We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Visited recently with a friend for a spa day. From the moment we arrived we were shown exactly where to go by friendly staff. The pool and spa facilities are all incredible, especially the inside pool area heated by the wood burning stove, have never been anywhere quite like it before. We ended the day with afternoon tea in another beautiful, modern room. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfanatic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    339
    184
    93
    50
See reviews for
177
580
43
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have 2 dogs and stayed a lot of so called dog friendly hotels in last 10 years but The Magdalen Chapter is the best, we can not praise enough for their good service, good food and hospitality.
Even their room service food was delicious.( we did not want to leave our dogs alone in our room) We were ready to eat our breakfast outside but they have set a table specially for us in the corner of the lounge.
And we enjoyed fabulous breakfast. Will definitely go back there. Also very good value as they did not charge any extra for our dogs .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel ticks every single box. A period redbrick conversion with contemporary and mid century design and stunning artwork. Super friendly and competent reception staff with a "nothing too much trouble" attitude. Delicious food and drink served by excellent, friendly bar staff and waiters. Beautiful, modern rooms with feature wallpaper walls, wooden floors and fabulous bathrooms with REN products. Free mini bar!! Free parking if you're lucky with pay and display car park a couple of steps away if not. Stunning heated outdoor pool, great even in cold weather. REN spa with super friendly and expert therapists. Very dog friendly, staff went out of the way to reserve us a table in the dog friendly library area. Lovely park just outside the hotel grounds to walk dogs and a bit of green space inside the hotel too! The only minus was that the room was small despite not even booking the cheapest available room category.....and also that I only stayed one night. Can I move in?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Not much to say other than great refurbishment of a stunning building.
Super steak in the restaurant
Very pleasant staff
Fun, quirky, stylish rooms
Reasonable price
Overall really impressed and will definitely use when in Exeter
- Only issue bit short of parking

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmaronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

A great hotel, very stylish and smart, yet comfortable and informal. The staff throughout were very friendly and welcoming, and I really appreciated their smart casual appearance rather than starchy uniform as it empowered them to be casual yet professional. The complementary use of an iPad and a Nespresso machine in the immaculate room were very welcome extras included. A great room with stylish yet highly functional fittings and a very comfortable bed - so a great nights sleep. Having stayed in 15 hotels this year so far the Magdalen Chapter is by far and away the very best, but not the most expensive. Breakfast was a very fresh variety of items and cooked to perfection to order. I wish i could have stayed longer to utilise more of the facilities as the bar had a great offering, the dinner menu was very tempting as was the pool.
A great hotel - thanks.

Room Tip: The feature rooms are a more interesting layout and offer, mine was a former surgery with great high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

After reading the widely differing range of responses to the hotel ,we arrived there with some trepidation.Ours was a two day midweek break in a a standard room ....the hotel seemed fairly quiet in terms of the number of guests. This may well account for the level of service offered us ....we received a warm welcome ....all staff were pleasant and responded promptly to our requests..... we didn't take long to work out who the staff were by their footwear!
Our room[not over large] was spotless but quirky with an original hospital fireplace which had seen better days taking its place alongside the other more minimal furnishings.The bed was very comfy and we really liked the choice of lighting options....particularly the reading lights and the glowlight in the bathroom that showed through the frosted panel and helped you locate the toilet without disturbing ones partner in the middle of the night.The bathroom was a decent size with the bath being large enough to immerse my whole body!! Two shower options were available. The soaps and creams were luxurious.
The complementary drinks were appreciated as was the choice of coffee making equipment.
Breakfast was very tasty with a nice range of food on offer....it was very gratifying to be able to watch Chef from our table as he prepared individual orders with such care.Bar staff cheerfully delivered our drinks to our fireside table in the lobby. We were lucky to occupy one of the limited parking spaces on offer for most of our stay.The pay by phone option for the nearby Pay and Display Car Park meant we didn't have to keep going there to top up when our time ran out. We do feel that the hotel should broker an arrangement with this car park for its guests.Not all guests would feel comfortable at being offered an i-pad on which to explore the hotel's amenities.The ease of access to the city centre was a big plus.We can only speak as we find and came away having had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here as we were in Exeter for our daughter's 21st birthday, beautifully restored old eye hospital. Beautifully decorated and we got a free upgrade to a superior room which was a bonus. The rooms are great, very comfortable and uncluttered. Modern but with a good coffee machine, kettle etc. they give you an iPad to use whilst there.
The location is very central so easy to get everywhere.
We ate in the restaurant which was really good. Very modern, enough choice but all seemingly freshly cooked. We really enjoyed our meal ad the service was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Property: Hotel du Vin Exeter
Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing