We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southernhay House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$84
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$71
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$87
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$70
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$92
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$110
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Queens Court(Exeter)(Great Value!)
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$97
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
161
69
21
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
69
21
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselegant roomsbeautiful boutique hotelfresh milkxmas marketsmall hotelfull length mirrorfree standing bathlonger staybeautiful roomcomfortable bedcentral exetercathedral greenbreakfast was deliciouslimited parkingquiet at nightcity centre locationshower room
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 278 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I loved everything about this Hotel, its location, service and most of all the decor. Every room was tastefully decorated and nothing was too much trouble. We were late down for breakfast and the manager was insistent that we should have something - our settings were still laid up and nothing was too much trouble. we spent the evening sipping cocktails in a beautifully decorated cocktail bar. We stayed in the Spice room which was spacious and tastefully furnished. The bedding and furnishings were of high quality. I believe that each room has its own style.
I highly recommend this hotel and will return in the future (if they will have us back!!).
Thank you to the staff for making it such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineBrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your very generous review of the hotel and for being such lovely guests - we hope we will very definitely welcome you back in the future. Spice Room is very popular and is especially sunny, with its double aspect windows but do try a different room on future visits; as you say, they are all different in layout and finish but they all have the guaranteed luxury of the important basics.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A brief Friday-night stop to break a journey on the way back from South Devon. Beautifully restored merchant's residence in quiet central location, very relaxed and friendly welcome. Shame there's no onsite parking but ample spaces close by. Room was huge, comfortable and well-equipped; open-plan bathroom quirky. Great cocktails in small but lively bar pre-dinner; shame we were virtually the only diners but food was imaginative and well executed. A special place to stay, which deserves to succeed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank as1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your generous review; we appreciate your kind comments. I adore the bathroom set up in Chai and find it very discreet but would urge guests to call us to check on the best bathroom arrangements for them; we have several different permutations (all very posh!). I'm pleased that you were able to spend some time in the Bar and also join us for dinner on your fleeting visit - one of many I hope to come in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We came because we love the sister hotel Burgh Island so much that we drove 3 hours to get here at 9:30 am to make the most of the short break. Embarrassed to arrive so early but staff couldn't be more solicitous and actually got us into the room by 10 am. Lovely room, comfy bed and good food all served with a smile. Restaurant and bar are busy with non-residents on a Saturday which spoils the club-like atmosphere. My only real gripe is with the parking - the cheap car park £6 around the corner is privately run and cost me a £60 fine (paid early otherwise £100) because half a wheel was across a white line. For the most part there are no lines and that's how they make their money their company website almost boasts about it. Their address for appeals doesn't work but it accepts your money OK - daylight robbery - be warned!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 324PeterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind review; I appreciate your testing us out on the basis of your Burgh Island experience - you may have recognised some of the staff, as we like to train up where we can at Burgh to ensure the same standards of guest care.
I can't apologise enough on behalf of Exeter for the rather shoddy car parking system in this city; it's nothing we have control over, I'm afraid, save for our endless complaints on behalf of staff and guests alike to the private owners of the nearby car park. Alternative parking is slightly further away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was lucky enough to be treated to 2 nights in the Wilberforce room this Easter weekend. The attention to detail in every aspect of our stay was fantastic- from arrival, service at the bar, a gorgeous meal, breakfasts (the food is to die for) and even check out. The staff were understated yet attentive, just the right level of 'visibility' to feel like nothing was too much trouble but not to feel stuffy in any way.

The food whilst a la carte and inventive, was incredibly tasty and very edible, not pretentious like it could easily have been. The room was small (more of an issue for my husband than myself!) and the toilet in the room, although inventively situated lacked a little in privacy with its glass door, but i'd still go back in a flash.

Oh and finally the décor, absolutely stunning. I'd post some pictures but they wouldn't do the real thing justice. The only way to see is to have a stay there yourself!

Room Tip: Wilberforce is very lovely with a great view out over the square, but it is bijou and the toilet doesn't allow for much privacy- its almost literally in the room with a full length glass door!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your super review; we all glad that you enjoyed the Wilberforce Room (a personal favourite; small but warm and with some of the best views in the House). I'm sorry that you found the loo lacked privacy; we've tucked this round a corner so you would need to crane your neck to intrude - but I completely appreciate your reservations. Given the Grade II* listing, we needed to accommodate some of the en suites in a limited space but please, on returning, do ask for a room with a completely separate bathroom - we have several! Thank you so much for your comments about our staff and food - they are much appreciated and will be passed on. We're just now doing a Spring menu change and so I trust our new menus will also live up to expectations; we hope to welcome you back to SH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Sothernhay Hotel. The Staff were very friendly, especially the Duty Manager who went out of her way to be really helpful and was always there if we needed anything. We stayed in the Tulip Room and my husband loved the victorian style bath. We have stressful jobs and staying in this room helped us to relax and forget everyday problems. We had dinner in the hotel, which was superb. We would recommended this hotel to our friends - elegant, stylish accommodation and only five minutes away from the city centre.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for your generous review of our hotel: especially for your appreciation of our Manager (Sal was on duty during your stay). I really feel that our staff are our strong point and individual service and attention to guests' particular circumstances is paramount - so it's especially kind of you to write in recognition of that. PS: we also agree about the charms of Tulip and, being so large and on the second floor, it's a very peaceful "get away from it all" room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews