We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous House and Gardens

Whilst staying in the area we were recommended to visit Killerton and we weren't disappointed. This... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
travelator_9
,
Queensland
Excellent customer service aka amazing, caring volunteers and staff

We took a friend on an outing to Killerton a week ago. Unfortunately we unwittingly picked a day... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
hazel3121
,
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Read all 964 reviews
  
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveler rating
492
335
79
34
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
335
79
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust fashion exhibition lovely house bear house post office nt property stables cafe second hand bookshop room guides music room the main house extensive grounds formal gardens lovely grounds family home cakes tea room
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

It was CLOSED for Christmas decorating .. no signage to this effect in the car park so visitors who were not NT members would have totally wasted their money! Even the café at the house was shut. Really feel NT are missing a HUGE trick. Letting visitors see Xmas decorations being put up would be fascinating.
Really disappointing
Come on NT get your act together!

Thank brizy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Whilst staying in the area we were recommended to visit Killerton and we weren't disappointed. This National Trust property is a wonderful example of an 18th-century house with its hillside garden and estate. The extensive gardens are a lovely place to enjoy a family picnic and the restaurant provides a very nice localised menu of fresh produce cooked on site to excellent standards. If you are in the area we would certainly recommend a visit. It is one of the better NT properties we've visited.

Thank travelator_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took a friend on an outing to Killerton a week ago. Unfortunately we unwittingly picked a day when she did not feel well which only became fully apparent when we arrived in Killerton after a one hour journey. Faced with our friend's problems with communicating on the day, the staff were wonderfully patient and caring, from Ian, the buggy driver, to staff at reception (special praise to the lady who dealt with our mobility scooter request), at the restaurant and in the house itself. I cannot fault the facilities available for disabled visitors and I cannot praise the people who work at Killerton highly enough. I have visited before with my family and I certainly will be back to enjoy the wonderful grounds and to fully view the ongoing exhibition in the lovely and well-kept house

Thank hazel3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Always visit \Killerton on our NT tickets. Love the trees, love the house, one of our favourites.. not too busy, always plenty of space to walk and not see a soul.

Thank bobnsuebudden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Killerton gardens and surrounding woods are so lovely to walk around. Whatever the weather you will not be disappointed. We ended up in the cafe after a rainy day walk for a hot bowl of soup, coffee and a cake to warm up. Bliss!

Thank FaeryMoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I prefer to sit outside when possible so you can here, their cakes are good if a bit pricey.
You're not rushed and can sit for hours with a cup or two!

Thank LAROSA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting Killerton in a howling gale, our party explored the house and the cafe. The house is interesting, with its history of a family involved on both sides of the 'Votes for Women' campaign in the early 20th Century. The extensive grounds would be wonderful in appropriate weather. We were a little disappointed with the cafe by the courtyard, and might have done better in the restaurant. Parking is OK and the NT shop is good.

Thank Celia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Killerton house and gardens is my M5 motorway services. I stop off here on the way to the West Country. Although it was October, my last visit happened to be the busiest day they had had all year, and the cafe had run out of cakes, all except the flapjack, and my coffee took ages to arrive. This sounds like a disaster but the flapjack was their speciality and to die for, and they offered me the coffee on the house without me having to complain. They said they try and keep the best standards they can and this had fallen short. For me the sign of good service is not whether things go wrong but what they do when this happens to put it right, so full marks to Killerton in this case.

Thank eric_macblaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been to Killerton before but only to grounds and restaurant. Visited to see Suffragette Exhibition, lots to see and some very interesting information and cine film shows how things were. It seems some of the Ackand family were pro sufferage and some were not, breakfast must have been interesting!

The costumes showed how petite women were.

Had lunch in the restaurant it was waitress service even though we only had a light snack. Asked for water too and got a big bottle of chilled water. Courteous staff in both the house and the restaurant.

Thank dolores1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The house is full of volunteers eager to explain the story of the suffragetes and the anti-suffragete movement. Well planned path through every room. There are lots of toilets.

Thank Elga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews