We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potentially Violent Staff & Bed Bugs”
Review of Globe Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globe Backpackers
Ranked #15 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Globe Backpackers for our final night on a boys golf trip. We were a group of 12 and went into Exeter town centre that evening to celebrate a friend’s birthday.

Upon arriving we were greeted by the young manager, who demonstrated a deep set attitude problem from the word go. He acted like an irritable child, muttering under his breath as we asked basic questions about our room and deposit. This little episode however, was but a sneak preview of the grandiose performance we would be treated to later…

We returned to the hostel at around 2am, mildly drunk and began getting ready for bed. There was the usual chatter and some unavoidable noise as people got in and out of the rickety bunk beds. The building is old and has real floorboards… the walls are paper thin… sound travels but we weren’t being very loud.

Upon entering our room unannounced, the first half of so called ‘manager’s performance was true to his earlier behaviour. The content was very much a 15 rating, consisting of threats to keep some of our deposit (£20 pp) and to throw us out onto the street, all delivered in an aggressive and confrontational manner. Slightly taken aback by his behaviour, we took the approach of apologising graciously and settled into bed.

Ten minutes later when some members were asleep and others talking quietly, he re-entered the room and started shouting at us. He used highly offensive language, the ‘f-word’ featured several times and acted aggressively towards us as we lay in bed totally bewildered. He threatened to call the police and have us all thrown out of the hostel and said we had lost £40 of our deposit for noise. For a man of a small stature he certainly has a loud voice. If we weren’t such sizeable lads (averaging 88kg), the manager’s conduct would have been extremely intimidating and threatening, however we found the whole thing laughable. So amusing in fact, that we laughed solidly for ten minutes. Some party members actually cried.

Sadly the spiteful little manager wasn’t around to say goodbye to us in the morning but he had made sure to tell the owner to hold back £40 of our deposit. There are several angry signs dotted about the hostel listing house rules and the repercussions of breaking them. These include a sign saying that ‘guests’ who don’t do their washing up will lose £5 of their deposit, which would be donated to a local cancer charity. All in all quite fair. When we asked the owner what would be the fate of our £40, we were told that it was not going to the charity and would be retained by the hostel staff to compensate for lack of sleep and effectively working overtime by dealing with our so called noise. He also said it was to cover the cost of having to offer other guests in the hostel a lower rate because of our noise and their disturbed stay. We asked whether there had been any complaints from other guests that night… the answer ‘someone mentioned something’ was very vague and shady.

We also asked whether he thought it was acceptable for his manager to use abusive foul language and act aggressively towards ‘guests’. He said that we were the ones being rude by being noisy and in effect deserved it. We didn’t receive an apology and left £40 short.

Globe Backpackers is a joke. The quality of service was laughable and the hostel should be avoided at all costs. Unless of course, you enjoy being shouted at by a poorly washed, scrawny man losing his rag over casual late night pleasantries, which at a £40 premium for 12 people, we think offers fantastic value for money.

We wish the manager all the best with his inner anxiety and resultant anger issues.

Ps. THERE WERE BEDBUGS EVERYWHERE AND WE ALL HAD BITES THE NEXT DAY

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dent101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

It is our policy not to accept stag or hen nights at our hostels because after 13 years of experience we have found the behaviour of the majority of such groups of people to be unacceptable and often intolerable for our other guests, our neighbours and our city as a whole. We do not wish to be known for bringing this kind of business and trouble to our city – it’s not just about filling beds for us. This person was part of a group of 12 professing to be on a golfing weekend – we would refute this and have strong evidence to suggest otherwise. It is our strong belief they were economical with the truth when booking with us. It is extremely rare that we use the threat of involving police, but this group must be congratulated on fulfilling all the criteria of anti-social behaviour experienced in society today. In our opinion, our staff dealt these problematic people brilliantly. On check-out threats were made to post scathing reviews to try and affect our business, which have been duly uploaded. However, we have faith that people reading their rather damning and venomous reviews are intelligent enough to realise that there is something rather biased and questionable about them. We would prefer to draw the attention of potential guests to recent photos taken of both private and dormitory accommodation and our wonderful shower rooms all set in a solid brick building built over 260 years ago still with it original front door and centrally located in our wonderful 2000 year old city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 78 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Staff were rude, petulant and even potentially violent. Refused to return all of our deposit because we were 'loud' and even threatened to call the police, despite not being violent in the slightest. Moreover, the beds are teeming with bedbugs. I would highly recommend not staying at this hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank raph89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

It is our policy not to accept stag or hen nights at our hostels because after 13 years of experience we have found the behaviour of the majority of such groups of people to be unacceptable and often intolerable for our other guests, our neighbours and our city as a whole. We do not wish to be known for bringing this kind of business and trouble to our city – it’s not just about filling beds for us. This person was part of a group of 12 professing to be on a golfing weekend – we would refute this and have strong evidence to suggest otherwise. It is our strong belief they were economical with the truth when booking with us. It is extremely rare that we use the threat of involving police, but this group must be congratulated on fulfilling all the criteria of anti-social behaviour experienced in society today. In our opinion, our staff dealt these problematic people brilliantly. On check-out threats were made to post scathing reviews to try and affect our business, which have been duly uploaded. However, we have faith that people reading their rather damning and venomous reviews are intelligent enough to realise that there is something rather biased and questionable about them. We would prefer to draw the attention of potential guests to recent photos taken of both private and dormitory accommodation and our wonderful shower rooms all set in a solid brick building built over 260 years ago still with it original front door and centrally located in our wonderful 2000 year old city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hostel is tired and dirty, with an odd musty smell which reminded me of student digs many years ago whose occupants had never bothered with anything more than a perfunctory spray of air freshener by way of cleaning. Rickety bunk beds provoke intense uneasiness as you try to sleep with rough, gritty sheets, worrying that a slight breeze from an open window may pull the loose hinges apart. There is an oppressive amount of peculiar notices seemingly on all available wall space, which leads one to suspect that a person on the autistic-scale has been given access to a word processor and a slab of blu-tack. All this could be forgiven however if there was even a hint of affability from the staff, sadly they are cantankerous misfits whose surly manner and extreme helpfulness is evident as soon as you peer through the reception window. This is a truly terrible place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OJM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

It is our policy not to accept stag or hen nights at our hostels because after 13 years of experience we have found the behaviour of the majority of such groups of people to be unacceptable and often intolerable for our other guests, our neighbours and our city as a whole. We do not wish to be known for bringing this kind of business and trouble to our city – it’s not just about filling beds for us. This person was part of a group of 12 professing to be on a golfing weekend – we would refute this and have strong evidence to suggest otherwise. It is our strong belief they were economical with the truth when booking with us. It is extremely rare that we use the threat of involving police, but this group must be congratulated on fulfilling all the criteria of anti-social behaviour experienced in society today. In our opinion, our staff dealt these problematic people brilliantly. On check-out threats were made to post scathing reviews to try and affect our business, which have been duly uploaded. However, we have faith that people reading their rather damning and venomous reviews are intelligent enough to realise that there is something rather biased and questionable about them. We would prefer to draw the attention of potential guests to recent photos taken of both private and dormitory accommodation and our wonderful shower rooms all set in a solid brick building built over 260 years ago still with it original front door and centrally located in our wonderful 2000 year old city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is one of the best backpackers hostels I've stayed at. The location is perfect for either spending time in Exeter city centre, hanging around at the riverside or venturing further into Devon.
The hostel is spacious & well presented and has the best shower & toilet facilities you could find in a backpackers. I enjoyed being able to just chill-out with the free wifi., there's a comfortable tv room with dvd & videos available to borrow., the kitchen is well set-up and had everything I needed to cook with. I was staying in one of the dorm rooms which I found quite spacious, but I managed to catch a sneek peek at one of their private bedrooms and would be happy to pay the extra (I don't think there's anywhere else in Exeter where prices are so low).
Overall I had a great time here, met some excellent people and would definately stay again. Can't recommend it enough.
Staff were on duty and seemed happy to help when needed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stay in this hostel from time to time and recommend it to anyone travelling or requiring
short-term accommodation in Devon.

The Globe backpackers Exeter has been recently refurbished and is a warm friendly
place to stay close to the city centre and its attractions.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the owners have made a genuine effort to ensure
that the accommodation is clean and comfortable and you will definitely enjoy your stay.

The backpackers has nightly and weekly rates and is a great place to stay whether you are travelling or working or just want a place to come and have a good relaxing holiday
and experience the devon way of life and its beaches, parks and tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Room inspection is welcome and the hostel has separate female and male dormatories as well as separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Odd place. Well familiar with YHA hostels. This does not compare. Tiered, thin mattresses, stained and burnt, ThIn sheets and bedding and solid foam pillow. Cold and single light in dormitory left on all night. There residents more interested in night life. I was quite out of place for weekend exploring. Dormitories never locked so open to all. Checkout late for any person wanting to get on with the day. Cheap though so uncomfortable not worth the value.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boijg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I think Globe Backpackers Exeter is one of the best i have stayed in for a long time. Iv'e been in hostels in Australia, England and America and this is defs one of the best.

It's really clean everywhere, the beds are proper mattresses which i haven't slept on in other Hostels for a while. It has good colour in the sourrounding rooms. The staff are great. They have been really helpful in helping me find places, bus routes and finding pubs. To be honest you get more than what you pay for here. The bathrooms are fantastic, the rooms are massive, the people staying there are friendly. Free Wifi, plenty of books to read, movies to watch, posters and photo's of previous people who have stayed who looked like had a great time. All in all loved it. Defs would recommend it for others.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms to meet new people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockside1, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

We really enjoy running our traditional backpacker hostel and of course it's always great to have such a fantastic reviews from people passing through - especially when they are well travelled and have experience hostelling in different parts of the World. We wish we had found a hostel with showers like those we now offer when we were travelling back in '97. Thanks again for posting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#9 of 31 in Exeter
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,330 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globe Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe Backpackers

Address: 71 Holloway Street, Exeter EX2 4JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Exeter
Price Range: $47 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter Globe Backpackers (Tourist Hostel) offers both shared (dormitory) and private rooms in an 18th century townhouse and is excellently located just a few minutes walk from Exeter's city centre. We offer a self-catering kitchen and free tea and coffee, social area, tv room and Free Wi-fi. Nightly rates are from £17.50 Or just £75 per week in dormitories (terms and conditions apply). We are just a few minutes walk to the nine hundred year old Gothic cathedral and the picturesque historic waterway and quay. That's not to mention the wide range of pubs and clubs all throughout Exeter. Globe Backpackers is ideal for people looking for a great value, clean, comfortable, and friendly place to stay while enjoying our beautiful surroundings.Our 2000 year old city is centrally located in the region of Devon and Cornwall making it the perfect place to base yourself to go on plenty of day trips to the coast, Dartmoor National Park, the Eden project and much more. Easily accessible from London, Bristol, Bath and Cardiff, Exeter really puts you in the middle of things.For those looking to offset some travel costs Exeter is a perfect place to make a few pounds while still getting to see loads of attractions.Exeter really is a must-see for any true backpacker! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Globe Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Backpackers Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing