We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Toasted Tea Cakes”
Review of The Welcome Cafe

The Welcome Cafe
Ranked #31 of 531 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Welcome Cafe is a family run independent business serving locally sourced and home cooked food, with Vegan, Vegetarian and Gluten free options available. A modern cafe selling Art Work. With Fat Roc Coffee and Teas Me loose leaf tea. We are open 6 days a week Tuesday through to Sunday and only closed on a Monday, except for bank holiday's when we will be open. We have been struggling to change the opening times through trip advisor so hopefully this confirmation of our hours will help.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Toasted Tea Cakes”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have a holiday flat nearby and always rush to the Welcome for the toasted tea cakes with lovely home made apple and ginger jam as soon as we arrive. There's always a little garnish of melon, strawberry, or similar. Lovely! The hot tuna ramekin with toast is a nice lunch option too. Beware not open Sunday or Monday, though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GWilson404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    20
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Handy stop before canalside walk.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Enjoyed a nice latte coffee and cake (mine was gluten free) before walking down the canal path to Topsham.
Very pleasant sat in the sunshine in the courtyard garden, I think we will call again, we enjoyed the whole day out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A baby-friendly cake haven”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited late morning after a buggy walk.

The staff were super friendly in getting us high chairs. The cakes were amazing & the food menu also looked superb.

Brilliantly thoughtful baby changing facility in the loos!

We will be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JennieE108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Welcome Cafe!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited on Saturday after our son had raved about the quality of the cakes. Cakes will have to be next time.... We both had quiche and salad and coffee. The quiche was fantastic - wonderfully cooked with a creamy soft bake filling. yummmm. I loved the salad - though not much of it. My husband thought it a bit too loaded with fruit.
Coffee excellent.
Great atmosphere - lacked a Guardian newspaper ....
Lovely location at the end of the quay.

Fab.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An outstanding little cafe - highly recommended”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lovely light bites and cakes. We had excellent bacon half-baguettes, one with an optional beautifully cooked poached egg, and these came with not just lettuce & home made coleslaw, but also a bit of honeydew melon, a bit of water melon, a raspberry, a strawberry, and some delicious date and carrot chutney-type stuff. Absolutely excellent. Nice atmosphere, friendly service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Welcome Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Welcome Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing