We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Western Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$75
$63
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$66
$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$134
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$89
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$71
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Queens Court(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$71
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$90
$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
16
45
79
72
150
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
45
79
72
150
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 362 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The original station hotel, I think. Not as grandiose as in its former years but very nicely located and with cheerful helpful staff. Most rooms overlook the station or trains and there is both a restaurant and very nice bar serving good hot food. A very nice stay!

Room Tip: Ask for one looking out on the station or trains
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel might be convenient to St. David's Train Station, but that won't make it a good experience. There are other hotels close by. The building is old, dirty and limited in services. There is no lift for heavy suitcases. The bathroom is tiny and filled with mold. There are no available outlets for electric devices unless you unplug the television or other basics. The hotel has no private parking, but it does have a table and bench outside the front door where drinkers party after the pubs have closed. If I hadn't pre-paid, I would not have stayed there.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I chose this hotel because it was cheapish but reviews said the staff were very friendly. The hotel was generally run down, the bed was clean but VERY firm and there was mould marks in
the bathroom. The only staff we encountered who were friendly was one of the foreign girls who served breakfast but the breakfast was very good - well cooked and tasty.

Room Tip: The twin room we booked was more spacious and brighter than the double.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

First time in two star hotel, booked for three nights paid for three nights as payment was expected up front, only stayed two should have known there might be a problem.The outside of the hotel is very tired with rotten window frames , poor paint work and no parking. The room had very tired paint work with the basin located in the bedroom,the paint on the cieling was peeling, curtains were hanging off the wall and had to be held together with a side table at night these were reported immediately but nothing was done, the bathroom had black mould on walls and was in a poor state of cleanliness. The furniture was in a very tired state as was the mattress and the hair dryer was inoperative all in all the the surroundings of the room created a great deal stress. Had i not been asked to pay up front we would have not stayed and in hindsight should have left anyway.All in all not a good experiance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GREG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Maybe its just me, but when I stay at a hotel I expect the room to be of a reasonable standard. Unfortunatly in this case it just didn't meet that criteria. The window cill has a lot of rot in it, there was a hole in the wall behind the TV, the wash hand basin was in the actual room whilst the WC was in a seperate cubicle. The shower was not the cleanest i've ever been in. decor was tired. Fortunatly it was only a one night stay. Breakfast was good as was service, but wont be staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve_craddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews