We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Laramie, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently spent 2+ months at the Room-B West St Mews Apartments in Exeter during a business trip. I had a very comfortable stay--the apartment was 2 bedrooms and it allowed me to have visitors during my stay (my daughter visited for a week in the middle and my wife came at the end of my stay). The rooms were clean and comfortable. There were a few small issues when I moved in but (the balcony door would not open), but Dawn and her team fixed it immediately.
The location of the apartments is very nice, near the Quay and city center, everything you need is within walking distance. I would highly recommend these accommodations for anyone looking for an extended stay in Exeter!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJJFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room-B S, Manager at SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear JJJJFrench,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Room-B during your time in Exeter. These apartments are ideal for corporate guests such as yourself as they provide all you could need whilst away from home. They offer companies a perfect accommodation solution, as the nightly rate includes all the facilities and equipment in the apartment, along with free Wi-Fi internet and all the utilities bills. All the linen and towels are provided and for stays over 7 nights we provide a weekly housekeeping service to take away the added stress of chores and add a hint of luxury.

We are so glad your family members were able to join you during your stay, and are always happy to accommodate any additional guests. We hope you were able to find some free time to explore all the City's hot spots, as nothing is too far from this location.

We are sorry to hear you experienced a few issues during your stay, as we will always do our best to resolve any problems as soon as possible with minimal disturbance. We are happy to hear your issues were seen to and did not affect your stay with us.

Thank you for your recommendation, and we hope if you are ever in need of accommodation again, for business or leisure, you will get in touch with us.

All the best,
The Room-B Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
6
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at West Street Mews Apartments and I would thoroughly recommend them to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Exeter.

The apartment itself was absolutely lovely with everything we needed - fully equipped kitchen, Sky TV, DVD player, very comfortable bed and a good size bathroom with shower. It was spotlessly clean and they provided plenty of towels as well as a few toiletries. I like the fact that the bedroom was upstairs from the lounge and kitchen, and my favourite thing in the whole apartment was the fabulous huge round swivel chair - I so want one! They are very secure too as not only are the front doors to each apartment locked, but the main door to the apartment complex is also locked and only accessible to guests staying there.

West Street Mews Apartments are ideally located for anyone staying in central Exeter. They are a 5 minute walk from the Quay and also just a few minutes walk from the city centre and all the shops. You really could not get any more central if you tried. Free parking is available overnight directly outside the apartments, and then during the day there are plenty of car parks nearby if you are not going out for the day.

The service from Room B was outstanding and booking was very easy. I received my confirmation email within minutes of booking with full details and was met promptly at the apartment when we checked in at an agreed time.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again and would certainly suggest to anyone looking for central Exeter accommodation to consider booking these apartments which are very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room-B S, Manager at SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Collen N,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear this was your second stay with Room-B.

We are continuously looking to improve as a company, as do all businesses, however we also hold a strong focus on maintaining our high standards for each booking in every apartment. We ensure guests are always equipped with homely comforts with an added touch of luxury. We have several apartments that are split across two floors, which adds a sense of extra space ideal for families or groups staying.

We know that guests like to feel safe and secure whilst away from home, and these apartments operate secure locking systems to do just that. We also meet our guests upon arrival to give full instructions on how to gain access to the building and apartments. This ensures if there are any questions, we are there to help in any way with can.

The location is ideal for guests looking for an easy commute to surrounding areas, or a short walk to the infamous Cathedral or Quay. We are pleased you found the parking suitable. Parking is different in the City Centre, however, our team is always on hand to recommend near-by car parks and any other suggest parking options.

We are pleased you were happy with our services, and so glad you came back for a second stay. We hope there will be more trips to Exeter in the future, and of course, we will be happy to help with any future accommodation.

All the best,
The Room-B Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment in the mews, spread over 3 floors. Quite 'compact' for 4 people (e.g. only two chairs at the table) but perfect for a couple and a baby. Staff that booked and checked us in couldn't have been more helpful, and tried their best to accommodate our needs. Could have done with a dishwasher, but kitchen well stocked otherwise. Washing machine included. Parking is free outside overnight, then only about £6 in the carpark about 5 mins walk away. Well located between town and the quay for eating out. Only slight niggle was that they probably need to get a maintainance man in - just a few little things around the house that are a bit tired, not really affecting our stay, but need fixing, like shelves falling off, kitchen doors hanging wonky, bathroom light not working etc etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo6073569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room-B S, Manager at SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Jo6073569,

Thank you for taking the time to leave Room-B some feedback regarding you and your family's stay.

Our 2 bedroom terrace houses are spread across 3 floors in the courtyard area of West Street Mews, and are great families and groups alike. For a group of 4, we would ideally place guests in the slightly bigger terrace houses with a 4 person dining set, but as you say, the terrace house you were in was offered as it is a little smaller and as you say, ideal for a couple with a small child. The terrace houses also have entry from the ground floor of the property, which is why our team will have placed your family in this apartment once they knew you had a baby and therefore would be bringing a pram. By finding out as much as we can about guests needs and requirements, we can tailor the service we provide to go above and beyond the requirements of our guests.

We are glad to hear you found everything you needed in the kitchen area, including the washing facilities. We had hoped to fit dishwashers in the apartments, but due to the lack to extra space with the built in cupboards and counter-tops, we were unable to. However, guests will find washing up liquid and a cleaning cloth for washing up.

The location of the apartments is great for those hoping to explore the area. We are glad you found the Cathedral and Quay car park useful, and were able to explore the Quay.

We have taken on board the comments you left regarding maintenance. We have investigated this and were sorry to find these problems in the apartment. Thank you for bringing them to our attention, as we were able to schedule the Maintenance Team to fit new shelving and a shaving light in the bathroom, along with tightening the kitchen cupboard doors.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with Room-B and we do hope we will see you again in the near future.

Best wishes,
All The Room-B Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsukuba, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location and the fascility was very good but only one bed was made. I booked the apartment which has two bedrooms for my son and myself. We called the office and were told that someone will come and bring sheets and pillow cases but they never came. We stayed there for 8 nights and after 6 nights someone came to clean the apartment but he/she did not make the bed even though it looked it was slept on.
The instrusctions for cooker and washing machine were prvided but they were not for the models which were in the apartment. So I had a hard time using them and wasted time which was frustrating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yukusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room-B S, Manager at SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear yukusu,

I am sorry to hear you are not fully satisfied with the service provided by the Room-B. We have a system in place in which all requests from our in-house guests get pasted directly onto our Operations Team who arrange the services such as our Housekeeping accordingly.

Unfortunately it appears your request was regrettably missed, and we apologise greatly for this mistake. We want our guests to be looked after during the entire period of their stay and actively encourage our guests to inform us if they feel displeased with anything regarding the apartments or our services.

The Housekeeping Team will only follow the instructions provided by us and as we missed off the information to make up the second bedroom, they will not have done it. We are actively now investigating how this happened to ensure this will not happen again, and making sure all our systems are updated continuously to prevent further mistakes.

We have taken on board your comments regrading the instructions to using the facilities, and have now created a new Welcome Booklet with all the information up to date and relevant to the appliances.

We apologise again for the inconvenience you were caused, and we hope you will give Room-B a second chance should you return to Exeter in the near future.

Best wishes,
All the Room-B Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed in Exeter (West Street Mews) for 2 months and would highly recommend the apartment for comfort and extra facilities such as Sky Sports and broadband. The kitchen was adequately kitted out with a washer/Dryer and cooker/hob, good sized fridge freezer and microwave. Everything you need to be self-sufficient. The bedrooms are large and airy with good storage space. Large bathroom with shower (no bath) - although it would be useful for some shelving in the bathroom for toiletries etc. Comfortable living area which, although small with a sofa and a chair, was perfectly adequate for me on my own. The Room-B staff are all very professional and helpful. All queries about the apartment and payments were dealt with quickly and efficiently - I can't praise them enough. The location of the apartment is excellent and it is a short walk to the main shops in the city centre and the Quay is only across the road. Overal and excellent alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypandy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room-B S, Manager at SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear andypandy2003,

It is lovely to hear such a positive review from a guest that has stayed for a longer period in the apartments.

I am glad to hear the apartment provided all the home comforts whilst away from home. Thank you for bringing the lack of shelving in the bathroom to our attention. Although there is a shelf directly under the mirror, it would be beneficial for guests to have another shelf which could act as storage space.

Room-B works hard to ensure all the departments within the company are well integrated to ensure any queries or problems can be answered as quickly and efficiently as possible. On the occasion we can not provide an immediate answer or solution, we will always provide a time frame for a response and endeavor to be prompt in returning a call or email with a reply.

We are very luckily with the location of the apartments, as everything is within walking distance. The Quay provides plenty of restaurants and boutique shops, whilst the Cathedral is only a mere 5 minutes walk in the centre of the busy City.

We are so happy you see this as an excellent alternative to a hotel, and we hope to see you again in Exeter in the future.

All the best,

All The Room-B Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I'd highly recommend these apartments for being central, large, very clean and well equipped. The booking office was very efficient and made sure we had the best apartment for our needs. Within easy walking distance of the Quay and city centre. The street door and apartment door were both coded entry rather than keys, a great idea.

Parking - the Cathedral and Quay multistorey is 3 minutes walk. We stayed Friday to Sunday, paid £6.20 for 24 hours from Friday evening, then moved the car 6pm Saturday to the parking right outside the apartments, which is free 6pm Saturday until 11am Sundays.

The entrance is a grey door next to Little Nippers on Google Street view - not easy to spot on arrival.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalFoodieLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room-B S, Manager at SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear LocalFoodieLover,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great to hear you would recommend us and the apartments met your requirements during your time in Exeter.

We pride ourselves on getting to know our guest during the booking process to ensure we are offering the best apartment to meet their needs. Where we can, we will offer specific apartments that offer a key feature such as entry from the ground floor or twin beds in one of the bedrooms (if possible).

Several of our apartments offer the new key-coded entry system. We have found this gives more flexible to guests as there is no worrying about a key, and the team are always at the end of the phone if the code is forgotten. This also adds the benefit for flexible arrival times and gives repeat guests the option to skip the meet and greet service we usually provide should they so wish.

Unfortunately, the parking outside the apartments is not free during the day and has a 1 hour max limit, but the Cathedral and Quay car park is a great option for those needing 24 hour parking at a much lower price in comparison to the other central car parks. For guests that are working during the day or out, the free parking outside in the evening is ideal.

We have taken note the front door is a little hard to spot as is can be overlooked being between Little Nippers and the Recruitment Office. We are hoping to get this resolved by repainting the entrance to stand out more, and ensure our team are always available to give guests directions over the phone.

Again, thank you so much for your wonderful, and we hope we are able to assist you with future accommodation.

Best wishes,

All At The Room-B Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My colleague and I were in Exeter for two weeks and wanted the comfort of a lounge to relax in at the end of the day, and a kitchen to prepare breakfast and dinner. Our apartment at West St Mews was extremely comfortable. The apartment had two bedrooms downstairs and lounge and kitchen upstairs where it was warmer.
The service was terrific -- it was so nice after a long flight from Australia to be met at the train station and delivered to our apartment where a supply of milk, juice, bread, bikkies, and even a bottle of wine, was waiting for us. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Room-B S, Manager at SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Beth E,

Thank you for your kind words and great review. We are so pleased to hear we were able to provide such suitable accommodation for you and your colleague.

Room-B is continuously trying to develop our tailored service, and we are happy to provide a transport service for guests arriving to Exeter via train. Room-B appreciates after a long flight and journey, guests want to arrive at their apartment and have a small supply of provisions when they arrive to help them settle in.

Room-B would be delighted to have you return, and we do hope we can assist you in the future with further accommodation.

Best wishes,

All The Room-B Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews

Property: SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews
Address: West Street Mews, Exeter EX1 1BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Street Mews serviced apartments in central Exeter are a fantastic selection of one and two bedroom self-contained accommodations situated just five minutes walk to the historic Exeter Cathedral, and two minutes walk to the beautiful quayside. Built around a central courtyard and against the ancient Roman city wall, West Street Mews provides guests a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, yet all the conveniences and amenities that Exeter has to offer within a short stroll. SITU are proud to be able to offer these apartments as the only self-contained serviced apartment building in Exeter - an ideal choice for companies booking on behalf of staff, or individual business travellers looking for a home away from home, while visiting Devon. Each apartment is tastefully furnished, including a fully fitted and equipped kitchen with everything guests could require to prepare a meal, comfortable lounges with flat screen SKY TV, and wired internet connection (WiFi also available throughout the apartments). The bedrooms also offer flat screen TV's and a choice of double, king and twin beds, to suit individual guests needs. Supporting this unique accommodation is the service that SITU provides. The housekeeping team attend the property on a weekly basis (for guests staying over 7 nights), providing a light clean, along with changing bed linen and towels. A property manager is also on hand 24 hours per day to attend to any queries guests may have during their stay. Truly a hidden gem, West Street Mews is a fantastic alternative to anyone looking for an alternative to the traditional hotel in Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SITU - Serviced Apartments West Street Mews Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing