We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely Pub”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #207 of 585 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Royal Oak is now under New Management since the 3rd March 2015 & its Food style is reverting back to good quality English Pub Grub.
Reviewed April 18, 2018 via mobile

I visited with my parents for a spur of the moment evening meal, having never visited before and was really pleasantly surprised how lovely this place was.
It was really quiet, not sure it that’s usual, but it was a very rainy evening. the staff we spoke to were really helpful and welcoming. We all ordered mains from the menu and the food was really tasty and good portions.
The pub had a pool table and a set up for skittles too but didn’t look into dates or timings.
Overall will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 83 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2018

Living in the village and reading the reviews about the quality of the Sunday lunch at the Royal Oak we decided to stop by today for Sunday lunch.
Service was friendly,warm and attentive and everything you could hope for. We both had the Lamb, this really was delicious, great selection of vegetables and plenty of really crispy potatoes. We were even offered more vegetables if we wanted. This really was a great quality meal with generous portions. The dessert on the other hand was disappointing and although I complained it seemed to fall on deaf ears.The Cherry crumble was extremely small ( I think they had probably run out) and more akin to a pie sauce with some granola sprinkled on top. Overall we were very pleased with our dining experience, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return, however will probably steer clear of the puddings._

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Thankyou for your review and I’m very sorry that the dessert was not up to par. I will find out what happened here as our desserts are always delicious and rather on the large side. When you come back please accept a dessert on us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I had a great Sunday lunch at the Royal Oak. We arrived late having been let down by our usual Sunday lunch venue and we were warmly welcomed. After our drinks we had only a short wait before our meal was served. We both had roast beef which was melt in the mouth, as well as piping hot. There was a huge range of vegetables with yummy gravy. We were too full for pudding which we were politely offered.
A great place. We’ll definitely be back.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Lisa030405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Thank you for your kind review and so glad you enjoyed your meal. It really helps us to see people’s opionions of our food and service so we really appreciate the extra effort you made to tell us and others that you enjoyed it. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

Went for a early evening meal with family to celebrate a birthday, nice food good value and service was great. Nice choice for children with free ice cream although we forgot to get the ice cream. Nice and friendly.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank cshirine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017

This was our family get together before Christmas. There was 15 adults and 2 children. We able to order sausage and chips for kids because they couldn't eat a full Christmas dinner which was good customer relations. The service was very good. The meal was well presented and really nice. Everything was cooked fresh to order. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri A, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

So glad you enjoyed your festive meal. Thank you for leaving a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing