We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southernhay House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Last weekend the family held a lunch party to celebrate my parents Diamond Wedding Anniversary at the hotel's restaurant. The hotel managers worked with me beforehand to arrange a truly personal & tailored event, nothing was too much trouble. They even cleared their beautiful dresser in the dining room for our photos, cake & guestbook. The staff were helpful and considerate with my parents' elderly guests and the service was unobtrusive and friendly. The food, served in the elegant dining room, was absolutely delicious.
Altogether they made it feel as if we were at home but with fabulous food!
I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough, my Mum commented afterwards it was one of the best days of her life and the Southernhay House Hotel were responsible for a large part of that.

Room Tip: Sadly we did not sleep here but the hotel is lovely and very central
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Your review actually gave me goose bumps; it's so lovely for our backstage service to be appreciated and, trust me, it was our pleasure to host your parents' special anniversary - all of our respect and congratulations to them! As a smaller, and independent, hotel we are able to really focus (I hope) on what our guests expect and how they would like their experience to unfold. It's a true professional delight to be able to make this work "behind the scenes" and your taking time to post a comment about the meal is very much appreciated by all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    67
    20
    15
    11
See reviews for
34
149
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Visited on a family birthday for cocktails and a 3 course meal. Located in a pleasent area of Exeter, I would recommend the Southernhay House Hotel to anyone who wants high quality cocktails and food for an expected price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
And you are (relatively) local so we hope to welcome you back for many future family celebrations - or indeed the quiet escape away from it all that we also aspire to. Your comments about our cocktails are very much appreciated - our staff trained at legendary Burgh Island (which we also own) and so the measures are generous and the recipes traditional. Thank you for your generous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Staying at Southernhay house truly makes you enjoy being in Exeter so much more. It is very conveniently located to the shopping heart of the city and yet feels so quite and peaceful. The rooms are delightfully decorated with a touch of class not found in your standard hotel chain. It's like staying in a true five star London hotel that has been miniaturized and personalized for Exeter and for the guests.

Great bar with a superb look to it and a good selection of drinks. When we stayed they had half price cocktails from 5:30pm to 7:30pm on Friday night.

We didn't have a chance to try the dinner menu (which looked excellent) but we will next time we stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your elegant and most welcome review. I love the idea of a 5 star hotel being miniaturised and personalised - how did you guess this is exactly what I had in mind for the design brief! I really hope you do stop in for an evening meal next time you are here; we're just writing the new spring menus and it's really fun being able to make the most of what Devon has to offer. See you soon, we all hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed just one night in one of the intermediate rooms - the Ambergris at £190 per night. The room was very well decorated and the bed was really comfortable.

The bathroom arrangement was however not satisfactory, in as much as the toilet door was completely glass and see through, opening straight into the bedroom, albeit around a corner. Also the toilet unit was not sealed and was an embarrassment to use, even after a long time married!

I just thought it need to be brought to the attention of couples who might be even more sensitive than us.

Apart from that, our stay was very enjoyable and we enjoyed our breakfast very much.

Also the location of the hotel is very convenient and Exeter is a lovely city.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for a larger room if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madrongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your positive review; you're right, Exeter is a lovely city and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. Now, to those pesky shower/loo arrangements in some of the rooms. First, I emphasise that the design of the units, at the back of the rooms and well away from the bedroom section, was a collaboration with Planners, who wanted a clear modern element to this Grade II* conversion. Secondly, I love the ergonomic use of space and energy efficiency and I sincerely don't think design should be compromised. Any readers who are nervous about a design which they might not have experienced before, please book any of: Silk, Spice, Ivory, Tulip or Sugar Rooms. But please do check our other rooms while here; you may not be a startled as you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We celebrated our wedding reception here on Saturday 21st December 2013 following a blessing at Exeter Cathedral. It is a small elegant Hotel and very centrally located. We were all able to walk easily to and from the Cathedral and Princesshay. We wanted a small intimate venue as we were only 30 guests and Southernhay House proved to be a perfect choice.

We booked the larger private dining room for our reception and enjoyed a lovely dinner from their Xmas menu for 30 guests. The service and food throughout the evening was impeccable and we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel was nicely decorated for Xmas and this together with lovely fires created a warm friendly ambience and atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed in the Sugar Room which was perfect for getting ready and relaxing in. It had a large comfortable bed and a beautiful well equipped bathroom. It may have been nice to have had more hanging space for dresses but otherwise was super. It should be noted the hotel does not have a lift and this room is on the third floor.

Deborah and her staff really were exceptionally helpful in the planning of our special day.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for either a small wedding or special occasion such as ours.

We look forward to staying at their sister hotel Burgh Island in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuddy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you both for chosing us for your wedding reception and for the thought, care and appreciation we felt you put into the day. It was special for us as well (not least the ceremonial sword!) and I am delighted that you had a good setting in which to entertain your family and freinds. Thank you also for taking time to post this; it's much appreciated and we hope to welcome you both here for many happy returns (or just a romantic escape) in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A sister hotel to Burgh Island it aims for a luxurious feel. Very well situated for walking around Exeter centre in a reasonably quiet street, it also had very useful parking provision. The bedrooms were ample and comfortable and well appointed and we all slept well. Hanging of clothes was a slight issue as only wall-struts were provided which is OK for male atire but not good for dresses which need to hang out. Service was great and help was offered with whatever we needed. We did not eat in the hotel except for breakfast which was middling in food quality.

Room Tip: Room 'Spice' was over the bar music system so we had to ask to change re the noise. All othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Sorry about the hanging arrangements (although not very - I have a horror of huge wardrobes for which you can probably blame C S Lewis, alternatively the Grade 2* listing of the building which means the rooms cannot be chopped and changed and the Planners (like me) don't like lego inserts into the corner of bedrooms. We do have clothes rails which can be brought into the room for longer stays or special occasions. In any event, your kind comments about the boutique feel of the hotel are very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here again for the new year holiday, and as ever it did not disappoint.
What makes this hotel special for me is the relaxed, yet completely dedicated, manner of the staff. They cannot do enough for you, and yet always know when to give the right amount of time and space to guests as they relax.
The food is first class.
This time we stayed in Opium which is a beautifully furnished room, with the shower incorporated into the room. So one for couples! Or of course single guests.
In Exeter, there surely cannot be a hotel which is as beautifully decorated, nor which produces such first class cuisine, whilst dedicated to offering an experience of total relaxation...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMO308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
You darling gentleman! We so enjoy having you to stay. I should, in all honesty, declare an interest in that you are one of our favourite classical musicians and have graced the Burgh Island Ball Room on a number of occassions but no arm twisting went into this review and I know that you are a huge TA reviewer (not physically, love) and so this review means even more to us in the light of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,595 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernhay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernhay House Hotel

Property: Southernhay House Hotel
Address: 36 Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Southernhay House Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique townhouse hotel with 10 individual bedrooms, chic cocktail bar, private dining room for parties and informal Club Room for casual dining and meeting. Al fresco eating and drinking on our terraces and secluded garden. Food is modern, local and highly seasonal with daily changing menus. Southernhay House is located in the centre of Exeter just yards from the Cathedral and within easy reach of the University and Quayside. Staff are long-term, friendly and live locally so are able to recommend seasonal and regional activities during your stay. Languages spoken: English, Portuguese, Italian, Russian, Hebrew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Southernhay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernhay House Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing