We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here on the sunday night dine and stay deal, which by the way is fantastic value.
Room smallish but really well thought out and the complimentary i pad on check in is a lovely touch.
Ate in the restaurant and all 4 meals were spot on, all the staff young and all seem to buy into the hotels cool and funky vibe.
Stayed in loads of spa hotels all over the place and this really is one of the best deals we've come across.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdalenChpt, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thanjk you very much for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forwrad to welcoming you back very soon.
Warm regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I choose this hotel when we came on a shopping trip to Exeter. We were delighted with our choice. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room we stayed in was gorgeous (a feature room) and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. All in all we had a perfect stay, thank you very much!! We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdalenChpt, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope the shopping went well! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Best wishes
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We selected this place mainly because they have a dog friendly policy. We were really impressed. It's a wonderfully stylish conversion of an old eye hospital, with some really appealing touches - log fires and lots of 'cosy' alcoves. Staff are friendly and welcoming of both dogs and humans. Food is very good and although we were not allowed to visit the restaurant with our dogs ( fair enough) we were able to order of the restaurant menu while sitting in the lounge. Only criticism is a lack of wardrobe/ storage space in the room. Otherwise excellent. Didn't get to visit spa or pool, but looks good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdalenChpt, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your review we are delighted enjoyed your stay. Always nice to bring the dog away! Hope to welcome you back again soon and next time you will have to visit the pool and the spa!
Best wishes
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My Friend and I visited last Sunday the 17th March, meeting in the middle between our two homes in the South West. Such a lovely building with stylish, sophistication of a hotel in London. We had booked Sunday Lunch followed by a Spa Treatment. On entry to the hotel we entered the "Concierge" area with anticipation (no such fixed reception desk, but a cool pod like area with laptops and back office) the reception staff asked if they could help and we explained our afternoon plans for lunch and spa and we were shown to the restaurant, without being shown around, without explaining where to go for the Spa and Swimming Pool area, without asking if they could take our day bags, i felt that it was up to us to make our own way around and guess where to go. However, the restaurant staff were more then helpful, polite, attentive in a lovely, modern atmosphere with lovely local food and large selection of wines that you could choose from the menu on the iPad. Lunch was really nice and very good value for money, 2 courses for £15. We waited for our lunch to digest and we then proceeded to ask the restaurant staff where we would find the spa and swimming area. We made our way a short way across the lawn and were met by the most friendly and helpful spa staff who showed us to the Indoor/Outdoor swimming pool that combines Sauna and Jacuzzi. Brilliant! We relaxed, soaked and sat chatting and gossiping quietly in the outdoor heated pool whilst the sun beamed down on us (The only down side was the kids being kids, which kind of ruined the relaxation factor)! Super modern and swedish style. Housekeeping Ladies were very friendly and smiley, just giving a great atmosphere. The piece de resistance...The Massage, 30 minute back massage, THE best massage i have ever had! Sarah the masseuse was friendly, made us feel relaxed and you could tell she was genuinely a lovely lady. I would definitely recommend this hotel to young professionals with busy lifestyles that need a relaxing day to unwind... I cant wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmkc1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdalenChpt, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. Sorry you did not get shown where the spa and the pool were located. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great massage!
Warm regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you want to do a weekend spa break don't bother going here. Despite beautiful photos on their website the indoor pool is minuscule. Given the poor weather the outside pool is useless. The entrance for the inside pool can only take about 4 people. So badly designed. We had to go and wait in the bar area until the current users of the pool left. And no where to sit. So a useless stay if you want a spa break. Bar area etc very nice but as for the accommodation as a single room occupant I may as well have been in Harry potters under the stairs bedroom. And the wardrobe is absolute comedy. U had to walk in it to hang anything which would have been fine if the door was wide enough to get your shoulders through. So if you have claustrophobia forget it. And it took 2 weeks to advance book spa treatments. Spa only takes bookings by phone which would be fine if a) someone answered the phone and/or b) they returned your call so needless to say when we finally spoke to someone they had no spa vacancies. Staff were nice. Can't fault them on that but bearing in mind I have stayed all over the world it was the most disappointing for it class.

Room Tip: If you are a single occupant get a room for 2 anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nkivo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdalenChpt, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

I am very sorry and dissapointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us recently. I would really ppreciate the opportunity to talk to your personally about your experience with us and try to make amends in some way. My direct line is 01392 288163 and I would love to speak to you?
Warm regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Three of us had an evening meal, preceded by drinks. Beautifully and tastefully renovated regency building. Friendly and attentive staff, excellent food and exciting menu. We had chicken, fish medley and seabream. All very well prepared and cooked. Cheeseboard was a bit bit dull and disappointing. Excellent selection of wines in different price ranges. Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank ComptonScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagdalenChpt, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your meal experience with us. Sorry you found the cheeseboard dissapointing. We look forward to welcoming you back agian soon.
Warm regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for 8 nights during the past three weeks, and I am still finding it hard to believe my luck, and the value it offers for the price paid. The staff are uniformly friendly and helpful. The food (for a vegetarian) is varied, tasty, well-presented and extremely good value. The beds (I've been in three different rooms) are about the most comfortable i've slept in. (I was told they were made locally at Topsham, near Exeter.) There are three different levels of lighting in the rooms, so it's easy to work at the desk. The mini-bar in the room is free. The swimming pool - described as 'inside out' (or is it 'outside in'?) means you can get into it indoors in a well-heated room and then swim under a barrier to the outside. not only all that, but I could have taken my dog there as well. I can't praise it enough. If i had to have one criticism, it's that two of the single rooms didn't have a wardrobe. Fine for a couple of nights, but not if you want to hang up two or three suits plus some other clothes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petermillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#14 of 31 in Exeter
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: $115 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing