We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bashers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
EXETER
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bashers”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Got to be the best pub/hotel in Exeter
Great to go down and meet your mates and the owner Mo has been like a father to me and is always avaliable as a shoulder to cry on.
the food is pretty basic and yes i agree it could do with a tidy up,but if you did that it would look out of place as St Davids station is also a bit run down like the Great Western.
i would recomend the Western despite its few faults.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GARY-PIKE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    67
    65
    123
See reviews for
38
64
76
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
cannes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Cheap and great. Breakfast is good and the staff is very kind. The room is generally clean and the location is useful if you need to take a train or visit the city centre. Very quiet.
Only problem is the lack of internet signal in the rooms, so you have to go to the bar to go online. Besides this, no real problem regarding the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kandia98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

speaking honestly i really enjoyed my stay
the food was ok my room was clean
and the bar was full of train spotters
who were nuts but very friendly one of them Steve
even took me down to
Plymouth to watch the speedway
yes i would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrTabb n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Great Western feels a little bit like time has passed it by, and it's none the worse for that.

Old world hospitality is provided both in the Hotel and the excellent CAMRA (Campaign for Real Ale) recognized pub bar on the ground floor.

It appears slightly frayed around the edges, but its clean, warm and friendly.

All 35 rooms are en suite with Sky TV and are of a high standard

The food in the 'Brunels' Restaurant is also excellent with an extensive a la carte menu with good vegetarian options .

One hopes that while they will continue to improve the facilities, no attempt will be made to change the nature or charm of this old established watering hole close to St Davids main line railway station, the University and only a ten minute walk from the City centre.

It's not the Hilton I know, but you will most probably really enjoy staying here. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennettonbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

enjoyed the quaintness of this large hotel which must have been busy years ago when more people used trains its very oldy worldy inside but very cosy and homely .yes the hotel has some issues with its decor and datedness but was clean comfortable quiet during the night very good value .it was nice to have a deep long bath too .if you like new and every room the same this wont be for you .

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter but when your tierd it dosent matter as beds are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

stayed there last night and what a s@#t hole dont get me wrong i dont expect gold plated taps and axminster carpet for £40 a night but i do expect a clean ,damp and mold free room with out holes everywhere this place need some serious attention there is a train station just across the road as you will find out due to the shabby old single glazed window you are better off staying in there oh and if you do stay at the great western dont forget to pay an extra £8 to park out the front never again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank ryan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Exeter hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel needs some serious refurbishment and up dating. It is a very old fashioned and shabby railway hotel. Do not stay in room 22 at the front of the hotel as there is no double glazing and it is right on the main road with cars and lorries going by constantly. However the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We only saw one member of staff who was extremely friendly and helpful (and busy). She was on reception when we arrived, was working behind the bar later in the evening and was serving our breakfast the next morning. The best bit about it was it's location next to St David's train station from where they were running a free shuttle to Exeter Uni open day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pipsandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Park View
Park View
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Approach St. St. Davids, Exeter EX4 4NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Western Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Exeter
Great Western Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing