We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar staff ignored us completely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bar staff ignored us completely”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We popped in here last Saturday for cocktails and an opportunity to have a look at the refurbushment of this hotel. Looks really interesting and busy but we were vey disappointed in the staff behind the bar. We waited for 15 minutes and four members of staff completely ignored us, they didn't make eye contact or acknowedle our presence at all.

I hope the geusts have a bette time of it but I for one won't be going back. It doesn't take allot just to acknowledge and maybe say you'll be with us in a moment or even if you take a seat we'll come over. I was under the impression this was at the uppe end of the star register?

We left without being served at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdalenChpt, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am very sorry that you experienced such poor customer service at the Hotel recently. I would love to speak to you personally about your experience and therefore would be very pleased if you would get in touch with me at the Hotel on 01392 281000. Rest assured I have taken this very seriously and we are already putting steps in place to reslove these issues. Thank you. Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    331
    171
    89
    42
See reviews for
167
555
41
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had previously visited this hotel for dinner with friends in September and wrote a review about the disappointing restaurant service. I returned here for a spa day with three others and had a very different experience. We were looked after very well throughout our day. The spa treatments were excellent and the swimming pool was just wonderful. It did not feel like we were in the middle of the city but simply in a very peaceful garden. The set menu lunch was delicious and all the staff were extremely helpful. I look forward to returning with more family and friends. Thank you for a very special day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonFarmingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdalenChpt, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased that you feel things have improved since your last visit. We don't always get it right and are working very hard to ensure we offer great guest experience consistently. KInd regards, Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lbristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Visited on a Saturday lunch time, expecting the set menu that was advertised online. Instead presented with a menu that was £5 more than stated as it was "Exeter food festival". The waitresses that eventually served us were sadly lacking in the skills of waitressing, to the point of being abrupt and dare I say it "snobby". The idea of ordering wine with an ipad is not to my taste, with poor eye sight and a technophobe to boot. Also, I personally think the staff would look better with a uniform (maybe smart black trousers/skirt), the existing sweatshirt, baggy trousers and trainers looks sloppy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsummer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdalenChpt, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am sorry that you had a bad experience with us recently in The Restaurant. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to speak to you personally about your experience and to this end would be pleased if you could call me at the Hotel on 01392 281000. Please rest assured we are addressing the issues you raised. Thank you. Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

In the past, I've found that the term "boutique", when applied to hotels, means that the rooms are very, very small. This was no exception! The closet was bizarre: inside, it was spacious, but to hang up clothes one had to enter the VERY narrow door, which was tucked in the walk by the foot of the bed, with a crab-like sideways movement. However, and on a positive note, the bed was comfortable, with nice linens, and the staff were pleasant and eager to please. The croissants at breakfast were delicious, though at £7.50 for breakfast one would certainly expect them to be! Generally, a positive experience.

Room Tip: I certainly wouldn't recommend room 214!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdalenChpt, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased in the main you enjoyed the hotel. We do have other room categories that I am sure you would find more spacious for future stays. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Perfect hotel for visiting Exeter. Lovely staff and everything you need. We had been sampling food and wine all day at the Exeter Food festival so just shared a pizza in the hotel bar in the evening. It was delicious. The bar and lounge areas are very comfortable and relaxing. Room are quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdalenChpt, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and indeed the food festival. The festival has become a great event that we look forward to every year. We hope to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We did not stay but had booked dinner. This place looked beautiful and stylish and I was really looking forward to the meal. The food itself was excellent but the whole experience marred by poor restaurant service.
We made 3 attempts to order wine to accompany the meal, including one of the requests being directed to someone who appeared to be the nearest person to a Maitre d', Eventually, after one wrong order, it arrived- when I had nearly finished.
No apology.
After desert we were asked if we wanted anything else which we did not but were comfortable and still chatting. One would have expected the staff to wait for us to ask for the bill, but rather faster than the serving of the wine, the bill was promptly and unceremoniously plonked down on the table without even an attempt at any point to ask if everything was ok.
On looking at the bill, we had been charged for drinks we had not had, but although this was adjusted when we very politely pointed it out, not one word of apology or expression of any concern.
If I had invested in this beautiful place with so much that is right about it, I would be horrified.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoniaQuijote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdalenChpt, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am very sorry that you experienced poor service in The Restaurant. We are working hard to resolve these service issues and please rest assured it is work in progress. I am pleased you enjoyed the food and I do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for my 41st birthday. It didn't disappoint; upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly and welcoming staff, and given a iPad so we could find out more about the hotel and what it had to offer. We had a feature room which was beautifully presented and spacious. We took a dip in the pool, a very nice feature, and had a cocktail before dinner. It was a Friday night and busy in both the bar and restaurant, it all had a nice buzz and feel to it. Dinner was good, my wife and I felt the menu had too fish-based dishes but that's simply down to our taste, and we enjoyed the food. We walked into the centre of Exeter for a few drinks (the Cosy Club is not far at all and that also had a lovely atmosphere). The hotel is well situated for both the centre and the quay.

We slept very well despite being in a room near the road, the bed was lovely. The restaurant is a lovely space when the sun is shining, although the full English disappointed a bit (I would have preferred better sausage and bacon).

Throughout the stay the staff's demeanour was excellent, the presentation of this hotel is done very well, and overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morlo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Property: Hotel du Vin Exeter
Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing