We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breath of fresh air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“breath of fresh air”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I am very fussy when it comes to hotels and on the whole I come away with several negatives in mind. Either the rooms are noisy, the design not to my taste, the room too hot to sleep, staff unaccommodating. However I would be pushed to find fault with this wonderful new boutique hotel in Exeter, luckily for us as our son has just started University down there so this will have been our first of many visits. I had read trip advisor comments before going and saw that there had been some teething problems particularly with the level of service in the restaurant. The hotel have obviously worked hard to resolve this situation as we had perfect service in the restaurant and the food was delicious! I loved our room, number 113 which is a feature room. The bed was very large and very comfortable. The facilities at the hotel are great - a small but all you need gym, a lovely spa, and a wonderful indoor/outdoor swimming pool, heated to 30 degrees throughout the winter! The location of this hotel is ideal, only being a few minutes walk into the town and with car parking at the front or in a car park to both right and left.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 113 which I can highly recommend but I was told that many of the feature rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    331
    171
    89
    42
See reviews for
167
555
41
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Good Hotel, looks very stylish, nicely refurbished, love the smell of log fire everywhere . Service could be a bit more attentive, very sloppy in the F&B areas, very good check in, clean room nice touch to have turn down service . Would return when back in the area, but book a larger room next .

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Valo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Glos
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We'd stayed at this hotel a few years ago, when it was known as Hotel Barcelona, so were keen to see how it matched up in its new guise. We couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised, as it is almost unrecognisable. Check in was swift and unstuffy and were quickly shown to our upgraded room on the second floor, overlooking the well-tended walled garden.

The room itself was large and really imaginatively lit, creating a nice calming atmosphere. Bed was large and very comfortable and the addition of a free mini bar (wine, beer and soft drinks) was a really nice touch, as normally you only have a look at a mini bar before you have to take out a second mortgage.

The lounge areas of the hotel are spacious and plentiful and lend themselves to the relaxing ambience of the place. The staff are wonderful too, stopping to take the time to check you're having a good time. It's obvious that they are all really proud of the place and so they should be.

The food in the restaurant is fantastic, really varied and very reasonably priced (a couple of mains and a nice bottle of wine came to about £60) and the breakfasts were great, just enough or far too much, the choice is yours!

The real surprise was the addition of the swimming pool, with its inside and out options (cant really describe it, you'll have to see for yourself). The pool really lifts the whole hotel and affords you the entire hotel experience, instead of thinking something is missing.

As for Exeter itself, we hadn't been for about 8 years and found it to be a city rejuvenated with a massive new shopping centre and a new John Lewis. Like the hotel, it's upped it's game and is worth a visit.

Would we come back? We've already planned it

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is classily decorated and the communal areas are relaxed and comfortable. You pick up a complimentary iPad when checking in and it's quite a handy tool in the room. Makes a refreshing change from a folder full of information. The minibar is sparsely equipped but complimentary which was handy for water during the night. By far the nicest touch for me was the heated mirror in the bathroom. I want one!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NineEighteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

There is very little to fault about this hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly from the moment we booked until our departure. Nothing was too much trouble.
There were some quirky touches; iPad in room, bath and shower in separate sections of the room, late night swimming in and outdoors and the cute potting shed for pamper days.
The restaurant was atmospheric with an open plan kitchen. Dishes were reasonably priced and enticing.
We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineBrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff that can't do enough to help. I felt at home the moment I walked in. Superb rooms with all the luxuries you could ask for (i pad included). Lovely bright restaurant with very attentive staff . We ate till we couldn't stuff in any more. The food was all delicious. Really nice indoor outdoor pool, could have been a tad warmer but it was yucky and rainy when we visited! Lovely bar with cosy fire.Top class without the stuffiness! Loved it, what more can i say!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Beautifully renovated hotel, great food, great wine and fantastic service. The inside out pool is great but a jazcuzzi would have been ideal. Fabulous furnishings and ambience, would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny07969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Property: Hotel du Vin Exeter
Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing