We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southernhay House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Sandgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed a couple of days for our first Wedding Anniversary. Although we didn't have an evening meal, breakfast was excellent - high quality local fare. Our room (Ivory) was fantastic and lived up to the promise of the pictures on the website. Great location, too, but parking around the corner was pricey.
A terrific experience regardless. Burgh Island next.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review - much appreciated and please can I encourage others to leave feedback as we're really working on developing what we think is a niche in the Exeter market; a "clubby" hotel that just lets you crash and be at home while in the city. One word of warning, as an Exeter resident myself: car parks are not so good in my home town. We can recommend the nearest, provide your change and even top up the meter for you but this is something we have been lobbying City Center Management on for a while. Don't let it put you off; Exeter is also the most accessible city I know by train and all areas - including us - are just a short walk away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    66
    20
    15
    11
See reviews for
34
146
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter,UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We dined here courtesy of my brother who stayed at Southernhay House last weekend. Great atmosphere reminiscent of the fabulous Burgh Island Hotel. No robotic staff here! Food was delicious and unfussy - I had sole with new potatoes - plain and simple - it benefited from no tarting up!
As for the accommodation - My brother and sister-in-law were very comfortably cocooned from Saturday night's storms. Gripes? No wardrobe and a little miffed at having to sort out their own car parking, but they would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aircut666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello and thank you for your nice review of dinner; it's always good to have some feedback from Exeter locals - I'm glad you liked the menu and you might be pleased to hear that we are just now bringing out new menus with the firm emphasis on simplicity and great ingredients. I think, especially at the moment, guests are looking for clean, fresh, classic dishes that speak for themselves. Just on your niggles: I would love to have parking on site but it's just not possible in this central location however there is parking on the street or 2 minutes away round the corner: we keep change to hand and guests can pull into the drive to orient themselves before parking. We have hanging hooks rather than wardrobes in the rooms as, in my experience, guests tend not to use wardrobes for an overnight stay (unless at Burgh island, of course, where changing for dinner is de rigeur!) but I fully appreciate that may not be everyone's view. I do hope that your brother and sister in law will stay with us again and that we'll see you in the New Year, if not before, to check out our new menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We came for a private dining experience and opted to stay the night and were not disappointed.
We stayed in the Spice room and were very impressed.
The food, both in the evening and the breakfast were lovely.
The only slight disappointment was that there was no parking at the hotel, but upon reflection this was to be expected with it being in the city centre and not out in the countryside like where we live!
Overall a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebbleprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hi there and thank you for your lovely review. I'm so pleased you decided to stay the night after dinner; I'd love Southernhay House to be seen as your "club in town" to drop in for coffee or stay for as long as you like! I dearly wish we had parking for our guests on site but, as you say, we are bang in the middle of Exeter and there is parking on the street or just 2 minutes away - but why not come into town by train next time? We're just 5 minutes walk from Exeter Central Station. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife booked an overnight stay for us and we stayed in Chai and had dinner at the hotel for a small group of family and friend. The room was brilliant and the service we received was excellent. A memorable occasion for me. Thanks.
Peter T

Room Tip: Choose the one you want on line or telephone and ask the staff as my wife did. We had a back bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind and genenrous review; it was our pleasure and we enjoyed providing the backdrop to a significant birthday (please don't wait another 10 years before returning!). I do think Chai is one of my favourite rooms, also - sunny (when we have sun) and very, very quiet; the spicy yellow colours of the furnishings also make it different and cheerful. I would urge guests to post, as you have, their comments about the rooms - we can learn from these and also it does help future guests as they are all different.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We called in, on spec, for a light lunch, having checked their website the previous evening. Seldom are the expectations that are raised by advertised menus matched by reality. In this case, however, reality was even better. Delicious food, imaginatively presented with polite and throughtful service.Sensible and well priced portions. Good selection of reasonably priced wines. We left already looking forward to trying some of the other dishes on the menu on our next visit! Congratulations and thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Patrick, thank you for writing to TA about your meal; rarely do happy diners take so much trouble and your time is greatly appreciated. You may be interested to know that we have new style menus out at the beginning of next week so the day-time choice is even greater and more varied in dishes and pricing: ranging from straight up "New York" hotel classics like our club sandwich or waldorf salad to a daily changing lunch menu. I hope that we'll see you again soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our first visit to Southernhay House and it fulfilled all our expectations from the moment we arrived to the time we left. The front door was opened as we approached and we were greeted in a very friendly manner. Our coats were taken as we were shown into the very bright and welcoming cocktail bar but as it was quite busy we opted for going straight to our table in the elegant but intimate restaurant. After making very difficult choices from the lovely menu I ordered the crab and my husband the Trio of Pork. When it arrived not only did it taste delicious but it was like looking at a very elegant painting on the plate. Almost too pretty to eat!! this was followed by Surf and Turf! Not as we know it.... Turbot, clams and short rib of beef yum! yum! and Pigeon Fricassee so pretty! My husbands only complaint... he enjoyed it so much he could eat it again!! We both ordered the chocolate desert with salted caramel ice cream! Very rich and the ice cream was to die for!!! Home made chocolates and truffles and the most delicious toffee caramel I have ever tasted were offered as a "little" treat before coffee! On retiring to the comfortable cocktail bar Dan, the Mixologist, asked me what sort of drinks I liked and made me a very refreshing and moreish cocktail to round off the evening. A lovely evening with a very welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and fabulous food. What more can you ask?? Thank you for making our evening so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janwarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write in to TA about your anniversarymeal; your generous comments are very much appreciated by our staff, who are always pleased to hear that their attention to guests as individuals is noted! It's lovely that you are so knowledgeable about the food and that you both had a great evening. I hope that you consider Southernhay House for future anniversaries or, indeed, a regular treat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have now stayed twice at this hotel and have enjoyed both visits. The rooms have been immaculately refurbished and the beds are very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were delicious. In the room you can make yourself tea and freshly ground coffee with fresh milk which makes a pleasant change from sachets and plastic pots of milk. All the staff were very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KadiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southernhayhouse, Owner at Southernhay House Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for writing this lovely review. We remember your visit this weekend clearly and with pleasure - thank you also for spotting the fresh milk! We're very keen on keeping things real and not synthetic or mass processed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernhay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernhay House Hotel

Property: Southernhay House Hotel
Address: 36 Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernhay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming boutique townhouse hotel with 10 individual bedrooms, chic cocktail bar, private dining room for parties and informal Club Room for casual dining and meeting. Al fresco eating and drinking on our terraces and secluded garden. Food is modern, local and highly seasonal with daily changing menus. Southernhay House is located in the centre of Exeter just yards from the Cathedral and within easy reach of the University and Quayside. Staff are long-term, friendly and live locally so are able to recommend seasonal and regional activities during your stay. Languages spoken: English, Portuguese, Italian, Russian, Hebrew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Southernhay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernhay House Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing