We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil location, beautiful grounds..”
Review of Fursdon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fursdon House
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We booked the garden wing at Fursdon House as a last minute break for my wife and our 2 year old toddler. We arrived quite late after a long journey and so were greeted by the Fursdon family themselves, who were such a lovely couple and they let us park our car right outside their house to unload it.

The garden wing is a nice sized apartment on the first floor of Fursdon House. There was a great sized breakfast kitchen with plently of cooking equipment that we used throughout our stay, and a childs bedroom with a cot they provided. The bathroom also had a good quality shower and bath.

The main living room had two 2 seater sofa's which were quite dated and not that comfortable, which was a shame, as the bedroom was super large and the bed was very comfy indeed.

The garden wing has it's own private garden to the rear which is a nice touch, although I would warn those with small children to be careful as there is quite a steep drop so you have to be on guard. For children their was three horses to see, chickens, plenty of open space to run around, and a small slide and swings.

All in all the place was very nice, the biggest downside being so far out in the country was the daily use of the very tight country lanes up to Fursdon Hall, and we almost had a head on collision with someone who was driving far too fast. Exeter was just 25 minutes away and Torquay took just about an hour, so you can get around while staying at Fusrdon House.

For us to have given this a higher score it would have to have more comfortable sofas, better storage space in terms of clothes hanging space, and safer garden access for children. I couldn't fault the owners of the house and they even let us use their WiFi for no charge (it was very slow but it did help).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamestt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 51 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

We had a wonderful weekend in the Garden Flat, it is so peaceful and scenery outstanding.
The flat is in pristine condition and little extras such as a complimentary bottle of wine & some delicious chocolate flapjacks were very welcome.

We enjoyed the log fire and appreciated the central heating being on early morning as it was a chilly weekend especially as you are in the middle of the countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jillkaren31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My husband and I with one daughter aged 8 have stayed here twice in 2010 having rented the garden wing .Two beautiful rental apartments incorporated in to the main house. The rooms are well presented and finished off with Laura Ashley curtains and lamps, - a nice touch! Period features, wood panelling, original floors, window seats, creaky old doors and open fire places (logs free) add to the charm and splendor of this place. Friendly staff on hand if needed. Complementary tour of the main house included. Beautiful large bathroom and kitchen. We booked for school summer holiday and loved it so much went back in Oct half term! We look forward to booking again in the near future!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boomamaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Great Place. It is what it say's it is!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidlens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
4.7 mi away
Culm Vale Country House
Culm Vale Country House
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
59 reviews
9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
11.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Silverton Inn
The Silverton Inn
#1 of 2 in Silverton
136 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fursdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fursdon House

Address: | Cadbury, Exeter EX5 5JS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Price Range: $98 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two stylish apartments in an historic manor house and a former gardener's cottage. Fursdon, in Mid Devon, has been the home of the Fursdon family for more than 750 years. We invite you to stay in our very special self-catering accommodation on a traditional country estate in the glorious countryside of Devon. The Park Wing sleeps six and has elegant and spacious rooms overlooking the parkland and beyond as far as Dartmoor. The cosy Garden Wing is perfect for 2 or 3 with one very large bedroom and a small one. It opens out into the lovely walled garden from the panelled sitting room. A short walk from the manor house, Fursdon Cottage is a detached stone cottage with its own garden and views of the Exe valley. It has recently been completely renovated to a 5-star standard and provides stylish and characterful accommodation. It sleeps up to six and you can bring the dog too. Logs from the estate are provided for open fires and the shelves are stacked with good books. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fursdon House Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing