We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

OK, exactly as expected.
Easy to find; worth a stopover if in area; service, food, bed comfort all up to Premier Inn standard as advertised by Lennie!
The other characters required for this survey are in this sentence!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    135
    56
    28
    8
See reviews for
74
154
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Compared to other Premier Inns, this one look tired, and we we in the new section! You get what you expect, and we slept well, just not as comfortable as some others we have stayed in.
Breakfast was a buffet or the cold items, and hot items served to the table very promptly.

Room Tip: Avoid near the exterior doors. Smokers had left a vial dour in the doorways, and to air them those a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed with a colleague at this premier inn before an even the following day at Westpoint. It was convenient for Westpoint (only 10 minutes driving). The room was adequate and clean and of a quality I expect of Premier inn. The shower was a bit lack lustre and the bathroom a little tired but was clean and provided everything you needed. The restaurant was okay nothing special, but reasonably priced pub food if you don't want the hassel of driving to find somewhere elese.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this premier,we had a lovely greeting at reception,the room was very clean and well maintained,bed was very comfortable,lovely and clean,and very quiet ,en suite was lovely and spotless

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluethunderbt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harriet m, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Myself and partner stayed here Dec15/16 2013 to visit relatives in the area.On arrival the receptionist greeted us with all the charm and respect we'd come to expect at a Premier Inn,in fact,I would say she exceeded our expectations, extremely courteous and helpful.However,our overall experience was not a good one.When opening the door on to the corridor,we were hit by this awful musty stench,which when in the room didn't completely disappear.I am mildly asthmatic,and this affected my chest quite considerably, I was coughing and wheezing throughout my stay.Aside from this,the room was tiny and dingy,the television was just a little square with a picture half the size of the screen,there were no chairs to sit on,a drab,rather scruffy bathroom with a shower lacking any power, and the bed wasn't as comfy as ones we've slept in previously.We are not normally moaners,but this was just not in keeping with other Premier Inns,and we've stayed in many over the years.Unfortunately Countess Wear does not set a good example for Premier Inns,however we will continue to stay in them,just not this one,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Searsjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on my own for the night as I was going to a party nearby. Check in was very quick and easy.

It was a cold night but on turning the radiators on they got hot immediately and I was soon warmed up. The bathroom was a bit dated but there were no issues with it.

Exactly what I was expecting for somewhere to crash for the night!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lil_vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

For a business stay such as ours, where we wanted a clean room, comfy bed and easy check in and out, Premier Inn did the job!
Lovely clean, large, quiet room (I suggest room 45, on the first floor with no neighbours and road noise) Yes, the bathroom was a bit antiquated and the shower wasn't great but what is most important to me when staying someone like this is how clean it is and how well I sleep!
I would definitely stay here again. It's very easy to check in, you can park outside the rooms and it had everything we needed.
We ate all three nights at the Beefeater next door and I cannot fault them. The food was good, the staff seemed very conscious of being attentive and for a quick meal for two the price was fine.
I would recommend this hotel for business stay overs, one night stays on long journeys and if you need somewhere to stay after a wedding/function etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank older_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
1.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Address: 398 Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 6HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Follow the River Exe into Exeter from this quiet spot and enjoy scenic views and quaint pubs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing