite live up to the 'boutique' label.

Breakfast was good quality. Four of us ordered different cooked items from the menu but none of the plates arrived with the correct selection. Ran out of bacon for one of us - it arrived a little later, barely cooked.

Good location for the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a great stay. The staff was very pleasant, a nice place to sit in the lobby so that our group could gather and breakfast was great. Our room was small but very quaint and comfortable. Good shower and plenty of hot water. We left for our event in the middle of a downpour and they even loaned us an umbrella for the evening!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Court

Property: Queens Court
Address: 6-8 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Court 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Award of excellence for the past 4 years is testament to the care and quality of this family run hotel in the heart of Exeter. The Queens Court Hotel is a beautiful Georgian town house situated on a leafy square in a city, which dates back to the medieval ages. All rooms are well appointed, all with en-suites. Relax in the bar and lounge or sit outside on the terrace. Visit the jewel in the crown of the Queen's Court, The Olive Tree restaurant. Multi-award winning, dine amongst the Venetian masks and enjoy the produce of the West Country. All the food is freshly prepared and cooked for you, drawing influences from Italy and the Mediterranean. The hotel is only a few minutes' walk from the high street, main train stations and very conveniently placed for the University. It is also fortunate to have a public car park on its doorstep that is free overnight and very reasonably priced in the day. Exeter is positioned in the Heart of Devon making it a great location to experience everything the West Country has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Court Hotel Exeter
Queens Court Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing