We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Cafe at 36

Cafe at 36
Ranked #104 of 527 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Small independent coffee shop that prides itself on the quality of its coffee, roasted by Origin based in Cornwall; we also offer a range of tea which is hand blended in Devon. Our smoothies are refreshing and we offer Luscombes and Frobishers soft drinks. We made our own cakes and traybakes, and our award winning summer fruit flapjack. We use local food producers wherever possible, so for example our bread is from Shaldon Bakery, our milk is organic from Ashclyst Farm Dairy and our sausages, bacon and ham from Courtneys Butchers in Cowick Street. We offer a friendly welcome, free wifi and local art to enjoy! On the last Wednesday of the month Love Local Food run a story telling and creativity session for Under 8's and their families. We have live Music during the cooler months on the first Sunday of the month.
1 review
“Love this place”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Brought a group of 8 of us into the Cafe for breakfast on Sunday. Great cafe with great food. Always recommend this place to people I know.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sleestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about our cafe. Really pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Popped in whilst shopping over the road at the Co-operative and discovered the best coffee in Exeter. This was a quick stop before going to pick up my son so it was a Cappuccino and the best Rocky Road very competitively priced. The young woman who took my order I assumed was the owner as she was so attentive and customer focussed. She asked me if I wanted to try some cinnamon which I did making the coffee taste really great.

I like the fact they offered three choices of the size of coffee you want to take account of different tastes. The toilets despite being through an outer door were clean and pleasant.

I try where possible to support local independent coffee shops and this one is top quality and as Arnie said "I'll be back!"

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our cafe, we really appreciate the feedback. So pleased you loved the coffee and rocky road, and look forward to seeing you again soon next time you are in Cowick Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Indie Cafe”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fed up of identakit cafes? well i stumbled across this one. Quirky and friendly. I love the art work on the walls.

Also the drink and a bacon bap for £1.99... cant really go wrong with that! Great selection of drinks, will be visiting again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello thanks so much for your review of our cafe. We love the local artwork we have too and its great that local artists are happy to display their work on our walls! We hope you will be able to come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cafe at 36”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great Coffee, good fresh food, pleasant surroundings and a warm welcome.. The service is very good and the staff very friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our Cafe. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the coffee and food, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Reviewed this place a month ago and had a few very very minor gripes which when put down on paper always seem to be worse than they are. Have visited three times since then and those minor gripes have been sorted. Great service fantastic friendly relaxed atmosphere and top notch ingrednients. Forget your Costa Coffees and Starbucks. bets coffee in Exeter and well worth supporting

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daveuk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi, thank you very much for taking the trouble to post a review again. We are so pleased that you found an improved experience; we have been working hard with the staff and put processes in place for a more efficient service. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at 36 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe at 36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing