We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A time warp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The room was comfortable and warm but like the rest of the hotel it is sadly lacking in TLC.Tiles missing in the bathroon ,chipped and craked lino,the paintwork leaves a lot to be desired though out the complete hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_WMarazion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 333 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

This review is more for single travelers as I have no idea about the double rooms. The single was neat, tidy and clean. The included breakfast in the downstairs restaurant was a great start for the day.
As I arrived early in the day the hotel let me leave the luggage in their care and as I left late in the day they held it again for me.
Generally the staff attitude was one of being pleased to help.
Its close location to buses and trains make it an ideal city stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert312663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September 20123. This hotel was perfectly adequate for the price. My single room was clean (if a bit on the small side), the staff were pleasant and friendly and the breakfast was good (although the poached egg I asked for seemed to have been 'poached' in hot oil). As per other reviews, extremely convenient for the station. Also highly convenient for the kebab van opposite which is open until 4am on Fridays and Saturdays.
Exactly what I'd expected for the price, if anything, I was pleasantly surprised after reading the other reviews.

Would definitely stay again if I needed a budget option in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannah222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you planning to tour Devon by train with Exeter as base, then this is a great place to stay- it is just outside the railway station (less than 50 metres); the room that I was in was en-suite; good English breakfast, basic but pleasant service and the pub is right inside the hotel! Good value for money! Exeter Centre is also just 12 minutes walk for dining out!

Room Tip: Ask for an suite room on second floor - they are quieter with no noise from the pub; although one ma...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corfumumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fortunately I hadn't read the reviews before my daughter and I stayed at the Great Western whilst daughter number 2 was moving into Exeter uni. Despite the whinging reviews... which I read afterwards... my daughter and I enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and tidy and remarkably peaceful considering the location. Despite the fact that the hotel was fully booked the receptionist was friendly and helpful. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and the food was simple but well prepared and presented and the staff prompt and attentive. The inclusive breakfast was good value and again the staff were prompt and helpful. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world for work and pleasure and whilst this is no Waldorf Astoria it was comfortable, convenient and good value and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again for uni visits.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulB580430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

One of the most depressing hotels I've ever been in. Thank god it was only for one night.
There was a huge hole in the wall and in the floor, hardly any light in the bathroom and everything else was broken. And it wasn't even that cheap; I paid 72,- euro....
The beds were horrible, I felt like i was sliding out of them.
There are so much better places for this budget, so avoid the 'Great Western Hotel'......

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemieke m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is an old Victorian Railway Hotel that appears to be trapped in a 1950s timewarp.
It is good value and is very conveniently located so if you need a cheap hotel by Exeter St David's station this will do the job, but.....
Neither the exterior or the interior look like they have seen a lick of paint for about 50 years, the carpet is threadbare and the rooms, which are of a decent size, incredibly dated. As a consequence it looks really shabby and uninviting. Given its state the staff do a remarkable job to keep it so clean.
Internally there is no lift and the lay out is something of a warren. In the rooms there are tea and coffee making facilities but the water pressure for the shower is dreadful.
The staff, and by this I mean the one person who seemed to be doing everything, are fine but there only seems to be one person ever available - even in the bar in the evening. Interesting that the clients in both the bar and hotel seemed to be exclusively male with the only women in the building being the staff.
With some attention this could reclaim past glories but without some remedial work it will be left to what seems to be its terminal decline.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnonLondon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#12 of 31 in Exeter
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park View
Park View
#26 of 31 in Exeter
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,735 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Approach St. St. Davids, Exeter EX4 4NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: $89 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Western Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Exeter
Great Western Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing