We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunch!!”
Review of Cafe at 36

Cafe at 36
Ranked #131 of 562 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Small independent coffee shop that prides itself on the quality of its coffee, roasted by Origin based in Cornwall; we also offer a range of tea which is hand blended in Devon. Our smoothies are refreshing and we offer Luscombes and Frobishers soft drinks. We made our own cakes and traybakes, and our award winning summer fruit flapjack. We use local food producers wherever possible, so for example our bread is from Shaldon Bakery, our milk is organic from Ashclyst Farm Dairy and our sausages, bacon and ham from Courtneys Butchers in Cowick Street. We offer a friendly welcome, free wifi and local art to enjoy! On the last Wednesday of the month Love Local Food run a story telling and creativity session for Under 8's and their families. We have live Music during the cooler months on the first Sunday of the month.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times for lunch. This cafe adds its unique style to Cowick St. I particularly enjoy the veggie pies. Because a tea bag in a cup is a particular hate if mine, I always go for the pot. Service can be a little slow at times and customers waiting in the queue not always acknowledged, but overall I would definitely recommend Cafe 36.

Thank fisheatingveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hello, thank you very much for taking the time to review our Cafe and for the recommendation. Yes, the savoury tarts are very popular and made on the premises! We'll be reminding the counter staff about the importance of thanking people for waiting at busy times, and hope we'll see you again soon. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 85 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I called in for breakfast as a break from our journey down to the west country,the favourable reviews hopefully meant that the small detour from our route would be worthwhile.
Unfortunately our overall experience was average at best, the cafe was cold to the point that we had to keep our jackets on the whole time ( as did a couple sat at the next table). We sat at the table right by the counter and despite waitresses passing by us several times (studiously avoiding eye contact) we were ignored until I stood at the counter.We both had a small breakfast and a cup of tea, the tea came in a large round cup with a handle so small that I could not get my finger through it which made drinking difficult.The breakfast was hot and ample,but lacked basic finesse,the toast was nice but it should have come on its own side plate not stacked on top of the breakfast, my packs of butter were actually in my beans covered in sauce ( not nice) and the beans themselves had the look of having been cooked and kept hot for a considerable time.
Overall a bit of a shame as the cafe itself appears well kept and is obviously popular as it was busy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BruPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hello, thank you very much for taking the time to write and give us your feedback, we are very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit to our cafe. In response to your first comment about having to wait at the table for some time. We don't operate a waitress service so customers order at the counter once they have had some time to study the menu. This obviously hasn't been made clear enough and so we will be putting up a notice at the front of the cafe to make customers aware, and insert a sentence to this effect on our menu when we next have it reprinted. We have also recently put up our wall heaters as the weather is starting to get a bit colder.

You mentioned that the toast was stacked on top of your breakfast. It is our policy to put the toast onto a separate side plate so we are not sure why this didn't happen on the particular day that you visited. Our presentation and customer service is very important to us so we have ensured that all of the staff that toast must be served separately on a side plate.

All of our food is cooked freshly to order and we don't use hot plates to keep food warm, so we were surprised that the baked beans gave the appearance of having been kept hot for some time. We have now reviewed our heating processes as a consequence of your feedback. Lastly in terms of the cup you mentioned, we do have a variety of cup and mug sizes, and of course if customers prefer to use a mug with a larger handle that option is also available. Again we can only apologise that you found the cup handle too small.

Once again many thanks for taking the time and trouble to let us have your feedback. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the West Country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Lovely place, great prices, really good food. Nice large portions it's rare that I can go somewhere and say the small breakfast is the largest I can eat! Friendly service and generally a great place to stop by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnstorck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Hello, thank you very much for your positive feedback about the cafe and the breakfasts! So pleased that you enjoy your visits to us; and hope that we will see you back here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

There are very few places in the Cowick Street area of Exeter where you can get a good cup of coffee and, for foot weary shoppers in that part of the city, this makes a welcome respite. The service is good, the coffee, excellent and our dog is also welcome.

1  Thank barry097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Cafe, and we're so pleased to hear you enjoy our coffee especially! Hope we'll see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Such a friendly coffee shop! John, Sue, Madja and all staff make sure everyone is happy there. Super coffee, locally made cakes, and yummy porridge. Also Jackets, Soups and other meals.
sometimes music at weekends too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MicChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Manager at Cafe at 36, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about our cafe! We're so glad you enjoy your visits, especially the coffee and cake!! Hope to see you again very soon Sue and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at 36 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe at 36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing