We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best”
Review of Cafe at 36

Cafe at 36
Ranked #122 of 546 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Small independent coffee shop that prides itself on the quality of its coffee, roasted by Origin based in Cornwall; we also offer a range of tea which is hand blended in Devon. Our smoothies are refreshing and we offer Luscombes and Frobishers soft drinks. We made our own cakes and traybakes, and our award winning summer fruit flapjack. We use local food producers wherever possible, so for example our bread is from Shaldon Bakery, our milk is organic from Ashclyst Farm Dairy and our sausages, bacon and ham from Courtneys Butchers in Cowick Street. We offer a friendly welcome, free wifi and local art to enjoy! On the last Wednesday of the month Love Local Food run a story telling and creativity session for Under 8's and their families. We have live Music during the cooler months on the first Sunday of the month.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Talk about a hidden gem. The place is warm, friendly and welcoming. The Coffee and food is quite simply second to none and very resonable. I heard it being referred to as the heart and soul of the community by some regulars. I can understand this completely, how I wish we had a place like this on our doorstep. Well worth a trip and as said in earlier reviews there is a free car park over the road and some great shops in St Thomas. What more could you ask for!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Indogswetrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Hi, thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about our Cafe. Your feedback is very important to us - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 85 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a wonderful little coffee shop - warm and welcoming. I had a mocha, which was delicious, only surpassed by the extremely high quality of the accompanying pastry. My pal went for a latte, which was pronounced excellent. It was also great value and overall a happy experience.

So why do people head for the global brands in such droves? Why do they want to pay more for a lesser quality product? Why do they accept that their hard-earned cash is doing so little to help the community and country as a whole. Beats me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cornish Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your review of our Cafe. It's so rewarding to receive positive feedback; we hope to see you again soon. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Most visitors to Exeter never cross the river into St Thomas, a local shopping area. However, if they want the best Mocha this is the place to go for it.

I've drunk Mochas the length and breadth of the UK bit no-one comes even close to making a proper one which has enough chocolate in it - but you can still taste the coffee. Once you've had one you'll realise that the big chains haven't got a clue! I don't live or work in the St Thomas area but I will quite happily go down to Cafe at 36 just to get a decent mocha.

The coffee is also good and the homemade cakes delicious. There is a good organic menu as well, and a free car park just over the road!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank devonshiremw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. Customer feedback is so important to us; we are thrilled you enjoyed your Mocha. It would be great if more people came down to St Thomas to try out the lovely independent shops we have down here, I think they would be pleasantly surprised! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Simply the best mocha in Exeter.
Plus flapjacks are really nice. They have a few paintings on the wall for sale and the also have live music.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BINDLEBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your review on our Cafe. The Mocha is a very popular drink for us. All of our flapjacks are made on the premises; it was good to see that you enjoyed your flapjack too! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Cafe at 36 has an uniquely relaxing atmosphere where you are made to feel welcome. A good place to get out of the hurly-burly of city-lfe and have a coffee and a cake in peace. The walls are adorned with artworks by local artists including the owner. Free wiFi

Thank spidersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue t, Owner at Cafe at 36, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review about our Cafe. It's always good to see positive feedback and pleased to see you enjoyed the artwork!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at 36 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe at 36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing