We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Unreservedly recommended for tranquillity and beauty".”
Review of Fursdon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fursdon House
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at Fursdon several times over the years. The beauty of the place is compelling. Last November we took the newly refurbished Fursdon Cottage, and were very pleased we did. Fortunately, the weather was chilly. So we had an excuse to light the woodburning stove in the sitting room. Wholly unnecessary because the house was cosily warmed by the central heating, but nice to sit watching the flames. Next door in a snug is the TV for watching instead. And there is wireless broadband throughout.
We prefer to cook for ourselves, though there are pub restaurants nearby in Thorverton and Bickleigh. The kitchen area was fine, and fully equipped. Food from Morrison’s and Tesco a short drive away in Tiverton.
There is a farm lane abutting the house which did not in any way intrude on the absolute tranquillity unless one objects to the very occasional horse, and the post van, and maybe a tractor. Unreservedly recommended for tranquillity and beauty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KoC555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Fursdon House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have stayed several times in this old family home in the Park Wing. The apartment is very spacious and has everything you could wish for. The bed is nice and firm and big, the kitchen is well equipped and the open fire is great. The owner is friendly and welcoming and on hand if you need something. The only thing that could be better are the lounge chairs, these are a bit dated and not very supportive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank emmajong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Can't really fault this place! We stayed in the 'Park Wing' a large 3 bed appartment within the beautiful and historic house. The place is spotless, everything is provided for and it really feels like you are in a large country house! There is unlimited access to most of the grounds, some lovely estate walks and a complimentary tour of the main house too. And great value too.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Always take advantage of the tour - and take a chance to use the tea room too!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayes at The Garden Wing. A lovely 2 bedroom apartment. It was clean and tidy, and the ( huge) bed was very comfy. Nice area for walking. we enjoyed our stay, allthough for our teenage daughter it was a bit boring at times. Nice for a quiet getaway!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelelondon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful Easter week in the Park Wing at Fursdon. Everything was perfect from our Easter Sunday egg hunt in the 'Fox Garden' to just having a lovely space to relax as a family and do the kinds of things you never quite get the time for at home like play games, watch movies and eat lovely food together. A day spent walking around the very beautiful Wimbleball lake (9 miles) and another horse riding on Exmoor topped off a fantastic week. Fursdon House is truly is a home from home and the way the family have passed it down from generation to generation for the last 750 years when often the easy option would have been for them to sell up and go sailing off into the sunset is admirable. We'd love to return in the future....

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenzo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I am reluctant to share my enthusiasm for Fursdon because I've been to stay there many times with family and friends, feel almost possessive about it, and don't want it to get overbooked and less accessible to me! However also I am delighted to rave about somewhere so special where the owners have demonstrated such unusual care and attention to detail. This is a place where it is possible to completely relax with all the comforts of home and beauty indoors and out, wherever you look. It has become our regular bolt hole where we are assured of complete tranquility and a depth of silence which is rare. The surrounding countryside is stunning and accessible on foot. The apartments are always immaculate, decorated with such taste and style, extremely well equipped and comfortable. We adore the open fires in both apartments, with central heating also to keep you snug - and I am a cold person! We relish driving into Tiverton and stocking up on food from M & S, then coming home to sip a glass of wine in the garden whilst gazing at the views, or snuggling up by the fire to watch a dvd. It is BLISS.

Room Tip: The Park Wing has the extensive views, an especially comfortable sitting room, but its bathrooms are...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanchiabarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We booked the garden wing at Fursdon House as a last minute break for my wife and our 2 year old toddler. We arrived quite late after a long journey and so were greeted by the Fursdon family themselves, who were such a lovely couple and they let us park our car right outside their house to unload it.

The garden wing is a nice sized apartment on the first floor of Fursdon House. There was a great sized breakfast kitchen with plently of cooking equipment that we used throughout our stay, and a childs bedroom with a cot they provided. The bathroom also had a good quality shower and bath.

The main living room had two 2 seater sofa's which were quite dated and not that comfortable, which was a shame, as the bedroom was super large and the bed was very comfy indeed.

The garden wing has it's own private garden to the rear which is a nice touch, although I would warn those with small children to be careful as there is quite a steep drop so you have to be on guard. For children their was three horses to see, chickens, plenty of open space to run around, and a small slide and swings.

All in all the place was very nice, the biggest downside being so far out in the country was the daily use of the very tight country lanes up to Fursdon Hall, and we almost had a head on collision with someone who was driving far too fast. Exeter was just 25 minutes away and Torquay took just about an hour, so you can get around while staying at Fusrdon House.

For us to have given this a higher score it would have to have more comfortable sofas, better storage space in terms of clothes hanging space, and safer garden access for children. I couldn't fault the owners of the house and they even let us use their WiFi for no charge (it was very slow but it did help).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamestt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
4.6 mi away
The Barton Cross Hotel
The Barton Cross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
90 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Silverton Inn
The Silverton Inn
#1 of 2 in Silverton
132 reviews
4.8 mi away
Culm Vale Country House
Culm Vale Country House
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
11.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
530 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fursdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fursdon House

Address: | Cadbury, Exeter EX5 5JS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Price Range: $95 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fursdon House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two stylish apartments in an historic manor house and a former gardener's cottage. Fursdon, in Mid Devon, has been the home of the Fursdon family for more than 750 years. We invite you to stay in our very special self-catering accommodation on a traditional country estate in the glorious countryside of Devon. The Park Wing sleeps six and has elegant and spacious rooms overlooking the parkland and beyond as far as Dartmoor. The cosy Garden Wing is perfect for 2 or 3 with one very large bedroom and a small one. It opens out into the lovely walled garden from the panelled sitting room. A short walk from the manor house, Fursdon Cottage is a detached stone cottage with its own garden and views of the Exe valley. It has recently been completely renovated to a 5-star standard and provides stylish and characterful accommodation. It sleeps up to six and you can bring the dog too. Logs from the estate are provided for open fires and the shelves are stacked with good books. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fursdon House Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing